[LINUX] Asus Pundit P4-P5N9300 Media Center Remote Control and LIRC?

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
JS36 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #31
I just reinstalled ubuntu once again and followed my guide over there and found out it wasn't working(?) BUt then i did
Code:
chmod 666 /dev/lircd
mode2 -d /dev/lirc0
To get output from /dev/lirc0 you have to use -d flag and now it's working for me again.

Don't give up when you are so close.
find quote
SmeagolL Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #32
i restarted the daemon (no errors) and got:
Aug 8 22:55:13 xxx lircd-0.8.4a[1894]: caught signal
Aug 8 22:55:13 xxx lircd-0.8.4a[4532]: lircd(default) ready
in the daemon.log

i tried the chmod and mode2, which works, but i don't get anything when i try clicking the buttons on the remote. Maybe it's because im using a Apple MacBook remote instead of an Apple MacMini remote. I'd really like it if that remote worked but i also got a remote with the computer which says Asus (RC1462803/01B on the back), but i have no idea which one it is and what i should do to test it.

Thanks for all the help. When in ubuntu, did you by chance test the spdif audio?
find quote
JS36 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #33
SmeagolL Wrote:i restarted the daemon (no errors) and got:
Aug 8 22:55:13 xxx lircd-0.8.4a[1894]: caught signal
Aug 8 22:55:13 xxx lircd-0.8.4a[4532]: lircd(default) ready
in the daemon.log

i tried the chmod and mode2, which works, but i don't get anything when i try clicking the buttons on the remote. Maybe it's because im using a Apple MacBook remote instead of an Apple MacMini remote. I'd really like it if that remote worked but i also got a remote with the computer which says Asus (RC1462803/01B on the back), but i have no idea which one it is and what i should do to test it.

Thanks for all the help. When in ubuntu, did you by chance test the spdif audio?

I don't know if the Apple remote works, is there more than one apple remote to choose between? Try others in that case. I haven't got the Asus remote to work.

To get my optical sound to work i did the following:

sudo nano /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
and add this line last in the file: options snd-hda-intel model=6stack-dig
Reboot and it should work
Otherwise sudo alsamixer and unmute the IEC-devices
find quote
SmeagolL Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #34
You who have the asus pundit remote and have got it working, how does your hardware.conf look like? Which remote choise did you select?

# /etc/lirc/hardware.conf
#
#Chosen Remote Control
REMOTE="ITE IT8712/IT8705 CIR port"
REMOTE_MODULES="lirc_dev lirc_it87"
REMOTE_DRIVER=""
REMOTE_DEVICE="/dev/lirc0"
REMOTE_LIRCD_CONF=""
REMOTE_LIRCD_ARGS=""

#Chosen IR Transmitter
TRANSMITTER="None"
TRANSMITTER_MODULES=""
TRANSMITTER_DRIVER=""
TRANSMITTER_DEVICE=""
TRANSMITTER_LIRCD_CONF=""
TRANSMITTER_LIRCD_ARGS=""

#Enable lircd
START_LIRCD="true"

#Don't start lircmd even if there seems to be a good config file
#START_LIRCMD="false"

#Try to load appropriate kernel modules
LOAD_MODULES="true"

# Default configuration files for your hardware if any
LIRCMD_CONF=""

#Forcing noninteractive reconfiguration
#If lirc is to be reconfigured by an external application
#that doesn't have a debconf frontend available, the noninteractive
#frontend can be invoked and set to parse REMOTE and TRANSMITTER
#It will then populate all other variables without any user input
#If you would like to configure lirc via standard methods, be sure
#to leave this set to "false"

# Default configuration files for your hardware if any
LIRCMD_CONF=""

#Forcing noninteractive reconfiguration
#If lirc is to be reconfigured by an external application
#that doesn't have a debconf frontend available, the noninteractive
#frontend can be invoked and set to parse REMOTE and TRANSMITTER
#It will then populate all other variables without any user input
#If you would like to configure lirc via standard methods, be sure
#to leave this set to "false"
FORCE_NONINTERACTIVE_RECONFIGURATION="false"
START_LIRCMD=""

I'm a bit confused, first when i install the real version of lirc i select the remote and when i install the pre1 version i select the irDa receiver?

Thanks a lot with the sound, works perfectly!!
find quote
JS36 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #35
Ok good the sound works =)

First when i install lirc with "apt-get install" i choose the MCE remote couse when doing that install it creates the config-files configured for that remote. After that i only changed lirc_mceusb to lirc_it87 in REMOTE_MODULES couse i use the it87-reciever and not the MCEUSB and only wanted the config to be automaticaly configured to MCE-remote.

I think you only need to change the REMOTE_LIRCD_CONF=""
Look in http://lirc.sourceforge.net/remotes/apple/ and see if any remote there works, just put them in /usr/share/lirc/remotes/apple and link to them on that line like "apple/[configfile]".

I'm sure it'll work very soon for you. I think you just need a config for the remote.

