Zotac Ion Board and Infrared repeater
Hi All,
I have an infrared repeater in my current home theater setup running through a xantech repeater block. The repeater has 4 ports that will take both little IR emmiters (with a 3.5 mini jack at one end and a red emitter at the other) and what looks to be a plain 3.5 mini jack pass through cable (mini jack at both ends). One of the 2 ended minijacks goes into my Yamaha amp and it gets its IR signal from that (its great).

My question is can I setup the Zotac ion board to also accept one of these 2 ended mini jacks (maybe into a mic or sound in) to control it via a remote control or do I need to get a separate IR reciever for the board.

I am new to linux, and while I have read up on LIRC I have not figured out if this is something I could do.

Cheers,
Iain

P.S. I have been using XBMC since it was Xbox Media Player on my xbox and I am currently enjoying it on my appleTV. I genuinely believe that XBMC is the very best media solution on the market bar none. All of the developers have done a fantastic job on a wonderful product. ThankyouBig Grin
no. won't work.
you'll need an ir-receiver.
http://www.xbmcnerds.com - german xbmc community
Winkie Wrote:Hi All,
My question is can I setup the Zotac ion board to also accept one of these 2 ended mini jacks (maybe into a mic or sound in) to control it via a remote control or do I need to get a separate IR reciever for the board.

this might be possible, but certainly not easy if you are not comfortable around a soldering iron and breadboard. there are multiple designs on the lirc website http://www.lirc.org for building your own sound card receiver.

also, i found this link on the lirc site about creating a sound card input using the cd in pin-header on the mobo:

http://www.mediaboxblog.co.uk/blog1.php/...r-for-lirc

good luck.
Thanks for the advice - looks like I am IR -receiver hunting.
Cheers,
Iain