Keyboard-emulating remote?
Yeah, hi... First-time poster here, so be gentle.

I'm trying to put togeather a cheap-o HTPC machine, using spare parts I happened to have lying around and cheap hardware. Since my TV is far from HD, my needs are small.

Anyways, I've gotten myself an extremely cheap IR remote control using an USB dongle. I'm sure most of you know the type.

Now, the catch here is that it sends strange keyboard commands in stead of regular "media button" style keycodes. For instance, pressing play means "Ctrl-Shift-P".

I really, really want to use XBMC - I'm an old X-box modder myself and XBMC has and is everything I need - but I can't seem to find a way to remap stuff... I'm by no means a Linux newbie, but I haven't really had to deal with this kind of problem before.

I figure that I either need to get XBMC to recognize Ctrl, Alt and Shift-modkeys or find a way to remap, for instance, Ctrl-Shift-P to just regular P (or whatever), at least while XBMC runs.

Any pointers or ideas are very welcome.
Hey, I had the same problem, check out my post for a not so elegant solution:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=33339
You should be able to use xmodmap to remap the keys:

-Using XMODMAP to modify key and mouse actions
-XKeyCaps
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Please read and follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, please make sure you read this first.

Or pop a whopping $23 and shipping on a Microsoft MCE remote and be on the same page as most everyone else. Pretty much PnP on Ubuntu with Lirc IME. Since many of us run the same thing troubleshooting issues should be easier. If you have issues getting the other working this would be a pretty easy path...
Openelec Gotham, MCE remote(s), Intel i3 NUC, DVDs fed from unRAID cataloged by DVD Profiler. HD-DVD encoded with Handbrake to x.264. Yamaha receiver(s)