[RELEASE] XBMC Earth - a geo mashup script (Google Maps and Microsoft Virtual Earth)

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
MrLight Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 26
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
Thumbs Up  [RELEASE] XBMC Earth - a geo mashup script (Google Maps and Microsoft Virtual Earth)
Post: #1
This is the new Version of XBMC Earth.

XBMC Earth is now a Google Maps and a Microsoft Virtual Earth Client for XBMC.
You are able to view the satelite, the hybrid and the street Map from both source GoogleMaps and also MS Virtual Earth.

[Image: screenshot000.jpg] [Image: screenshot001.jpg]

You can just browse through the map or you can search for a Location like a city or even for a service in a city. Like "Hamburg, Pizza"

[Image: screenshot009.jpg]
If there is only one result the map is centered over the result an zooms to the location.
Is there more than one result a overview is shwon and you can zoom to a location by selecting one of the results

It is also possible to plan a route between to locations. The planed route will be displayed as a Line on the map and you will also have a result list. When you select one of the results the map will zoom to the street.
[Image: screenshot008.jpg]

When you hit more there a 3 favorite Buttons where you can save your favorite views. Just go to your Favorite Place and use the set button to save this view.


Since XBMC is a MediaCenter the script has some geotagged media features. You can search for Panramio, Flickr and Locr Pictures. Just browse the map to any location and then hit one of the Picture Services. The Result is shown on the Map as Thumbnails.
[Image: screenshot002.jpg]
Selct a Image and you will get a larger view. Inside this you can use the left an right buttons to get forward or backwards.
You can also search for the next 20 results. By hitting this entry in the resultlist.
[Image: screenshot003.jpg]

To get some video inside of the script you can search for geotagged youtube videos. Just hit one of the resultvideos and the video is started. You can toggle between fullscreen and windowed.
Sometimes the query results of youtube are really bad. So the video has no relevance to the selected place ;-((

The Webcams button brings Live content inside the script. Hit the Webcams button to see some Webcams of your area.
To get a weather forecast for the shown area just hit weather.

The Script has 2 language Files at the moment English and - since im a german boy - German.
All Webresults are shown in English or in German if localization is possible.

I have tested the script on Windows and on the Xbox (which is still my favorite client for xbmc)
I have no experience with the linux or the MacOS Version.

How to use:
[INDENT]Controller:
White Button: Toggle hybrid view; Map-View; Area-View; Sat-View
Left-Trigger: Zoom out
Right-Trigger: Zoom in
back: Exit script

in Menu Map-Move:
digiPad: Moves the Map
back or A: back to Menu

Search:
-Focus in List will pulse the selected marker on the Map
-Select a List item will zoom to marker

Remote:
Info Button: Toggle hybrid view; Map-View; Area-View; Sat-View
2 Button: Zoom out
1 Button: Zoom in
back: Exit script

in Menu Map-Move:
Arrows: Moves the Map
back: back to Menu

Search:
-Focus in List will pulse the selected marker on the Map
-Select a List item will zoom to marker

Keyboard:
ins Button: Toggle hybrid view; Map-View; Area-View; Sat-View
Pg-dwn Button: Zoom out
Pg-up: Zoom in
ESC: Exit script

in Menu Map-Move:
Arrows: Moves the Map
ESC: back to Menu

Search:
-Focus in List will pulse the selected marker on the Map
-Select a List item will zoom to marker
[/INDENT]

This is still a beta Version. So please test the script and feel free to reply with bugs and or comments.

You can download the script here: XBMC Earth 0.5

MrLight
find quote
matt_cyr Offline
Fan
Posts: 352
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Great app! good work.
First thing I noticed though is that in search results Canada is spelled with a K for some reason? (Kanada)...

For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you [Image: sigpic_28462_8e838967eb517bb89f9f03ff16d7761b.gif] Read Me First
find quote
tslayer Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,557
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 12
Post: #3
Very neat.. Tried to run it on linux and got the following right away (it would not load):

