Custom Thumbs for Library Items - Genres, Artists, Albums, etc.

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
deepblue Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Sep 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Is this possible? In Library mode for Music the start page is pretty blah, and has the low-res Mediastream folder on the left side of the screen (when using List View):

[Image: screenshot000.jpg]

I'd like to be able to assign a thumbnail for each selection on this screen - does anyone know how I might achieve this?

An example of what I'd like it to look like:

[Image: screenshot000b.jpg]

If anyone knows a way for me to specify a thumbnail to show on these selections, please advise, I've searched everywhere and found nothing.

Thanks.
find quote
spiff Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 12,386
Joined: Nov 2003
Post: #2
hmm, seems i never got around to adding them for music, only for video.

trac it and cc me.
find quote
deepblue Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Sep 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Done.

http://trac.xbmc.org/ticket/5922

Thanks Spiff - you guys rock.
find quote
Dougie Fresh Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,493
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 82
Location: New Hampshire
Post: #4
If anyone comes up with some nice artwork for this new feature please share.
find quote
deepblue Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Sep 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
I will make some artwork and share - but this update isn't in the t3ch release I'm using, and the latest t3ch breaks Mediastream (or the other way around, I'm not sure).

When the dust settles I'll post something back here.
find quote
styx06 Offline
Member
Posts: 74
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
deepblue Wrote:I will make some artwork and share - but this update isn't in the t3ch release I'm using, and the latest t3ch breaks Mediastream (or the other way around, I'm not sure).

When the dust settles I'll post something back here.

Any luck in getting this working in library mode?
find quote
deepblue Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Sep 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Spiff implemented support for it according to Trac, but I think the skin needs to be adjusted to specifically support looking for the .png's for each category when you're browsing. I've put it in as a feature request in the sticky, suggest anyone else who wants this chime in there as well - as I'm sure the squeaky wheel gets the grease!

I will happily contribute images that can be used if/when this is supported in Mediastream.
find quote
Jezz_X Offline
Team-XBMC Skinner
Posts: 5,289
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 57
Location: Earth
Post: #8
You just need to name them like this and put them in the skins media folder
http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=Thumbnails#C...rary_Nodes
find quote
deepblue Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Sep 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
(hits forehead with palm) - the Wiki again!!

Thanks Jezz - is there a specific size for the thumb we use? I assume it needs to be a square shape (as opposed to rectangular, as I have above).
find quote
Jezz_X Offline
Team-XBMC Skinner
Posts: 5,289
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 57
Location: Earth
Post: #10
It needs to be what ever the skin supports same as size if the view you use uses dvd poster style icons (AEON) then you make em like that it doesn't matter.
As for size really anything bigger than 512x512 will probably slow you down and mediastream wouldn't display icons that big anyway I would think in any of its views
find quote
styx06 Offline
Member
Posts: 74
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Jezz_X Wrote:You just need to name them like this and put them in the skins media folder
http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=Thumbnails#C...rary_Nodes

mmmh, must be doing something wrong, as I am not getting any custom library icons...just put 'm in the skin/mediastream/media folder with the correct .png name right?

So mediastream already supports this?
find quote
Jezz_X Offline
Team-XBMC Skinner
Posts: 5,289
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 57
Location: Earth
Post: #12
yes but media stream allready has some default ones so it depends on what ones you are trying to replace
find quote
styx06 Offline
Member
Posts: 74
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Jezz_X Wrote:yes but media stream allready has some default ones so it depends on what ones you are trying to replace

Is there an overview of which ones can be changed with Mediastream?
I tried DefaultMovies.png and DefaultGenre.png for example, but both did not work...
find quote
Jezz_X Offline
Team-XBMC Skinner
Posts: 5,289
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 57
Location: Earth
Post: #14
Both of those are allready used https://xboxmediacenter.svn.sourceforge....ream/Media
if you want to replace those you need to remake the xpr
find quote