[RELEASE] iPlayer - BBC Video and Music Plugin (UK only!)

  Thread Rating:
  • 11 Votes - 4.27 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
pshepherd Offline
Donor
Posts: 41
Joined: May 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #2341
I understand the BBC have recently made a change on their side which means that programme thumbnails now appear as grey reactangles. This was recently reported on the Logitech Squeezebox forum who have a similar add-on for radio programmes, see below:

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread...29/page182

TIA, paul
find quote
usinspain Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #2342
Hello hope you can help me here downloaded BBC IPLAYER most things seem to work Ok except being able to watch live TV I am using WIN7 64 on a laptop been here for about 3 weeks making very slow progress but XBMC looks really good and will do everything I need it to do and also free up a lot of space I use at the moment
find quote
dlake02 Online
Senior Member
Posts: 241
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 5
Post: #2343
(2014-03-26 21:15)pshepherd Wrote:  I understand the BBC have recently made a change on their side which means that programme thumbnails now appear as grey reactangles. This was recently reported on the Logitech Squeezebox forum who have a similar add-on for radio programmes, see below:

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread...29/page182

TIA, paul

http://code.google.com/p/xbmc-iplayerv2/...ail?id=146

Auntie have changed the location of the thumbnails for new programmes. I can see what this needs to be changed to, but it requires more information than just the PID being passed to "get_thumbnail" so there is quite a lot of unpicking to do....
find quote
usinspain Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #2344
Hello everybody I have loaded Iplayer and most thing seem to work on the old programmes but live TV I get nothing I am not in UK but have DNS on my laptop
find quote
sboyle92 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2345
For what it's worth, I also use Get iPlayer Automator. I can grab a programme and it will add the show and thumbnail right to iTunes. Might there be a 'fix' in that code?l
find quote
dlake02 Online
Senior Member
Posts: 241
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 5
Post: #2346
(2014-04-04 16:00)sboyle92 Wrote:  For what it's worth, I also use Get iPlayer Automator. I can grab a programme and it will add the show and thumbnail right to iTunes. Might there be a 'fix' in that code?l

As does get_iplayer.... The difference is that both of those read the thumbnail by sucking the "<media:thumbnail url=" statement directly from the feed.

This plugin grabs all the PIDs and creates a URL based on the old image location just using the PID. Beeb are no longer using the PID alone and you cannot grab the image just by knowing the PID.

What is passed to the get_thumbnail routine at the moment is JUST the PID. So it is not just the called routine that needs to change - the calling routines need to reference the metadata in the feed, not just the PID.

My concern is that parsing this much information will slow the plugin somewhat, but we'll just have to wait-and-see for that.

When I get a couple of free hours (ha !) I'll start taking a look. More than anything, it's bl**dy annoying.
find quote
dlake02 Online
Senior Member
Posts: 241
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 5
Post: #2347
OK - found a way to fix it, but getting intermittent results on one of my systems.

Give me another couple of hours and I should have a fix...
find quote
dlake02 Online
Senior Member
Posts: 241
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 5
Post: #2348
Fixed the grey/silver thumbnail issue. Patches for ./lib/iplayer2.py and ./lib/listparser.py are on the plugin page under issue 146:

http://code.google.com/p/xbmc-iplayerv2/...ail?id=146
find quote
Hitcher Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 10,281
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 80
Location: Eastleigh, UK
Post: #2349
(2014-04-21 07:30)dlake02 Wrote:  Fixed the grey/silver thumbnail issue. Patches for ./lib/iplayer2.py and ./lib/listparser.py are on the plugin page under issue 146:

http://code.google.com/p/xbmc-iplayerv2/...ail?id=146

Thanks for the fix, I've updated iPlayer (v2.5.41) in my repo until exobuzz does it officially.
find quote
Post Reply