[LINUX] HOW-TO make a minimal install of Ubuntu on Acer Revo ION in under 25 minutes

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 1 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Haggy Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator - Retired
Posts: 881
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Wild southern Germany
Post: #16
As for the stuck x cursor - this can be fixed by disabling the hardware cursor (have a look here: http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=348252&postcount=2).

X being dead after resume points to some driver issue. Can you have a look at your Xorg.0.log or dmesg after resume. You may pastebin it and show it here.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
poserdonut Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
Pete_London Wrote:Had dinner with friends last night and am a hungover little puppy this morning... I'll take in some suggestions and update tonight.

What SFTP client do all you Windows users use? I don't want to make this Mac specific, but it's all I've got to play with here since I commandeered my wife's laptop as a Linux test bed.

Pete

I use WinSCP to transfer files.
find quote
mulder77de Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
I for myself do it like adding an "exit" after the xbmc call. So, if XBMC crashes, the user get logged out and automatically logged in again, so restarting XBMC.

You can even create a startup-script which is run during resume activity, which kills all running XBMC apps (should be one only), so that XBMC gets restarted by default.

Works great for me!
find quote
Hannes The Hun Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,223
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 3
Post: #19
maybe we should also integrate the BIOS settings from here http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=53888

ATM I'm playing around with all the "smoothvideo" stuff and some useful xorg parameters, will post some additional settings when I'm done

OpenElec Standalone --> Asus Chromebox 'Panther' --> Onkyo TX-NR709 --> Sharp Aquos LC-46XD1E
Asus Chromebox EZ Script
find quote
pat1975 Offline
Donor
Posts: 92
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: RT, Southern Germany
Post: #20
@hannes the hun: This is my xorg.conf (thx to haggy) which is running very good on my Zotac ION.
A you can see, I have a Sony LCD TV-set (like haggy :-) )
Perhaps you have to edit these modelines to match your TV.

Code:
root@htpc01:~# cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Section "Device"
  Identifier  "Device0"
  Driver      "nvidia"
  VendorName  "NVIDIA Corporation"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
  Identifier  "Screen0"
  Device      "Device0"
  Monitor     "Monitor0"

  # Fixes issue with modesetting on xbmc
  Option      "ExactModeTimingsDVI"       "True"
  Option      "UseEDIDFreqs"              "False"
  Option      "ModeValidation"            "NoEdidModes, NoMaxPClkCheck, NoEdidMaxPClkCheck, AllowNon60HzDFPModes"

  # Fixes tearing/smoothvideo issues
  Option      "DynamicTwinView"           "False" # disable or you'll get tearing
  Option      "TripleBuffer"              "0" # disable or xbmc will segfault with smoothvideo

  # Misc
  Option      "NoLogo"                    "True"
  Option      "HWcursor"                  "Off"

  DefaultDepth  24
  SubSection "Display"
    Depth       24
    Modes     "1920x1080@50p" "1920x1080@60p" "1920x1080@24p" "1920x1080@59.94i" "1920x1080@59.94p" "1920x1080@60i"
  EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
  # Sony Bravia KDL-40W4000/KDL-40E4000
  Identifier  "Monitor0"

  HorizSync   14.0 - 70.0
  VertRefresh 24.0 - 62.0

  Modeline    "1920x1080@24p"     74.230 1920 2560 2604 2752 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
  Modeline    "1920x1080@50p"    148.500 1920 2448 2492 2640 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
  Modeline    "1920x1080@59.94i"  74.176 1920 1960 2016 2200 1080 1082 1088 1125 +hsync +vsync Interlace
  Modeline    "1920x1080@59.94p" 148.352 1920 1960 2016 2200 1080 1082 1088 1125 +hsync +vsync
  Modeline    "1920x1080@60i"      74.25 1920 1960 2016 2200 1080 1082 1088 1125 +hsync +vsync Interlace
  Modeline    "1920x1080@60p"    148.500 1920 2008 2056 2200 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
  # fixes tearing with vdpau/vsync
  Option      "Composite"           "Disable"
EndSection

Patrick

XBMC 9.11 (SVN 28275) on minimal Ubuntu 9.04
on ZOTAC ION-A (Atom330 / 4GB / 250GB HDD / Atric Switch / Silverstone LC19 Case)
(This post was last modified: 2009-07-02 13:10 by pat1975.)
find quote
Haggy Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator - Retired
Posts: 881
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Wild southern Germany
Post: #21
Those modelines should be brand independent.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Pete_London Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 196
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #22
mulder77de Wrote:I for myself do it like adding an "exit" after the xbmc call. So, if XBMC crashes, the user get logged out and automatically logged in again, so restarting XBMC.

