[LINUX] HOW-TO make a minimal install of Ubuntu on Acer Revo ION in under 25 minutes

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 1 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
vikjon0 Offline
---
Posts: 2,500
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 8
Location: Sweden
Post: #46
But when you boot, you get the option to install or use Live CD like with UbuntuCD? Or maybe I missunderstand what you mean.

I guess we should move this outside the sticky before someone get upset?
find quote
Hannes The Hun Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,223
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 3
Post: #47
vikjon0 Wrote:B
I guess we should move this outside the sticky before someone get upset?

I really don't think somebody might get upset, but this deserves a dedicated thread as this remastersys thing would allow us to create an Ion-specific XBMC live CD that can be installed, customized, upgraded and backupped without any hassle if I understand this right, and that's some major stuff! Nod

OpenElec Standalone --> Asus Chromebox 'Panther' --> Onkyo TX-NR709 --> Sharp Aquos LC-46XD1E
Asus Chromebox EZ Script
find quote
Pete_London Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 196
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #48
I won't get upset.... and it's my thread....

all jokes aside, I think this would be a very relevant part of the first post. I have made the image this afternoon but have been too tied up with Wimbledon and then Top Gear to test it.... so we'll see what tomorrow morning brings!
find quote
Pete_London Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 196
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #49
OK.. when I 'burn' my iso to SD using:

dd if=image.iso of=/dev/sdb bs=1M

The system can see the SD card in the boot menu, but cannot actually boot to it. This happens when I try it from Linux and also from my Mac. Any ideas?
find quote
vikjon0 Offline
---
Posts: 2,500
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 8
Location: Sweden
Post: #50
I am not good enough with linux to know what you are doing, but it is normally not possible to get a bootable HD or USB by burning an ISO.

I am using the usb creator in Ubuntu 9.04.default. I am guessing you have to apt-get usb-creator. I have no idea how to run it in command line though...
find quote
lefluff Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #51
hexland Wrote:-- how to enable auto mounting of USB flash drives and USB HDD's

I now have a working minimal ubuntu revo many, many thanks for your guide Pete. As mentioned by hexland, the only thing so far that does not seem to work is auto mounting of usb devices - any clues on how to fix that are greatly appreciated!
find quote
vikjon0 Offline
---
Posts: 2,500
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 8
Location: Sweden
Post: #52
Pete,

Today I was re-installing my HTPC from a remastersys iso I built in vmware and I noticed that ssh did not work.
After some trouble I got it to work after re-generating all ssh keys.

In case you get the same problem

Quote:SH1 protocol
ssh-keygen -q -f /etc/ssh/ssh_host_key -N '' -t rsa1

SSH2 protocol
ssh-keygen -f /etc/ssh/ssh_host_rsa_key -N '' -t rsa
ssh-keygen -f /etc/ssh/ssh_host_dsa_key -N '' -t dsa

//J
find quote
Renbad Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #53
Re: Usb auto-mounting

I have no idea if this is the best option, but works fine for me. I'm using a tiny package called usbmount.

Code:
sudo apt-get install usbmount

By default it only supports a few format types, so:
Code:
sudo nano /etc/usbmount/usbmount.conf

Inside the conf file change the filesystems line to:
Code:
FILESYSTEMS="ext2 ext3 vfat"

Save and reboot.

This'll now support windows formated usb drives. HOWEVER, there is a warning that removing your usb drives mid data-writing can and will cause data loss. As long as you don't pull it out whilst files are being written it works fine Smile
find quote
Gamester17 Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator
Posts: 10,523
Joined: Sep 2003
Reputation: 10
Location: Sweden
Post: #54
Why should this thread be a sticky when we have loads of other HOW-TO guides that are not stickys?
http://forum.xbmc.org/tags.php?tag=how-to

Confused

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Haggy Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator - Retired
Posts: 881
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Wild southern Germany
Post: #55
Because it gained 7 pages in 7 days and the talk of the last weeks was definitely ION and how to stick xbmc onto it. I did not receive a con after asking some teammembers, so i sticked it.

If you're not ok with that - why didn't you unstick/move it?

(this goes terribly OT)

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
thecheekymonkey Offline
Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #56
followed your guide to a T

works perfectly, and all me judder probs gone now on 1080p stuff!!!!!!!!!!!!!

IF ONLY SOMEONE COULD COMPILE A LIVE VERSION OF THIS

make it so much easier to install for the revo`s and any other ion based boards.

couple of things to note though.

audio settings for me involved usingg both `hdmi`in the settings.


and i had to install `lirc` to get me remote working.


When i say all my judder problems have gone, the judder is still there, but from being almost unwatchable on some stuff its gone to hardly noticable 99% of the time.



Many many many thanks !!!!!!!!!!!
find quote
Haggy Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator - Retired
Posts: 881
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Wild southern Germany
Post: #57
thecheekymonkey Wrote:audio settings for me involved usingg both `hdmi`in the settings.

This should be updated on the first post/page. Again: Using plughw:0,3 is not guaranteed to work on your box. Your hdmi may be another subdevice, so using the alias "hdmi" is a much safer setting:

Code:
Default output device: plug:hdmi
Passthrough device: hdmi

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
pumkinut Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 974
Joined: May 2006
Reputation: 9
Post: #58
I used this guide for my mini-ITX install and it worked very well. One question though, unlike the Live install, there's no EventClients folder that I can find; is it just not created? I did find the xbmc-* commands in /usr/bin, but on the Live version there's a /home/xbmc/EventClients (I think that's the path) folder housing all of the python scripts. I spent a bunch of time looking for the ps3d.py script in hopes of using it to get my PS3 BD remote to work. I eventually gave up and downloaded the script by itself.

Aside from that, it's a very nice process, thanks to the OP for posting.
find quote
pumkinut Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 974
Joined: May 2006
Reputation: 9
Post: #59
Okay, I have to revise my statement. I cannot get any audio over HDMI. I've tried the plughw:hdmi setting and all I get when I go to play a file is an information popup stating that my audio device could not be initialized. I'm going to try the plughw:0,3 option. Is there a way to tell which subdevice has which number?
find quote
Haggy Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator - Retired
Posts: 881
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Wild southern Germany
Post: #60
aplay -L

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Post Reply