Commercial HTPCs running XBMC?
I recently built an HTPC to complete my home theater setup. I am running openSUSE 11.1 and XBMC compiled from the latest (as of two weeks ago) SVN. Being a Unix sysadmin, I couldn't sleep well until I got everything working "perfectly". No more random "pops" and "clicks" in audio output, no more vsync and tearing issues, great upconvert quality, automatic screen resolution detection, 1080p playback smooth as a baby's bottom, reliable playback of all sorts of popular and weird formats. And, of course, a 10Tb RAID 10 array with hot-swappable disks. In other words, if I bought this system at a store for several thousand dollars (and I actually briefly considered just buying an HTPC from one of the well-known, overpriced brands), I would have been very satisfied with features, performance, and reliability.

This got me thinking. I may know quite a bit about Unix, which helped be give my HTPC a certain polish, but I am definitely not the brightest light in the harbor when it comes to building HTPCs. My expertise lies primarily in the direction of HPC clusters and high-performance storage. So why aren't there any commercial HTPCs out there using XBMC or Boxee? I looked online and browsed through issues of Electronic House, lined with glossy photos of uber-expensive home theater monster machines and found nothing. Sure, there are some media servers and home automation devices running Linux, but the vast majority of players run WMC or some software developed by the HTPC makers themselves.