Need advice on archiving TV DVDs - Moderate skill level
[UPDATE] I have now finalised a solution. Using DVD decrypter, and DDMF rip to automate the extracting of chapters into episode folders, media companion for the downloading of nfo files, and the crucial part was to make sure i access the shows through the tv show menu item in Aeon stark. Before i was using the videos tab ( i had turned off tv shows) and it was wasnt picking things up. Now? its perfect.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi all.

Problem faced: How i should back up my TV DVD sets.

Obligatory disclaimer: I have read the forums over and over for how-to's on certain aspects of what I am about to ask. I am after your opinions more than tech advice, although based on your opinions - it might be needed! I am new to XBMC windows, but I am handy with a computer and i can kludge together skin alts with photoshop and xml. I have a hard time on some of the "best practice" aspects.

Techy stuff
XBMC Build:Rev19052.exe
Platform: Windows XP
Skin: aeon Stark 0.9
DVD ripper: DVD Decrypter 3.5.4.0
Media companion (for nfo files and so on)

Right - I am moving overseas, and have made the jump to backup my entire CD/DVD collection to digital in order to save room packing. Music files - no problem. 1500 odd discs ripped to FLAC with fan art, artist and folder art. It's all working a dream, and relatively straight forward. After a little tinkering, Movies are the same.

I am coming unstuck when it comes to my TV DVD sets.

Ultimately, i could just burn these as VIDEO_ts folders and be done with it. Navigate to menus straight from the disc. But selecting an episode this way, is klunky at best.
My end goal is to have each Season of a show ripped to episode files. However, i can notice a few shortcomings to certain methods, and in the long term i want the ultimate flexibility and lossless format (much in the way i can go back to cd quality with my FLAC music files)