XBOX HDD Questions

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
rodercot Offline
Donor
Posts: 796
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 25
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Post: #1
Hey All,

I have a bunch of soft-modded xboxes lying around here and I was going to load them up with current xbmc and give them to family members.

I know one of them has an original drive and the other I installed an 80GB and finally a 320Gb.

Can I install 1TB drives in place of the existing or is there a limit on size.

Thanks,

Dave
find quote
2 Bunny Offline
Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: In my house
Big Grin  WOW Reply
Post: #2
LOL! 320 GIGABYTES?! Are you joking? That is kind of large. I do fine with my 8 gigabyte drive. Just put a 60-70 gigabyte one in there, and you'll be fine for years to come.

- 2 Bunny
find quote
xbs08 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,730
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 7
Location: Portugal
Post: #3
Streaming is your friend, large 1 TB drives on a XBox aren't Big Grin

  • Intel NUC Kit DN2820FYKH
  • Crucial DDR3L SO-DIMM 4GB
  • SanDisk ReadyCache 32GB SSD
  • Microsoft MCE model 1039 RC6 remote
find quote
nicoli_k Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator
Posts: 649
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: USA
Post: #4
Here's the original thread with some answers for you: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=13821 (pay close attention to the 3rd post to avoid corrupting your data)

I've got a softmodded box with a 500GB harddrive in it and love it. Unfortunately, I didn't read about formatting my G: with 32k clusters and lost all the data on that partition once I went over 256GB. I have since reformatted with the right size cluster and it's fixed.

This is a link to the site that I used to find the compatible list: http://xboxdrives.x-pec.com/?p=list&v_br..._postedby= I limited it to 1TB drives for you.

Streaming is nice, but having it on the box is awesome since I can take it to a friend's house and watch stuff or play games without having to worry about carrying a flash drive, DVDs, or any other media.

When posting about a problem please submit a debug log to give you the best chance at getting an answer. It's easy, painless, and helps provide necessary information.
find quote
Bomb Bloke Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 785
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Location: Tasmania (AU)
Post: #5
The limit is 2tb. To go above 750gb, you'll likely need a SATA drive. Many SATA adapters don't seem to work too well, so it's a bit hit-and-miss at that level of capacity.

XBMC Manual - BlackBolt - SVN Guide - Skin SVN - Wide Icon SVN - ROM Shortcut Generator
You're just jealous 'cause the voices only talk to me :P
find quote
Geeba Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,797
Joined: Sep 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #6
Streaming is nice, but having it on the box is awesome since I can take it to a friend's house and watch stuff or play games without having to worry about carrying a flash drive, DVDs, or any other media.

Yep Wink this is always handy.... done a fair few for people for this reason... turn up, plug in and you have a heap of media ready to go...
find quote
rogue21 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
I modded my xbox with the dual HDD trick....

http://www.llamma.com/xbox/Mods/xbox_4_c..._udma_.htm

Got 2x 500gig HDD in the xbox (removed the dvd drive..didnt need it)

1 Terabyte of data in total Smile

Mounted a switch on the back of unit to switch between HDD's. (when the power is off)
find quote