Quote:12:13:01 T:2866662288 M: 57307136 DEBUG: RegisterExtensionLib, adding Z:/operator.so (0x98b9d50)
12:13:01 T:2866662288 M: 57307136 DEBUG: xbp_dlsym - load symbol initoperator
12:13:01 T:2866662288 M: 57307136 DEBUG: msvcrt.dll incomplete function _fdopen(...) called
12:13:01 T:2866662288 M: 57307136 NOTICE: Traceback (most recent call last):
12:13:01 T:2866662288 M: 57307136 NOTICE: File "/usr/local/share/xbmc/scripts/XBMC Earth/default.py", line 27, in ?
12:13:01 T:2866662288 M: 57307136 NOTICE:
12:13:01 T:2866662288 M: 57307136 NOTICE: from pic import Pic_GUI
12:13:01 T:2866662288 M: 57307136 NOTICE: File "/usr/local/share/xbmc/scripts/XBMC Earth/resources/lib/pic.py", line 23, in ?
12:13:01 T:2866662288 M: 57307136 NOTICE:
12:13:01 T:2866662288 M: 57307136 NOTICE: from PIL import Image, ImageFont, ImageDraw, ImageFilter
12:13:01 T:2866662288 M: 57307136 NOTICE: File "/usr/local/share/xbmc/scripts/XBMC Earth/resources/lib/PIL/ImageFont.py", line 115, in ?
12:13:01 T:2866662288 M: 57307136 NOTICE:
12:13:01 T:2866662288 M: 57307136 NOTICE: class FreeTypeFont:
12:13:01 T:2866662288 M: 57307136 NOTICE: File "/usr/local/share/xbmc/scripts/XBMC Earth/resources/lib/PIL/ImageFont.py", line 135, in FreeTypeFont
12:13:01 T:2866662288 M: 57307136 NOTICE:
12:13:01 T:2866662288 M: 57307136 NOTICE: def getmask2(self, text, mode="", fill=Image.core.fill):
12:13:01 T:2866662288 M: 57307136 NOTICE: File "/usr/local/share/xbmc/scripts/XBMC Earth/resources/lib/PIL/Image.py", line 36, in __getattr__
12:13:01 T:2866662288 M: 57307136 NOTICE:
12:13:01 T:2866662288 M: 57307136 NOTICE: raise ImportError("The _imaging C module is not installed")
12:13:01 T:2866662288 M: 57307136 NOTICE: ImportError
12:13:01 T:2866662288 M: 57307136 NOTICE: :
12:13:01 T:2866662288 M: 57307136 NOTICE: The _imaging C module is not installed
12:13:01 T:2866662288 M: 57307136 NOTICE:
12:13:01 T:2866662288 M: 57307136 ERROR: Scriptresult: Error

I guess we'll have to wait until you can test unix based OS Smile

42.7% of all statistics are made up on the spot

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
(This post was last modified: 2009-01-15 22:16 by tslayer.)
find quote
MrLight Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 26
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
tslayer Wrote:Very neat.. Tried to run it on linux and got the following right away (it would not load):

Ok I think there are some problems with the PIL Library which is used for the Route Line... I will have to look for this...
find quote
MrLight Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 26
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
matt_cyr Wrote:Great app! good work.
First thing I noticed though is that in search results Canada is spelled with a K for some reason? (Kanada)...

Yes that's right... The Query result is not localized at this time and in german canada is Kanada;-)
find quote
Waffa Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,163
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 7
Location: Netherlands
Post: #6
Nice script always liked XBMC Earth.
Thanx.
find quote
tslayer Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,557
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 12
Post: #7
MrLight,

I copied the .so files from my python's PIL directory on the system. But now it can't find aggdraw.

That I do not have on my system.

42.7% of all statistics are made up on the spot

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
MrLight Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 26
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
tslayer Wrote:But now it can't find aggdraw.
grrrr, I will look for a solution this weekend. (hope to find some time) Will try to boot the live xbmc to have a look on all the linux errors.... Aggdraw is also part of the image generation.
find quote
tslayer Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,557
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 12
Post: #9
Figured it was part of it...

Thanks! Script sounds awesome though!

42.7% of all statistics are made up on the spot

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Bram77 Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,369
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 32
Location: Netherlands
Post: #10
I've added this excelent script to the XBMC-Favorites plugin. Thanks a lot!
Link is in my sig.

[Image: widget]

Please add to my reputation if you find my posts usefull (+/- button below posts)
Ubuntu 12.10 minimal XBMC auto-install script :: XBMControl :: Xbmc XBOX Skins :: XBMControl for Android :: Owner of Sudo Systems
find quote
djerock Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Peoria , IL
Thumbs Up   
Post: #11
nice app.. work well needs better work for the setup for area/weather.. but other then that works well.Nod

ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2 Athlon 64 X2 3800+, ~2.8GHz
CORSAIR XMS2 4 GB (4 x 1gig)DDR2 800
NVIDIA GeForce 8900 GTO 512mb ........resolution 1920 by 1080
10x WD 500GB SATA -HARD DRIVES
46" VIZIO LCD 1080P
find quote
MrLight Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 26
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
djerock Wrote:needs better work for the setup for area/weather..
Whats your problem with area / weather exactly?
find quote
djerock Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Peoria , IL
Post: #13
MrLight Wrote:Whats your problem with area / weather exactly?

for some reason i cant get the city changed for the weather and it wouldnt find my city in the search etherConfused? I had to add it my self by going to it.

ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2 Athlon 64 X2 3800+, ~2.8GHz
CORSAIR XMS2 4 GB (4 x 1gig)DDR2 800
NVIDIA GeForce 8900 GTO 512mb ........resolution 1920 by 1080
10x WD 500GB SATA -HARD DRIVES
46" VIZIO LCD 1080P
find quote
Geeba Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,796
Joined: Sep 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #14
Geeessss this looks great MrLight!!! I usually lookforward to a beer on a Friday after work... today I'm looking forward to giving this a run!! TOP work!
find quote
MrLight Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 26
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
djerock Wrote:for some reason i cant get the city changed for the weather and it wouldnt find my city in the search etherConfused? I had to add it my self by going to it.

You don't need to change the city for the weather. If everything works fine the weather report is from the center lon/lat which is shown in the map.

That your city isn't found during a search could be a localization problem. At that moment the App is searching in the german Google Version. So it could be possible that you have to search for "City, State, Country" to find your City in the US. I will look for a solution for this in the next few weeks...

MrLight
find quote
Post Reply