Re-design/overhaul...looking for a little help.
Okay guys...here's the deal.

I've gone back to work full-time, which means my ability to sit in front of a computer all day and program to my little heart's content has been destroyed. I have literally only an hour or two every day at my disposal now to work on Serenity.

However, I still feel like there are many things that could be improved/changed/added/fixed in this skin, and I'm hoping maybe some of you out there would like to help me. Here is a list of some of the stuff I would still like to tackle before I consider this skin fully completed:

1. Automatic updating: I'm trying to make a script that does this, but I'm very new to Python, so some of the usage is still foreign to me. Anybody with Python Experience...more than welcome to help. Broken code is here:

Code:
import urllib,os,re,urllib2
import xbmc,xbmcgui

# get current (active) skin dir
currentSkin = xbmc.getSkinDir()
# create the path variable
path = 'special://xbmc/skin/'+currentSkin
rarpath = 'special:/temp/serenity.rar'

def DownloaderClass(url,dest):
    dp = xbmcgui.DialogProgress()
    dp.create("Serenity Update","Downloading File",url)
    urllib.urlretrieve(url,dest,lambda nb, bs, fs, url=url: _pbhook(nb,bs,fs,url,dp))

def _pbhook(numblocks, blocksize, filesize, url=None,dp=None):
    try:
        percent = min((numblocks*blocksize*100)/filesize, 100)
        print percent
        dp.update(percent)
    except:
        percent = 100
        dp.update(percent)
    if dp.iscanceled():
        print "DOWNLOAD CANCELLED" # need to get this part working
        dp.close()

url ='http://www.iamkizer.net/xbmc/serenity/downloads/MusicFanartAddon.rar'
DownloaderClass(url,rarpath)
xbmc.executebuiltin('extract(rarpath)')

I'm pretty sure my problem is in the way I'm telling the execute(extract) function to handle the special/temp path.