[LINUX] HOW-TO make a minimal install of Ubuntu on Acer Revo ION in under 25 minutes

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 1 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Tainted Offline
Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #31
Pete_London Wrote:2. Add the right repositories to the sources list:
Code:
sudo nano /etc/sources.list

Correction to above typo. It should read

Code:
sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list

Just recieved the following error following the guide.

Code:
root@htpc:~# apt-get install xbmc-scripts
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Couldn't find package xbmc-scripts
root@htpc:~#

Anyone else get this problem? The soruces are there when I run apt-get

Code:
Hit http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com jaunty-updates/universe Packages
Hit http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com jaunty-updates/universe Sources
Hit http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com jaunty-updates/multiverse Packages
Hit http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com jaunty-updates/multiverse Sources
Reading package lists... Done
(This post was last modified: 2009-07-03 01:06 by Tainted.)
find quote
hexland Offline
Member
Posts: 62
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 0
Location: Los Angeles
Post: #32
Check msg's #5 and #6
find quote
Tainted Offline
Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #33
hexland Wrote:Check msg's #5 and #6


Ahh cheers.. should have read the whole thread before commenting.
find quote
poserdonut Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #34
poserdonut Wrote:Damn, I got home and hooked in my HFX Vista Remote GP and it doesn't work out of the box. Not a single button works actually, so now I'm trying to figure out what's my first step. Smile

I installed lirc and now it works. Could need some button remapping but that's just for my personal taste.
find quote
xoxox Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #35
Thx for your work.

With XBMC Live on the revo, the fans runs at top speed. Is there any difference in this minimal Ubuntu? (i think no, but hope dies last)
find quote
Pete_London Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 196
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #36
My fans don't audibly run with this install or the Live version..... check your BIOS settings...
find quote
Pete_London Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 196
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #37
I've posted the typo fixes and a few bits about memory.... keep the suggestions coming..

Pete
find quote
burgemaster Offline
Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #38
Pete do your menu sounds work?
Can you turn on the Revo somehow from the remote?
Can it hibernate on its own and then be brought awake again with remote?

Thanks mate Smile
find quote
Hannes The Hun Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,223
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 3
Post: #39
burgemaster Wrote:Pete do your menu sounds work?
Can you turn on the Revo somehow from the remote?
Can it hibernate on its own and then be brought awake again with remote?

I'm not pete but I have a revo

a) no XBMC sounds via HDMI. problem was adressed before, somebody claimed to get them working via a customized asound.rc but never tried that out
b) when it's completely shut down, no way
c) standby and wakeup works with my dinovo mini BT remote, using the provided dongle and no special lirc stuff or anything else. even the media keys work now Laugh

OpenElec Standalone --> Asus Chromebox 'Panther' --> Onkyo TX-NR709 --> Sharp Aquos LC-46XD1E
Asus Chromebox EZ Script
find quote
poserdonut Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #40
pat1975 Wrote:@hannes the hun: This is my xorg.conf (thx to haggy) which is running very good on my Zotac ION.
A you can see, I have a Sony LCD TV-set (like haggy :-) )
Perhaps you have to edit these modelines to match your TV.

Code:
root@htpc01:~# cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Section "Device"
  Identifier  "Device0"
  Driver      "nvidia"
  VendorName  "NVIDIA Corporation"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
  Identifier  "Screen0"
  Device      "Device0"
  Monitor     "Monitor0"

  # Fixes issue with modesetting on xbmc
  Option      "ExactModeTimingsDVI"       "True"
  Option      "UseEDIDFreqs"              "False"
  Option      "ModeValidation"            "NoEdidModes, NoMaxPClkCheck, NoEdidMaxPClkCheck, AllowNon60HzDFPModes"

  # Fixes tearing/smoothvideo issues
  Option      "DynamicTwinView"           "False" # disable or you'll get tearing
  Option      "TripleBuffer"              "0" # disable or xbmc will segfault with smoothvideo

  # Misc
  Option      "NoLogo"                    "True"
  Option      "HWcursor"                  "Off"

  DefaultDepth  24
  SubSection "Display"
    Depth       24
    Modes     "1920x1080@50p" "1920x1080@60p" "1920x1080@24p" "1920x1080@59.94i" "1920x1080@59.94p" "1920x1080@60i"
  EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
  # Sony Bravia KDL-40W4000/KDL-40E4000
  Identifier  "Monitor0"

  HorizSync   14.0 - 70.0
  VertRefresh 24.0 - 62.0

  Modeline    "1920x1080@24p"     74.230 1920 2560 2604 2752 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
  Modeline    "1920x1080@50p"    148.500 1920 2448 2492 2640 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
  Modeline    "1920x1080@59.94i"  74.176 1920 1960 2016 2200 1080 1082 1088 1125 +hsync +vsync Interlace
  Modeline    "1920x1080@59.94p" 148.352 1920 1960 2016 2200 1080 1082 1088 1125 +hsync +vsync
  Modeline    "1920x1080@60i"      74.25 1920 1960 2016 2200 1080 1082 1088 1125 +hsync +vsync Interlace
  Modeline    "1920x1080@60p"    148.500 1920 2008 2056 2200 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
  # fixes tearing with vdpau/vsync
  Option      "Composite"           "Disable"
EndSection

Patrick

I copied these settings and that got me 24hz on my sharp x20. However I watched a 720 mkv movie and there were occasions of stuttering. I wasn't in high bitrate sequences and the cpu load was fine, could this be because I didn't have sync audio to display activated?
find quote
Pete_London Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 196
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #41
I'm going to be playing with my Revo quite a bit today unless it gets really sunny so will be looking at some issues raised.

Another thing I'm going to look at doing is making a backup onto an SD card in case the whole thing goes wonky. This will probably be as simple as booting from an Ubuntu Live CD or USB key and issuing a 'dd if of' command.

Pete
find quote
vikjon0 Offline
---
Posts: 2,502
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 8
Location: Sweden
Post: #42
Quote:Another thing I'm going to look at doing is making a backup onto an SD card in case the whole thing goes wonky

Maybe you want to use something like this?:

http://www.geekconnection.org/remastersys/index.html

add source
sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list
deb http://www.geekconnection.org/remastersys/repository ubuntu/

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install remastersys
find quote
Pete_London Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 196
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #43
If that can work from the command line and can see the Revo's hard drive in install mode, then it's exactly what I'm looking for....

Pete
find quote
vikjon0 Offline
---
Posts: 2,502
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 8
Location: Sweden
Post: #44
I beleive you can.

http://www.geekconnection.org/remastersys/ubuntu.html

Quote: At the command line, you simply run "sudo remastersys backup" to make a full system backup, or "sudo su" to become root and then run "remastersys dist" to make a distributable copy to share with friends.


I is a great tool, it is not only backup, you can create a liveCD or distro as well.
I got stuck on Live USB persistence, but at least part of that problem was due to a bug in Ubuntu 8.0.4.2 /Casper that is fixed in 8.0.4.3.
find quote
Pete_London Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 196
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #45
I've had it make a bootable image of the drive... but really want it to make a boot menu with an install option..... it says it can but I haven't worked it out yet.
find quote
Post Reply