You can even create a startup-script which is run during resume activity, which kills all running XBMC apps (should be one only), so that XBMC gets restarted by default.

Works great for me!

Care to elaborate on adding "exit" after the XBMC call? This would resolve the only issue I'm having which sees XBMC crash to a cursor.

Thanks..

Pete
find quote
Hannes The Hun Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,223
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 3
Post: #23
Haggy Wrote:Those modelines should be brand independent.

well, my sharp aquos can't do "real" 24p so that modeline wouldn't make much sense. are these the modelines that I can choose in the XBMC video hardware settings? also, since the old days when fiddling around with custom xorg.conf files, I'm still very careful when changing the horizontal sync and vertical refresh rates No

as I'm thinking of a reinstall, I'll play around some more with these settings at the weekend. this whole smoothvideo stuff is one of the strongest new features of XBMC, sets it apart from all these popcorn hours Cool
now if we could just get HD-audio passthrough Big Grin

OpenElec Standalone --> Asus Chromebox 'Panther' --> Onkyo TX-NR709 --> Sharp Aquos LC-46XD1E
Asus Chromebox EZ Script
find quote
Haggy Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator - Retired
Posts: 881
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Wild southern Germany
Post: #24
Hannes The Hun Wrote:well, my sharp aquos can't do "real" 24p so that modeline wouldn't make much sense. are these the modelines that I can choose in the XBMC video hardware settings? also, since the old days when fiddling around with custom xorg.conf files, I'm still very careful when changing the horizontal sync and vertical refresh rates No

No problem. As it's all digital these days your tv should just say "invalid mode" or something like that. Fiddling with the values i saw that several times from my sony. If you run these modelines xbmc will pick them accordingly to your files if you enable "adjust refresh rate" in the settings.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
luna_s Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #25
you forgot to add remote install too

Code:
sudo apt-get install lirc

nice guide tho Smile
find quote
poserdonut Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #26
luna_s Wrote:you forgot to add remote install too

Code:
sudo apt-get install lirc

nice guide tho Smile

Is lirc required for all remotes or can XBMC handle some remotes "out of the box"?
find quote
Pete_London Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 196
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #27
My IR MCE remote just works straight out of the box.... I thought I'd mentioned that but will add it if I haven't....

I really don't want this to become a 500 page guide covering things that are extensively covered elsewhere, so it will end up having links to other threads.
find quote
Hannes The Hun Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,223
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 3
Post: #28
yeah, especially all things RC fall into the category "customization", makes absolutely no sense to cover this in a quick install guide. integrate a link and just mention that MCE and xbox remote controls work out of the box, requiring an USB IR dongle of course.

OpenElec Standalone --> Asus Chromebox 'Panther' --> Onkyo TX-NR709 --> Sharp Aquos LC-46XD1E
Asus Chromebox EZ Script
(This post was last modified: 2009-07-02 20:02 by Hannes The Hun.)
find quote
poserdonut Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #29
Pete_London Wrote:My IR MCE remote just works straight out of the box.... I thought I'd mentioned that but will add it if I haven't....

I really don't want this to become a 500 page guide covering things that are extensively covered elsewhere, so it will end up having links to other threads.

Damn, I got home and hooked in my HFX Vista Remote GP and it doesn't work out of the box. Not a single button works actually, so now I'm trying to figure out what's my first step. Smile
find quote
luna_s Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #30
odd i've got a mce remote and it didn't, did after i installed lirc tho Confused
keyboard worked just no remote
probably something i did heh
find quote
Post Reply