Windows 7 64bit and XBMC problem

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
jn13 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Luxemburg
Post: #1
Does anybody got XBMC runing in windows 7 64bit ?
find quote
Jester Offline
XBMC for iOS* forums Moderator
Posts: 980
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 10
Post: #2
it would help if you tell us what the problem is....

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=42708

Current XBMC Platform: ATV2
Extra XBMC Platform: Raspberry Pi
Read the iOS FAQ
find quote
goku31640 Offline
Member
Posts: 89
Joined: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
I dont know about jn13, but XBMC will not run on my Windows 7 box at all.
In Windows I get:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: XBMC.exe
Application Version: 2.1.0.0
Application Timestamp: 49690933
Fault Module Name: StackHash_4a6c
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 00000000
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 00000000

But my xbmc.log is perfectly normal.
The last line is NOTICE: C:\Users\Goku\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\userdata\sources.xml

Windows 7 build 7000 x64
2GB Ram
Intel Core2Quad 2.4ghz
Intel G33 Driver Version 8.15.10.1590
XBMC Rev16991/17000

I think I got all the info you need, byt if I missed something, Let me know.

BTW XBMC Works Perfectly with this exact computer and parts in Vista, but not in Windows 7.
find quote
Jester Offline
XBMC for iOS* forums Moderator
Posts: 980
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 10
Post: #4
goku31640 Wrote:I dont know about jn13, but XBMC will not run on my Windows 7 box at all.
In Windows I get:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: XBMC.exe
Application Version: 2.1.0.0
Application Timestamp: 49690933
Fault Module Name: StackHash_4a6c
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 00000000
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 00000000

But my xbmc.log is perfectly normal.
The last line is NOTICE: C:\Users\Goku\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\userdata\sources.xml

Windows 7 build 7000 x64
2GB Ram
Intel Core2Quad 2.4ghz
Intel G33 Driver Version 8.15.10.1590
XBMC Rev16991/17000

I think I got all the info you need, byt if I missed something, Let me know.

BTW XBMC Works Perfectly with this exact computer and parts in Vista, but not in Windows 7.

goto the intel website, download the latest VISTA gfx drivers and install them (you have to run them in comp. mode set to vista) and it will work.
the intel drivers microsoft has inside windows 7 don't work properly

Current XBMC Platform: ATV2
Extra XBMC Platform: Raspberry Pi
Read the iOS FAQ
find quote
goku31640 Offline
Member
Posts: 89
Joined: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Smile   
Post: #5
Jester Wrote:goto the intel website, download the latest VISTA gfx drivers and install them (you have to run them in comp. mode set to vista) and it will work.
the intel drivers microsoft has inside windows 7 don't work properly

You my friend are a true GENIUS. I had thought about trying that, but whenever I tried to install the drivers straight from intel, it would tell me that the ones installed are the newer than intels, so I just ignored it.

Thank You so much. Im actually considering making Windows 7 my Main OS, this was the only thing that was keeping me back.

BTW Windows 7 WAAAAAAY Better than Vista (so far) Smile
find quote
jn13 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Luxemburg
Post: #6
So here we go

10:38:44 T:3492 M:3016773632 NOTICE: Mapping drive Z to C:\Users\Joe\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\cache
10:38:44 T:3492 M:3016769536 NOTICE: Mapping drive T to C:\Users\Joe\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\userdata
10:38:44 T:3492 M:3016769536 NOTICE: Mapping drive Q to C:\Program Files (x86)\XBMC
10:38:44 T:3492 M:3016769536 NOTICE: Mapping drive U to C:\Program Files (x86)\XBMC
10:38:44 T:3492 M:3016667136 NOTICE: -----------------------------------------------------------------------
10:38:44 T:3492 M:3016658944 NOTICE: Starting XBMC, Platform: Windows build 7000. Built on Jan 10 2009 (compiler 1500)
10:38:44 T:3492 M:3016658944 NOTICE: Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU P8400 @ 2.26GHz
10:38:44 T:3492 M:3016658944 NOTICE: Desktop Resolution: 1280x800 32Bit at 60Hz
10:38:44 T:3492 M:3016658944 NOTICE: Q is mapped to: C:\Program Files (x86)\XBMC
10:38:44 T:3492 M:3016658944 NOTICE: The executable running is: C:\Program Files (x86)\XBMC\XBMC.exe
10:38:44 T:3492 M:3016658944 NOTICE: Log File is located: C:\Users\Joe\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\xbmc.log
10:38:44 T:3492 M:3016658944 NOTICE: -----------------------------------------------------------------------
10:38:44 T:3492 M:3016638464 NOTICE: Setup SDL
10:38:44 T:3492 M:3011706880 NOTICE: load settings...
10:38:44 T:3492 M:3011702784 NOTICE: Mapping drive P to C:\Users\Joe\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\userdata
10:38:44 T:3492 M:3011698688 NOTICE: loading C:\Users\Joe\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\userdata\guisettings.xml
10:38:44 T:3492 M:3011497984 NOTICE: Getting hardware information now...
10:38:44 T:3492 M:3011497984 NOTICE: Checking resolution 10
10:38:44 T:3492 M:3011497984 NOTICE: Setting autoresolution mode 12
10:38:44 T:3492 M:3011493888 NOTICE: No advancedsettings.xml to load (C:\Users\Joe\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\userdata\advancedsettings.xml)
10:38:44 T:3492 M:3011493888 NOTICE: Default Video Player: dvdplayer
10:38:44 T:3492 M:3011493888 NOTICE: Default Audio Player: paplayer
10:38:44 T:3492 M:3011481600 NOTICE: C:\Users\Joe\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\userdata\sources.xml
10:38:44 T:3492 M:3011477504 ERROR: CSettings::Load Error loading C:\Users\Joe\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\userdata\sources.xml: Line 0, Failed to open file
find quote
Jester Offline
XBMC for iOS* forums Moderator
Posts: 980
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 10
Post: #7
nice log, but you might be running this on your grandmothers 386 for all we know....give us more info

