[WINDOWS] Automatic Update Client for XBMC

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 4.67 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
kay.one Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Dec 2006
Reputation: 3
Post: #16
kricker Wrote:It's a bug. There was a progress indicator. It's not showing up for me either now.

lol, its not a bug, it was removed!Laugh
find quote
kricker Offline
Team-XBMC QA Specialist
Posts: 3,419
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 20
Location: Knoxville, TN
Post: #17
kay.one Wrote:lol, its not a bug, it was removed!Laugh
Then I stand corrected. Is it coming back?!

Read this before using these builds.
XBMC win32 SVN builds
Changelog
find quote
xexe Offline
Fan
Posts: 711
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #18
Was thinking that if you want people to stay up to date with the client (since alot of people will put this on manually once and then not touch it) its probably worth early on having some kinda of auto updater for the tool itself.

Normally i would not suggest this but I reckon alot of people only pull out the KB for their HTPC when they really have to.


Having problems getting your TV shows recognized?

Try my extra TV show matching REGEX here
find quote
kay.one Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Dec 2006
Reputation: 3
Post: #19
kay.one Wrote:lol, its not a bug, it was removed!Laugh

opps!

you see, the app used to have a progress bar, i got rid of it and replaced it with a status text thingi, but i guess that broke somewhere during dev. thats why you thought its missing a progress bar, and i thought its not needed!

give it a try and let me know if its any better.

anyways its fixed now, i have uploaded a new build. with a few fixes here and there.
find quote
kricker Offline
Team-XBMC QA Specialist
Posts: 3,419
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 20
Location: Knoxville, TN
Post: #20
Great. Progress indicator is back, URL is updated....looking good!

Read this before using these builds.
XBMC win32 SVN builds
Changelog
find quote
Livin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,519
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 17
Location: above ground
Post: #21
nice work!

I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
(This post was last modified: 2009-04-09 18:32 by Livin.)
find quote
kricker Offline
Team-XBMC QA Specialist
Posts: 3,419
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 20
Location: Knoxville, TN
Post: #22
Any script writers out there want to help with the integration of this into XBMC?

Read this before using these builds.
XBMC win32 SVN builds
Changelog
find quote
natethomas Offline
Team-XBMC Community Manager
Posts: 3,434
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 61
Location: Kansas
Post: #23
I have a question. If we have this set to automatically run, do we need to have XBMC shut off before running it? Or will it shut it off itself? Or is there no need to shut it off in the first place?
find quote
kricker Offline
Team-XBMC QA Specialist
Posts: 3,419
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 20
Location: Knoxville, TN
Post: #24
natethomas Wrote:I have a question. If we have this set to automatically run, do we need to have XBMC shut off before running it? Or will it shut it off itself? Or is there no need to shut it off in the first place?
It will close XBMC if XBMC is running. And yes XBMC has to close for the update to happen, as you can't update the .exe while it is running.

Read this before using these builds.
XBMC win32 SVN builds
Changelog
find quote
quake101 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #25
Does XBMCUpdate know how to update itself?
find quote
kricker Offline
Team-XBMC QA Specialist
Posts: 3,419
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 20
Location: Knoxville, TN
Post: #26
quake101 Wrote:Does XBMCUpdate know how to update itself?
Not yet, as far as I know.

Read this before using these builds.
XBMC win32 SVN builds
Changelog
find quote
CrashX Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,164
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #27
kricker Wrote:It will close XBMC if XBMC is running. And yes XBMC has to close for the update to happen, as you can't update the .exe while it is running.

You should be able to update the exe while it is running if you do the following:

1) Rename original xbmc.exe to xbmcold.exe
2) Now copy the new exe into the xbmc folder

SmileSmile
find quote
kricker Offline
Team-XBMC QA Specialist
Posts: 3,419
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 20
Location: Knoxville, TN
Post: #28
CrashX Wrote:You should be able to update the exe while it is running if you do the following:

1) Rename original xbmc.exe to xbmcold.exe
2) Now copy the new exe into the xbmc folder

SmileSmile
But the .exe is still running so you didn't update it while it was running, you just delayed it until the next time you run it. What's the difference?

Read this before using these builds.
XBMC win32 SVN builds
Changelog
find quote
CrashX Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,164
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #29
Kricker:-

To avoid killing xbmc while someone is in the middle of watching a movie .. I presume that XBMC Auto Updater runs in the background and updates xbmc without any user input ..
find quote
kricker Offline
Team-XBMC QA Specialist
Posts: 3,419
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 20
Location: Knoxville, TN
Post: #30
CrashX Wrote:Kricker:-

To avoid killing xbmc while someone is in the middle of watching a movie .. I presume that XBMC Auto Updater runs in the background and updates xbmc without any user input ..
Ahh yes I see. I never think about the scheduled update, as I don't think I'd ever run it that way. Too risky to update to a bad build and have the wife complain.

Read this before using these builds.
XBMC win32 SVN builds
Changelog
find quote
Post Reply