How can i switch to 1980x1080@24Hz

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
TimSalabim Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hello im a newbie *g* i have installed XBMC live on a memorystick in my new acer aspire revo.

My Sony TV supports 24hz, how can i switch the screen resolution to 1920x1080P@24hz.

In the screen resolution menu i can only choose 1920x1080i or p and 50hz 51hz 52 and so on.
(This post was last modified: 2009-05-12 18:45 by TimSalabim.)
find quote
dlmh Offline
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 5
Exclamation   
Post: #2
TimSalabim Wrote:Hello im a newbie *g* i have installed XBMC live on a memorystick in my new acer aspire revo.

My Sony TV supports 24hz, how can i switch the screen resolution to 1980x1080P@24hz.

In the screen resolution menu i can only choose 1980x1080i or p and 50hz 51hz 52 and so on.
^^^ join

I too have this problem with a GeForce 9500GT running XBMC Live. Tried Linux (Ubuntu 8.10 & 9.04), with latest nVidia drivers and SVN-versions of XBMC Babylon as well with the same result. Could it be the graphics drivers?

In Windows it works like a charm Stare
find quote
proctor Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Linux doesn't seem to read the EDID of some devices properly. For my Epson projector, I had to use xrandr and manually add a modeline to get 24p.
find quote
TimSalabim Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
hmm, can you explain what i have to do ?
find quote
dlmh Offline
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 5
Post: #5
Anyone knows how to fix this? The only thing holding me back to use XBMC Live instead of a Windows install is not having 24p playback... it's not specific to XBMC Live, just the nVidia Linux driver (probably), but I seriously don't know how to fix this.

Some more info maybe useful:

Motherboard: Gigabyte EP31-DS3
CPU: Intel Core2Duo E8400 (3.0GHz)
Memory: OCZ 1GB
GPU: Gigabyte nVidia Geforce GF9500GT 512MB (HDMI/DVI/VGA)

Thanks!
find quote
cejstrup Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Try this. Only way I got my Panasonic plasma to work in 1080p:

http://amlc.berlios.de/
find quote
dlmh Offline
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 5
Post: #7
cejstrup Wrote:Try this. Only way I got my Panasonic plasma to work in 1080p:

http://amlc.berlios.de/
Will this fix the refreshrates or just the resolution? I DO get 1080p60 whatever refreshrate I choose from display settings (which strangely says 51,52,53,54,55,56 Hz, but not 23.976H,24,25,30,50 and 60Hz).

Am I able to run those commands from XBMC Live or just in Linux? (pardon my noobiness, I'm very familiar with OSX and quite some with Windows, Linux never really has been my thing)
find quote
cejstrup Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
It will fix both.But you need to enter some data about your TV and video card. Also it's an application that you run in a terminal in Linux.
find quote
niog Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Hi
can you please install aeon stark and tell me/us how it works on acer revo? Smile
find quote
cejstrup Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
If you provide me with the size of the TV and these data I can make a modeline and you can give it a go:

HorizSync (minimum and maximum)
VertRefresh (minimum and maximum)

Max pixelclock (you can get this the xorg log file) Smile
find quote
dlmh Offline
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 5
Post: #11
cejstrup Wrote:If you provide me with the size of the TV and these data I can make a modeline and you can give it a go:

HorizSync (minimum and maximum)
VertRefresh (minimum and maximum)

Max pixelclock (you can get this the xorg log file) Smile
Thanks, I will look into it this weekend!

For starters, it's a Samsung 46" LE46A686 LCD-TV, I'll have to check the other specs. Can I do this using Powerstrip in Windows?
find quote
cejstrup Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Yes,I guess you should be able to.I don't know that application so I can't tell you for sure.
I got my info from the xorg log file (max pixelclock, this is a video card parameter) and from the TV manual (horizontal sync,vertical refresh).
find quote
dannybullit Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Sweden
Post: #13
cejstrup Wrote:If you provide me with the size of the TV and these data I can make a modeline and you can give it a go:

HorizSync (minimum and maximum)
VertRefresh (minimum and maximum)

Max pixelclock (you can get this the xorg log file) Smile

Hi! Could you help me out generating a 1080p modeline for my tv?

I have a panasonic TH-42PZ70EA, xbmc can´t detect the edid Sad

Max pixelclock = 165 MHz
HorizSync (minimum and maximum) = 31 - 69 kHz
VertRefresh (minimum and maximum) = 59 - 86 Hz

106 cm (diagonal)
922 mm (S) × 518 mm (H)

My tv handles:
1 125 (1 080) / 60p
1 125 (1 080) / 50p

It should also be able to use 24p.

Thanks!
find quote
cejstrup Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
IMPORTANT: I've had several issues with nvidia drivers and/or xbmc version. So this is my tested and verified combination what works without issues for me:

* xbmc live 9.04
* nvifia drivers 180.44



Your TV will not be able to do 24p ,look at your vertical refresh it's 59-86. So it's similar to my TV which means you can get 1080p@60.

Try my xorg.conf with the above combination of xbmc live and nvidia driver.Your TV has the same data as mine,so can't see why it shouldn't work out.Use the whole section from my conf file :

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "panasonic"
ModelName "Generated by Another Modeline Calculator"
HorizSync 31-69
VertRefresh 59-86
DisplaySize 929 523 # Aspect ratio 1.778:1
# Custom modes
Modeline "1920x1080" 148.5 1920 1980 2028 2200 1080 1084 1089 1125
EndSection # panasonic


Section "Device"
Identifier "nVidia Corporation NV43 [GeForce 6200]"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "TripleBuffer" "True"
Option "Composite" "False"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "nVidia Corporation NV43 [GeForce 6200]"
Option "TVStandard" "HD1080p"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP"
Option "UseEdid" "False"
Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "True"
Option "ModeValidation" "AllowNon60HzDFPModes, NoEdidModes, NoEdidDFPMaxSizeCheck, NoVertRefreshCheck, NoHorizSyncCheck,NoMaxSizeCheck,
NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck, NoEdidMaxPClkCheck"
Monitor "panasonic"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1920x1080"
EndSubSection
EndSection
find quote
dev/x Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
cejstrup Wrote:It will fix both.But you need to enter some data about your TV and video card. Also it's an application that you run in a terminal in Linux.

hi there can you plss help me too?



the television is a panasonic th-42pz 80 and is capble of 1920x1080@60 hz or 24 hz
i have the latest nvidia drivers installed on nvidia gt9600 xfx videocard
nv clock videocard is 700 mhz
memory clock 1000 mhz

i also have tried your program but it wont run in ternimal
not even with sudo parameter.

here are mine logs from xorg:

http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=3598c...f6e8ebb871

many thanx in advance !!!
find quote
Post Reply