did you read the sticky ? better yet, if you have and intel gfx card, did you read what I posted above ?

Current XBMC Platform: ATV2
Extra XBMC Platform: Raspberry Pi
Read the iOS FAQ
find quote
jn13 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Luxemburg
Post: #8
My system: Intel Core 2 Duo P8400 @2.26 Ghz
4 Gigs of Ram
Ati Mobility Radeon HD 3400 with the latest microsoft
update drivers WDDM 1.1

When i start XBMC windows says XBMC has stopped working.

Os is windows 7 Beta 1 Build 7000, Xbmc is SVN 17009
find quote
Jester Offline
XBMC for iOS* forums Moderator
Posts: 980
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 10
Post: #9
jn13 Wrote:My system: Intel Core 2 Duo P8400 @2.26 Ghz
4 Gigs of Ram
Ati Mobility Radeon HD 3400 with the latest microsoft
update drivers WDDM 1.1

When i start XBMC windows says XBMC has stopped working.

Os is windows 7 Beta 1 Build 7000, Xbmc is SVN 17009

get the video drivers from ATI (the vista ones) try those instead of the windows update ones...this might be the same problem as intel is having on win7

Current XBMC Platform: ATV2
Extra XBMC Platform: Raspberry Pi
Read the iOS FAQ
find quote
goku31640 Offline
Member
Posts: 89
Joined: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Although XBMC works for me, my Windows Experience Index Rating went all the way down to 3.1 for both graphics and gaming graphics.

Intel better get with the program and get some better drivers
find quote
Dav. Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Belgium
Post: #11
goku31640 Wrote:Although XBMC works for me, my Windows Experience Index Rating went all the way down to 3.1 for both graphics and gaming graphics.

Intel better get with the program and get some better drivers

Hi,

1) At this point, W7 still a RC release
2) 3.1 is a low windows experience

I think it will be a good idea if you wait for a final release & when Intel
have a good driver for W7 final version. It's not a good idea to ask
XBMC developers to change their work for a RC of W7.

Cya,
Dav.

Yes, I'm a XBMC Addicted and then ?
find quote
dbone1026 Offline
Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
I have a Vista x64 HTPC that I put XBMC on not too long ago. Whenever playing back my mkvs (1080p) I get stuttering. I have Vista x32 on my desktop pc and have no problems playing back the same mkvs on XBMC, so I am not sure what is causing the problem. I just went and made sure all drivers on my x64 HTPC are up to date, and still same result. My HTPC specs are:

Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H Mobo
AMD Athlon 4850e CPU
Vista Ultimate x64
ASUS Radeon 4670
GSkill 4GB (2x2GB) 240 DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Memory
K Lite Codec (x32 and x64) pack installed

Any thoughts on what could be the problem? Thanks
find quote
goku31640 Offline
Member
Posts: 89
Joined: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Dav. Wrote:Hi,

1) At this point, W7 still a RC release
2) 3.1 is a low windows experience

I think it will be a good idea if you wait for a final release & when Intel
have a good driver for W7 final version. It's not a good idea to ask
XBMC developers to change their work for a RC of W7.

Cya,
Dav.

I wasnt asking XBMC developers to change anything, XBMC in my eyes is pretty much perfect, but intel has been on a strike lately or something, because they rarely update their drivers, so I was saying now is as good a time as any to get better drivers on their site considering there is going to be roughly 2.5 million people beta testing W7

But yeah 3.1 super sucks. I had it at 4.7, with the windows drivers, but when I installed the intel ones, it dropped to 3.1
find quote
bitflusher Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
goku31640 Wrote:I wasnt asking XBMC developers to change anything, XBMC in my eyes is pretty much perfect, but intel has been on a strike lately or something, because they rarely update their drivers, so I was saying now is as good a time as any to get better drivers on their site considering there is going to be roughly 2.5 million people beta testing W7

But yeah 3.1 super sucks. I had it at 4.7, with the windows drivers, but when I installed the intel ones, it dropped to 3.1

well... your 4.7 actually was with drivers from intel (these are included in beta1 http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/video/displ..._OEMs.html)

intel just isn't finished developing them but they seem to boost performance already, lets hope the final version of the drivers are even better.
find quote
Geeba Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,797
Joined: Sep 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #15
Windows experince in Windows 7 differs from Vista.... alowing for further steps in hardware development.... My machine reasonably powerfull in Vista scores 5.8 in windows 7 its alot lower due to the scale it uses and lack of drivers....
find quote
Post Reply