[AppleTV] HOW-TO increase ATV remote functionality with a Universal Remote Control

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
chocky Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #16
...and my XBMC Apple Remote mode is standard, while the Launcher Universal Mode is *on*. Both of these are defaults, afaik. Turning off Universal Mode in the Launcher didn't do anything.
find quote
chocky Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
Update: I changed to XBMC Babylon and everything works fine. Apart from my database disappearing when I upgraded, that is Smile
find quote
aedile Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: San Antonio, TX
Post: #18
MaestroDD Wrote:...
I've added the additional keys to default keymap.xml, so it'll be included in next release.

Maestro,

Any word on those extra keys? I'm not sure where the "default" keymap.xml is located, I just upload a custom one to the userdata directory.

-aedile-
find quote
MaestroDD Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 629
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Mannheim, Germany
Post: #19
aedile Wrote:Maestro,

Any word on those extra keys?

they are included in babylon alpha 1

aedile Wrote:I'm not sure where the "default" keymap.xml is located, I just upload a custom one to the userdata directory.
-aedile-

http://tinyurl.com/d4ohgr


Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules. If you don't have the time to read them, please don't take the time to post in this forum!
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
aedile Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: San Antonio, TX
Post: #20
My bad. For some reason I had it in my head that you were adding in the learned +,-, >,<, play, menu keys into the keymap.xml as separate mappings. I just realized I was cross-reading between this thread and the Launcher 3.0 beta test thread like a moron.
Big Grin
Cheers and thanks for the work on Launcher 3.

-aedile-
find quote
unmesh Offline
Donor
Posts: 106
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #21
I understand the learning remote part which is a composite of the AppleRemote and the old remote.

Is the learning on the ATV limited to the 10 items represented by the first 10 button IDs in the sample keymap.xml entries? Or does one have to have the ATV learn the rest of the entries too?
find quote
raydevos Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Mar 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #22
Hello, I don't understand why you have 9 learned keys (from 70 to 78) while on the apple page you've linked, it seems there's only the 6 usual keys.
find quote
aedile Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: San Antonio, TX
Post: #23
@unmesh: You have to have them learned as part of the setup process, but you don't use them in your setup. I use the traditional apple remote to learn those and then the "learned remote" for the extended use buttons.

@raydevos: Though it's not shown in the guide itself, there are actually several more buttons involved in the learning process which are where you get the new functionality from.

-aedile-

Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur.
find quote
unmesh Offline
Donor
Posts: 106
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
Thanks @aedile,

I will try this out tonight.
find quote
unmesh Offline
Donor
Posts: 106
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #25
I got the ATV to learn the basic keys and the playback keys off a 3rd party remote and XBMC responds to the the basic keys on that remote. How do I get it to respond to the additional keys?

Thanks.
find quote
unmesh Offline
Donor
Posts: 106
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #26
I re-learned the keys and they started working. I have no idea why it did not work the first time Rolleyes
find quote
Post Reply