Suggestion to hide the scripts menu item like programs

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Nazgulled Offline
Fan
Posts: 530
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi,

Just like you can hide the "Programs" main menu item in the skins settings by disabling "Show programs in main menu", I'm suggesting the same thing to be added to the "Scripts" item.

I don't have anything installed here and since everything is being moved to "plugins" instead of "scripts", I don't see the use for this on the main menu. Of course, some people may find it useful, that's I'm suggesting for an option to be added, just like the programs one, instead of removing it Wink

What do you think?
find quote
kizer Offline
Fan
Posts: 701
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Seattle WA, US
Post: #2
Well if thats the case I'd like to be able to swap TV to the front and or disable photos as well since I don't use them either. Wink

Since things are being requested and all.
find quote
Nazgulled Offline
Fan
Posts: 530
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Not good a idea?

Most people probably use plugins instead of scripts... But anyhow, can someone help me out remove it from my local skin then? I'm not sure if it's just a matter of commenting the right portion of XML code or not...
find quote
yadster Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Sunny Yorkshire, UK
Post: #4
This is a good idea. I too would like the option of removing Scripts folder, or have the option of changing it to Games.
find quote
sho Online
Team-XBMC Member
Posts: 4,128
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 3
Post: #5
PMIII or PM3.HD?

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Nazgulled Offline
Fan
Posts: 530
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
PM3.HD for me...

@yadster
Your post was interesting... Change it to games and what do you do from there?
find quote
sho Online
Team-XBMC Member
Posts: 4,128
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 3
Post: #7
I'd take a look here:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=45213

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
yadster Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Sunny Yorkshire, UK
Post: #8
I've looked at and it's certainly a step in the right direction but after trying it out I think it only works properly if in library mode. If like me you use file mode then it doesn't matter if you choose tv, videos or movies, it takes you to the exact same spot.
find quote
sho Online
Team-XBMC Member
Posts: 4,128
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 3
Post: #9
Then maybe look at what it is doing and modify it to your liking?

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
yadster Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Sunny Yorkshire, UK
Post: #10
sho Wrote:Then maybe look at what it is doing and modify it to your liking?

Not sure how. If I modify TV to go straight to TV then movies and videos then go straight to TV as well.
find quote
yadster Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Sunny Yorkshire, UK
Post: #11
Nazgulled Wrote:PM3.HD for me...

@yadster
Your post was interesting... Change it to games and what do you do from there?

I use PM3-HD on my xbox. Ideally I would like there to be a movies, tv and video buttons on the start-up screen as well as (an optional?) one for games. From here I could access the emulators and xbox games on the hard drive. I hope that makes sense.

Horizonz has the right idea for adding/removing what is available on the home screen, including things like comics, emulation, arcade, etc. But after trying probably every xbmc skin available it's always PM3 that I return to as it is rock solid and wife-proof :-)
find quote
AussieFries Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #12
I'm sorry to kick this old topic, but is it possible to remove the Scripts menu?
find quote