Code:
# /etc/lirc/hardware.conf
#
#Chosen Remote Control
REMOTE="Windows Media Center Remotes (new version Philips et al.)"
REMOTE_MODULES="lirc_dev lirc_it87"
REMOTE_DRIVER=""
REMOTE_DEVICE="/dev/lirc0"
REMOTE_LIRCD_CONF="mceusb/lircd.conf.mceusb"
REMOTE_LIRCD_ARGS=""

#Chosen IR Transmitter
TRANSMITTER="None"
TRANSMITTER_MODULES=""
TRANSMITTER_DRIVER=""
TRANSMITTER_DEVICE=""
TRANSMITTER_LIRCD_CONF=""
TRANSMITTER_LIRCD_ARGS=""

#Enable lircd
START_LIRCD="true"

#Don't start lircmd even if there seems to be a good config file
#START_LIRCMD="false"

#Try to load appropriate kernel modules
LOAD_MODULES="true"

# Default configuration files for your hardware if any
LIRCMD_CONF=""

#Forcing noninteractive reconfiguration
#If lirc is to be reconfigured by an external application
#that doesn't have a debconf frontend available, the noninteractive
#frontend can be invoked and set to parse REMOTE and TRANSMITTER
#It will then populate all other variables without any user input
#If you would like to configure lirc via standard methods, be sure
#to leave this set to "false"

FORCE_NONINTERACTIVE_RECONFIGURATION="false"
START_LIRCMD=""
find quote
SmeagolL Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #36
what does your lircd.conf look like?

What is the easiest way of reinstalling lirc? so i can get the options where i select the remote etc.
find quote
JS36 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #37
apt-get purge lirc and stand in the /usr/src/lirc-[version] and do make uninstall. Then you should be able to reinstall again but i don't think it's necessary to do a full reinstall.

Code:
#This configuration has been automatically generated via
#the Ubuntu LIRC package maintainer scripts.
#
#It includes the default configuration for the remote and/or
#transmitter that you have selected during package installation.
#
#Feel free to add any custom remotes to the configuration
#via additional include directives or below the existing
#Ubuntu include directives from your selected remote and/or
#transmitter.

#Configuration for the Windows Media Center Remotes (new version Philips et al.$
include "/usr/share/lirc/remotes/mceusb/lircd.conf.mceusb"
find quote
SmeagolL Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #38
my hardware.conf and lircd.conf looks exactly like yours' now but still no luck when i do mode2... Might be a stupid question but i don't need to do anything with the transmitter to be sure it is active and waiting for signals? Would be nice to know that thing is working atleast.
find quote
JS36 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #39
SmeagolL Wrote:my hardware.conf and lircd.conf looks exactly like yours' now but still no luck when i do mode2... Might be a stupid question but i don't need to do anything with the transmitter to be sure it is active and waiting for signals? Would be nice to know that thing is working atleast.

Im not sure. But you have to do mode2 -d /dev/lirc0 with the -d, i forgot that first. When the config are configured to your remote it'll work. Try the config files from my link. I hope you have configured the remote to be an apple if you have apple Wink

Sorry i have to go now, i'll be back in a week...
find quote
bzkt Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #40
JS36 Wrote:I can help you. Don't give up yet, i had to spend around 20-30h to figure out how to do but learned alot so i think i can help. What type of remote do you use?

sudo apt-get install lirc (configure with the remote you want to use, i choose MCEUSB new Philips et al and emulated it with my logitech harmony 555)
sudo apt-get install dialog
sudo su
cd /usr/src
wget http://www.lirc.org/software/snapshots/l...e1.tar.bz2
tar xvfj lirc-0.8.6pre1
cd lirc-0.8.6pre1
sh setup.sh
Driver configuration(1) > IrDa/CIR hardware(6) > ITE IT8712/IT8705/IT8720 CIR port (3) and "save configuration & run configure" in first menu
make
make install
nano /etc/modules add lirc_dev and lirc_it87
nano /etc/lirc/hardware.conf change to this REMOTE_MODULES="lirc_dev lirc_it87"
reboot or restart lirc and it should work

otherwise try modprobe lirc_dev && modprobe lirc_it87 and see if you get /dev/lirc0 and try sudo mode2 /dev/lirc0 and press buttons on remote
I've tried all this, but I can't load the module lirc_it87. When I try 'modprobe lirc_it87' it says:
Quote:FATAL: Error inserting lirc_it87 (/lib/modules/2.6.28-11-generic/misc/lirc_it87.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)

dmesg returns:
Quote:[684.490019] lirc_it87: Unknown symbol lirc_unregister_driver
[684.490126] lirc_it87: Unknown symbol lirc_register_driver

(modprobe lirc_dev works though...)
find quote
JS36 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #41
bzkt Wrote:I've tried all this, but I can't load the module lirc_it87. When I try 'modprobe lirc_it87' it says:


dmesg returns:


(modprobe lirc_dev works though...)

