Which XBMC
Hello,

First post, and I wanted to get a feeling from some of the regulars or other newbies to XBMC on which version is right for me.

I'd like to have something that would work well with my HT setup (Onkyo AVR-888) and Samsung 46" 6 series (1080p). I don't have blue ray (yet) and am thinking of building a small form factor HTPC to run everything. Since I am starting out from scratch hardware wise, I was hoping for some general thoughts on where to go. I am a relative newbie to Linux (played with Ubuntu for a bit, but am primarily a windows user (though willing to learn).

So, what do you think; Live, XBMC for Win, or XBMC for Linux? I am thinking Live from what I have read up on so far but am a little leary of hardware setup in Live since I am relatively new to linux.

Barret
I'm not really sure about this, but I think that more remotes & mini keyboards (such as logitechs mini dinovo (like this bad boy http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/keyboa...8&cl=US,EN) are better supported on windows.

Just a thought.
XBMC's overall goal is to be platform agnostic. Pick whichever you're most comfortable with. Just be aware that XBMC is still quite new to this whole PC thing and development is always in flux, so some platform may step ahead of the others temporarily.
If you are comfortable with Windows, use it. As the man sez, you aren't losing anything. Even if you want to know more about Linux, XBMC is not a good place to start, since you'd never know when something goes wrong if it's a Linux thing, a XBMC thing, or a user thing. If you want to learn Linux, get an old desktop and stick Ubuntu on it. Then you can explore without having to worry about something breaking. An HTPC is something you want to work all the time.

That said, looks like the Linux rev is gonna have GPU accel for Nvidia, so if yer hankerin for a small box that doesn't involve a 3GHz CPU (read: Ion), then may be a crash course in Lin is in your future. Er, no pun intended.