[RELEASE] PBS (Video) Addon

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 4.5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
bolt Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #46
Awesome, I was waiting for this! Smile
find quote
bolt Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #47
PBS changed their urls from http://www.pbs.org/video to http://video.pbs.org. Below is a fixed version of the plugin for this change.

http://www.diveopolis.com/PBS Video.zip
find quote
stacked Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 802
Joined: Jun 2007
Reputation: 18
Post: #48
[Update 7/22/09 v1.1]
- updated regex and urls to work with site changes - thanks bolt Wink
- added video info to video play back
- added plugin category title
- added update checker
- fixed library mode problem

Now on SVN Repo Installer...
(This post was last modified: 2009-07-22 10:27 by stacked.)
find quote
stacked Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 802
Joined: Jun 2007
Reputation: 18
Post: #49
[Update 8/12/09 v1.2]
- updated plugin to work with pbs.org changes
find quote
chad_ Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #50
stacked Wrote:[Update 8/12/09 v1.2]
- updated plugin to work with pbs.org changes

This isn't working for me at all now, it doesn't retrieve anything. Any idea why that might be?

Thanks in advance,
~c
find quote
stacked Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 802
Joined: Jun 2007
Reputation: 18
Post: #51
chad_ Wrote:This isn't working for me at all now, it doesn't retrieve anything. Any idea why that might be?

Thanks in advance,
~c

[Update 8/23/09 v1.3]
- updated plugin to work with pbs.org changes (again)
- added plot/summary to info labels
find quote
plooger Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #52
I can confirm that the 1.3 update runs on XBMC for Xbox (6-27 T3CH build), as of Aug 23, 2009. Tested by listing shows for several programs, and initiating playback for 3 different programs.

Thanks!

p.s. My only complaints, now, are with typical stream control limitations and the Xbox CPU, not the plugin. The plugin is slow to respond to Stop/Pause/Play commands, taking upwards of 15 seconds to end when the Stop button is pressed, and, of course, there's no FF, Rew, Skip-Ahead, Skip-Back, or ability to resume from previous position.

(Again, thanks.)

p.p.s. I've just started trying to use plugins and scripts again, and wanted to say that the ability to see the show info and description via the Info button is great. (I don't know if it's unique to this plugin, so am generally appreciative.)
(This post was last modified: 2009-08-24 03:03 by plooger.)
find quote
stacked Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 802
Joined: Jun 2007
Reputation: 18
Post: #53
Quote:p.s. My only complaints, now, are with typical stream control limitations and the Xbox CPU, not the plugin. The plugin is slow to respond to Stop/Pause/Play commands, taking upwards of 15 seconds to end when the Stop button is pressed, and, of course, there's no FF, Rew, Skip-Ahead, Skip-Back, or ability to resume from previous position.

(Again, thanks.)

Yea, that kinda sucks but there is nothing I can do about it. I guess the combination of the rtmp and the high quality videos is too much for the xbox.

Quote:p.p.s. I've just started trying to use plugins and scripts again, and wanted to say that the ability to see the show info and description via the Info button is great. (I don't know if it's unique to this plugin, so am generally appreciative.)

Thanks. This can be done in any plugin, it's just up to the plugin author to add it. I just found out about a few weeks ago and I've been trying to add this functionality to all my plugins.
find quote
waldo22 Offline
Donor
Posts: 764
Joined: Sep 2007
Reputation: 2
Location: Chapel Hill, NC, USA
Post: #54
So does PBS keep changing things specifically in order to keep things like this from working, or is it something else?

This is a frustration with all of the recent scripts and plugins:

Hulu, YouTube, etc.

It's getting ridiculous playing this cat-and-mouse game of having to constantly update our plugins/scripts when they change their site for whatever reason...

-Wes
find quote
stacked Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 802
Joined: Jun 2007
Reputation: 18
Post: #55
waldo22 Wrote:So does PBS keep changing things specifically in order to keep things like this from working, or is it something else?

This is a frustration with all of the recent scripts and plugins:

Hulu, YouTube, etc.

It's getting ridiculous playing this cat-and-mouse game of having to constantly update our plugins/scripts when they change their site for whatever reason...

-Wes

Yea, its getting annoying. Some sites seem to be changing a few lines every couple of days.
find quote
ghulands Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #56
I'm using the packages from the ppa here
https://launchpad.net/%7Eteam-xbmc/+archive/karmic-ppa

I see this in the xbmc.log

Code:
15:12:50 T:139801016817936 M:7282442240  NOTICE: Traceback (most recent call last):
15:12:50 T:139801016817936 M:7282442240  NOTICE:   File "/home/ghulands/.xbmc/scripts/PBS Video/default.py", line 138, in ?
15:12:50 T:139801016817936 M:7282442240  NOTICE: params=get_params()
15:12:50 T:139801016817936 M:7282442240  NOTICE:   File "/home/ghulands/.xbmc/scripts/PBS Video/default.py", line 122, in get_params
15:12:50 T:139801016817936 M:7282442240  NOTICE: paramstring=sys.argv[2]
15:12:50 T:139801016817936 M:7282442240  NOTICE: AttributeError
15:12:50 T:139801016817936 M:7282442240  NOTICE: :
15:12:50 T:139801016817936 M:7282442240  NOTICE: 'module' object has no attribute 'argv'
15:12:50 T:139801016817936 M:7282442240   ERROR: Scriptresult: Error

It fails to launch the script. Any ideas?

Greg
find quote
stacked Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 802
Joined: Jun 2007
Reputation: 18
Post: #57
I'll that a look.
find quote
stacked Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 802
Joined: Jun 2007
Reputation: 18
Post: #58
[Update v1.3.1 - 1/25/10]
- Fixed error causing some directories not to load (eg. FRONTLINE)

Let me know if there any other problems.
find quote
doctordeck Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #59
The plug in had been working until recently; the directory of shows loads but upon trying to retrieve a show, you get a failure due to script error. Any help(NT: running on Apple TV)
find quote
stacked Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 802
Joined: Jun 2007
Reputation: 18
Post: #60
doctordeck Wrote:The plug in had been working until recently; the directory of shows loads but upon trying to retrieve a show, you get a failure due to script error. Any help(NT: running on Apple TV)

[Update v1.3.2 - 3/27/10]
- Updated plugin to work with PBS recent changes. Fixes video loading error.
find quote
Post Reply