Are you sure /usr/src/linux is linked to the kernel you are using when you are configuring and compiling the downloaded lirc?
Maybe you have the module lirc_it87 in the wrong kernel-dir? Try this and compile again.

sudo su
cd /usr/src
rm linux
ln -s /usr/src/[the kernel you use] linux
find quote
bzkt Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #42
JS36 Wrote:Are you sure /usr/src/linux is linked to the kernel you are using when you are configuring and compiling the downloaded lirc?
Maybe you have the module lirc_it87 in the wrong kernel-dir? Try this and compile again.
Thanks. Now it works and I have /dev/lirc0. But when I try 'mode2 -d /dev/lirc0' and press buttons (tried both my Asus-remote and my Harmony 555) nothing happens Sad
find quote
JS36 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #43
bzkt Wrote:Thanks. Now it works and I have /dev/lirc0. But when I try 'mode2 -d /dev/lirc0' and press buttons (tried both my Asus-remote and my Harmony 555) nothing happens Sad

You can config the harmony 555 to act like a MCEUSB remote if you want.
I don't know if anyone have got the asus-remote to work. This is my config. Try change it and configure Harmony 555 to act like it. I have harmony 555 working myself.

Quote:# /etc/lirc/hardware.conf
#
#Chosen Remote Control
REMOTE="Windows Media Center Remotes (new version Philips et al.)"
REMOTE_MODULES="lirc_dev lirc_it87"
REMOTE_DRIVER=""
REMOTE_DEVICE="/dev/lirc0"
REMOTE_LIRCD_CONF="mceusb/lircd.conf.mceusb"
REMOTE_LIRCD_ARGS=""

#Chosen IR Transmitter
TRANSMITTER="None"
TRANSMITTER_MODULES=""
TRANSMITTER_DRIVER=""
TRANSMITTER_DEVICE=""
TRANSMITTER_LIRCD_CONF=""
TRANSMITTER_LIRCD_ARGS=""

#Enable lircd
START_LIRCD="true"

#Don't start lircmd even if there seems to be a good config file
#START_LIRCMD="false"

#Try to load appropriate kernel modules
LOAD_MODULES="true"

# Default configuration files for your hardware if any
LIRCMD_CONF=""

#Forcing noninteractive reconfiguration
#If lirc is to be reconfigured by an external application
#that doesn't have a debconf frontend available, the noninteractive
#frontend can be invoked and set to parse REMOTE and TRANSMITTER
#It will then populate all other variables without any user input
#If you would like to configure lirc via standard methods, be sure
#to leave this set to "false"

FORCE_NONINTERACTIVE_RECONFIGURATION="false"
START_LIRCMD=""

/etc/lirc/lircd.conf
Quote:#This configuration has been automatically generated via
#the Ubuntu LIRC package maintainer scripts.
#
#It includes the default configuration for the remote and/or
#transmitter that you have selected during package installation.
#
#Feel free to add any custom remotes to the configuration
#via additional include directives or below the existing
#Ubuntu include directives from your selected remote and/or
#transmitter.

#Configuration for the Windows Media Center Remotes (new version Philips et al.$
include "/usr/share/lirc/remotes/mceusb/lircd.conf.mceusb"
(This post was last modified: 2009-08-19 21:01 by JS36.)
find quote
MP3HiFi Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #44
Hi,

mine isn't working right now.

I downloaded and installed the new lirc. The file /lib/modules/2.6.28-15-server/kernel/ubuntu/lirc/lirc_it87/lirc_it87.ko exists.
Any idea?

PHP Code:
root@HTPC:/usr/src/lirc-0.8.6pre1# sudo modprobe lirc_it87
FATALError inserting lirc_it87 (/lib/modules/2.6.28-15-server/kernel/ubuntu/lirc/lirc_it87/lirc_it87.ko): No such device or address
root
@HTPC:/usr/src/lirc-0.8.6pre1# mc

root@HTPC:/usr/src/lirc-0.8.6pre1# mc

root@HTPC:/usr/src/lirc-0.8.6pre1# sudo modprobe lirc_it87
FATALError inserting lirc_it87 (/lib/modules/2.6.28-15-server/kernel/ubuntu/lirc/lirc_it87/lirc_it87.ko): No such device or address
root
@HTPC:/usr/src/lirc-0.8.6pre1# dmesg |grep lirc
[    9.462955lirc_devIR Remote Control driver registeredmajor 61
[    9.496906lirc_devlirc_register_pluginsample_rate0
[    9.496963lirc_it87no IT8705/12 foundexiting..
[   
13.170037lirc_devlirc_register_pluginsample_rate0
[   13.170096lirc_it87no IT8705/12 foundexiting..
[   
56.464328lirc_devlirc_register_pluginsample_rate0
[   56.464387lirc_it87no IT8705/12 foundexiting..
[  
773.990635lirc_devlirc_register_pluginsample_rate0
[  773.990712lirc_it87no IT8705/12 foundexiting..
1019.134608lirc_devlirc_register_pluginsample_rate0
1019.134684lirc_it87no IT8705/12 foundexiting.. 
PHP Code:
dmesg
[    9.692055lirc_devIR Remote Control driver registeredmajor 61 
[    9.694561lirc_devlirc_register_pluginsample_rate0
[    9.694622lirc_it87no IT8705/12 foundexiting.. 
(This post was last modified: 2009-08-19 23:00 by MP3HiFi.)
find quote
MP3HiFi Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #45
Hello, no solution for the above problem?
find quote
Post Reply