Web Server / HTTP API Remote Exploits (Please Read!) [Updated]
A few remote exploits were brought to our attention recently and have been fixed in r19126. It is recommend that you disable the web server until you can get a build at or later than this one installed. This goes double if you're doing something stupid like running XBMC on a priveleged account or exposing the server to the internet.

All database access through the httpapi has been disabled until a denial of service, in the form of a segfault, can be resolved.

A HUGE thanks goes out to n00b for the security audit and PoC code. Keep up the good work!

EDIT: You can disable the web server in settings > network > servers.

UPDATE: All the exploits reported by n00b should be fixed as of r19131. Of course running XBMC on a privileged account and exposing the servers to the Internet is still not advised. -d4rk.
Hi im a security researcher i fund my own hobbies and don't get paid from any one for the advisory i release its all done purely as a hobbie.

I'm glad i was able to help towards the project in some way.Im pleased all the buffer overflows got fixed that is great news and only in a short period of time i can only thank the developers for listening to me when i come to irc.

If you had refused to talk to me about the matter i would have just released the poc to the public this is because some vendors do not take things seriously.

Its like they brush it under the carpet and cross there figures and hope it goes away or instead of adding some length checking they compile the binary with /gs flag and think that its safe.

In order to rectify these problems you have to modify it from a code perspective not just hoping that a /gs cookie will save the day.
Because there are ways of bypassing that also.

The buffer overflows i released could potential ruin your day so i would