Settings won't save!
I'm using XBMC for Windows on XP, running Aeon skin (if that helps).

Every time I quit XBMC, the changes I make to the settings (choosing background art, setting paths, display options, etc) are gone upon loading the program.

Am I missing something? Is there something I need to do for the settings to save? :confused2:
are you running xbmc from the shortcut provided or are you running xbmc.exe directly ?
Are you launching it using the shortcuts or the xbmc.exe?
you guys might want to explain...

if you are using a shortcut that launches 'xbmc.exe /p' the settings are saved in your user profile... and loaded from there.

if you launch only 'xbmc.exe' it will save/load settings from 'C:\Programs\XBMC Media Center'

make sure you are consistently using the one you want (depending on where you want to save your UserData (settings).
I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
Hmm.. I am running the xbmc.exe located in my Program Files\XBMC folder (NOT a shortcut).

To be exact, I run it in an odd way... using a 3rd party application to launch the .exe so that it opens only in my 2nd monitor, full screen. Should I be launching it by shortcut instead?
The tool/util you launch it with is inconsequential.

There is one bug that I found if you have used /p to launch it in the past it can mess up things when you do not use /p

I suggest you delete the UserData folder in
\\htpc\c$\Documents and Settings\<user name>\Application Data\XBMC

then try making the setting changes and see if they stick.
I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
Livin Wrote:The tool/util you launch it with is inconsequential.

There is one bug that I found if you have used /p to launch it in the past it can mess up things when you do not use /p

I suggest you delete the UserData folder in
\\htpc\c$\Documents and Settings\<user name>\Application Data\XBMC

then try making the setting changes and see if they stick.