Set a new standard. Don't follow old ones-HD-DVD
lets just say i am astounded by the progress your program has made, i have been following xbox development progress in general since the xbox was released and unhacked. i'm no developer, but am a big fan of it, if that makes sence..

i think you people are in the position to create something as of yet, undone.. create your own new video disk standard (* not a codec standard).

i have has a dream for some time of a very powerful open ended video navigation format. one that uses whatever is currently top notch in terms of codecs, but has its own set of standards that give the users and developers more power. for the developers, you know what to expect. you are in charge here, and can set your own standards which make sure that everyone creates their videos in a consistant format, that developers can design for, and keep everything the same all the time. that is one of the good points of dvd, in that you always know you have mpg2...

now, it isn't like a lot would need to be done for this, as it uses a lot of already implemented features, but its the idea of an agreement to a standard that is important.. you are big enough to set a standard. enough people use your program, that if they accepted the standard, it would spread to other developers, and soon, everything you find on the net, content wise, would be developed perfectly for your program, as you designed the specs around your program..

what i envision is this:

a dvd (or cd should also be allowed), containing a video file (or multiple files), encoded with a high resolution capable codec, such as xvid or divx. i pick these formats as they will allow for higher than 480i, although if we are setting standards here, it would be nice to require 720p encoding. the world has changed, hard drive space is cheap, television broadcast standards will soon be required to change. so lets not live in the past and gear things for people with console televisions.