changing skins....

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
cjulio Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
i am new to this so if someone could point me in the right direction (or a sample Laugh)

if i want to replace one option on the main menu for a script how can i do itConfused

ex:
"Scripts" - With "Youtube" - and open YouTube3 script...
find quote
timdog82001 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,135
Joined: Mar 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
If you want a walkthrough (and I can't guarantee you'd get one) you'd at least need to let people know what skin you're trying to mod here. I'd suggest taking a look at the wiki for help on skinning, in particular look for the button controls section, and the list of built-in functions. http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=Skinning_XBMC

EDIT: i just noticed you're trying to replace a menu item not add one, which is a bit simpler and more universal....Should be able to replace the <label> tag contents wtih YouTube and the <onclick> tag contents with something like XBMC.RunScript(Q:/scripts/YouTube3/default.py). I'd still suggest taking a look at the wiki though, as this is basic stuff you should be able to figure out on your own.
(This post was last modified: 2009-01-15 02:43 by timdog82001.)
find quote
cjulio Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
thanks it worked Wink

now if it where possible i would like to make 2 more changes...

i want to remove the ".." icon in the series title page (series main page)
i want to remove the ".." icon in the movie title page (movies main page)

thanks Wink
find quote
spiff Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 12,386
Joined: Nov 2003
Post: #4
those are called parent folder items.

get yourself seated with 1000l cola.
now plunge into settings. if you survive / have enough cola, you should hopefully be successfull at locating the 'hide parent folder items' setting in there Wink
find quote
cjulio Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
i am not at my computer now but will it keep in the series episodes screen the ".."

thanks i will try it tonight....

Cool
find quote
cjulio Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
it was hard but i found it...

in my language file the name is a little bit strange (changed to English and found it).....

ps:
now if it where possible i would like to make 1 more change...
i want to add the ".." icon in the series episode page Wink

edit: ok i got it....
i had "XBMC.ActivateWindow(MyVideoLibrary,tvshowtitles,return)" and changed it to "XBMC.ActivateWindow(MyVideoLibrary,tvshowtitles)" and that way i dont need the ".."

thanks...
(This post was last modified: 2009-01-16 01:34 by cjulio.)
find quote