Linux - HOW-TO setup XBMC and Linux with correct resolution (xorg.conf)

  Thread Rating:
  • 6 Votes - 4.17 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Finchy Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #151
Hi Universal

I've tried the changes you've said (in the order you explained it) but I'm still just getting a black screen when it loads up XBMCbuntu, so it's not liking it. I've reset it back to the original xorg file again for the time being.

I've followed the instructions for the Nvidia drivers as well. It said I already have the latest, but hopefully installing those reps will keep it updated easier in the future.

Any ideas what to try next?

Thanks
find quote
Finchy Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #152
Ah, maybe not! I changed the xorg file back to the original one and now it's given me the 1080i option in XBMC! Looks like it has worked (just not sure how!)

Thank you! Smile
find quote
uNiversal Offline
Out of Memory
Posts: 5,379
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 135
Location: Binary pulsar
Post: #153
Welcome, I suppose, +1

uNi
find quote
Finchy Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #154
Hmmm, or perhaps I was too hasty! I switched it on last night and it was back to a black screen! Sad I'll have ot have another look tonight!
(This post was last modified: 2012-11-05 21:57 by Finchy.)
find quote
uNiversal Offline
Out of Memory
Posts: 5,379
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 135
Location: Binary pulsar
Post: #155
@ The BoxHead

I would like to add this information + link to this forum as a discussion to the wiki. This helped me understand how to construct/understand modelines form the xorg.0.log.

Could you please update the first post to update the instructions a little bit and instead of using stop xbmc-live use perhaps pkill x?

Thank you in advance.
find quote
Vertigo Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 7
Post: #156
I am having trouble when I switch the TV off or switch inputs, that my XBMC ubuntu box will run 640x480 and only display the upper left part of the screen until I reboot.

As a quick and dirty workaround, im running a little script that forces HD res every 5s. It doesnt cause any flickering or anything if the correct resolution is already set:
Code:
#!/bin/bash
while true; do
echo changing res
xrandr -display :0.0 --output DFP2 --mode 1920x1080
sleep 5
done

ITs not an elegant solution, but it works for me, so I thought it might help some, although you will have to change the DFP2 to whatever xrandr reports as your TV. You can find out by just running
xrandr -display :0.0
This also works over SSH btw.
(This post was last modified: 2012-12-28 01:59 by Vertigo.)
find quote
The-Boxhead Offline
Donor
Posts: 958
Joined: May 2005
Reputation: 17
Location: Norway
Post: #157
(2012-11-20 15:16)uNiversal Wrote:  @ The BoxHead

I would like to add this information + link to this forum as a discussion to the wiki. This helped me understand how to construct/understand modelines form the xorg.0.log.

Could you please update the first post to update the instructions a little bit and instead of using stop xbmc-live use perhaps pkill x?

Thank you in advance.

Sorry for beein slow to respond to this uNiversal.

I am a bit rusty at what exactly you want me to change from/to what. If you could just snip the lines you want to change and what you would like it to be exactly i will change the original post, no problems Smile

PointOfView Nvidia ION Atom 330 - TRANSCEND 2GB DDR2 DIMM 800MHz - G.SKILL 64GB SSD 2.5
Open Elec Beta4 1.95.4
XBMC Online Manual - HOW-TO post about a problem in a useful manner - Create/View Bug Report
Setup/Fix correct resolution on XBMC/Ubuntu - Usefull linux terminal commands
find quote
uNiversal Offline
Out of Memory
Posts: 5,379
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 135
Location: Binary pulsar
Post: #158
@Boxhead

see pm with contents of first post updated

Also the wiki info is in W.I.P. but you can see it at its temporary page until I have time to finish and improve it.

uNi
find quote
MrGibbage Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Feb 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #159
I am trying to make my xorg.conf file, but I am stuck. I have Ubuntu 12.10 and the latest xbmc (not xbmc-live)
I have xbmc start automatically and to auto login with my xbmc user
I click logout.
At the login screen I press ctrl-alt-F1
login
$sudo -s
# /etc/init.d/gdm stop
bash: /etc/init.d/gdm: no such file or directory
(oh, I think I use lightdm instead)
# service lightdm stop
lightdm stop/waiting
#X -configure
--snip--
Number of created screens does not match number of detected devices.
Configuration failed.
Server terminated with error (2). Closing log file.

I think I am using an intel video card. I just have an intel 1155 CPU with no external video card installed. I am not sure what ubuntu thinks it is, if that is important.
find quote
selectany Offline
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Bulgaria
Post: #160
Hello

The following I have constructed using http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=User:UNiversal for my Philips TV:
Code:
ModeLine "1920x1080_60" 148.50 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync ( ? )
ModeLine "1920x1080_50" 148.50 1920 2448 2492 2640 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
ModeLine "1920x1080_24" 74.25 1920 2558 2602 2750 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync ( contradict )
ModeLine "1920x1080_50i" 74.25 1920 2448 2492 2640 1080 1084 1094 1124 +hsync +vsync Interlace
ModeLine "1920x1080_60i" 74.25 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1094 1124 +hsync +vsync Interlace
ModeLine "1920x1080_50" 148.50 1920 2448 2492 2640 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync ( ? )
ModeLine "1920x1080_60" 148.35 2052 2200 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
ModeLine "1920x1080_24" 74.16 1920 2558 2602 2750 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync ( contradict )
ModeLine "1920x1080_25" 74.25 1920 2448 2492 2640 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync ( contradict )
ModeLine "1920x1080_30" 74.18 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync ( contradict )
ModeLine "1920x1080_50i" 74.25 1920 2448 2492 2640 1080 1084 1094 1124 +hsync +vsync Interlace
ModeLine "1920x1080_60i" 74.18 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1094 1124 +hsync +vsync Interlace

All these modes are marked as valid in xlog.txt.

I have a couple of questions:
1) Do I really need all of these modes?

2) Modes marked at the end of line with "contradict" are taken (for example) from:
Code:
Validating Mode "1920x1080":
(II) NVIDIA(GPU-0):     1920 x 1080 @ 24 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(GPU-0):     Mode Source: EDID
(II) NVIDIA(GPU-0):       Pixel Clock      : 74.25 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(GPU-0):       HRes, HSyncStart : 1920, 2558
(II) NVIDIA(GPU-0):       HSyncEnd, HTotal : 2602, 2750
(II) NVIDIA(GPU-0):       VRes, VSyncStart : 1080, 1084
(II) NVIDIA(GPU-0):       VSyncEnd, VTotal : 1089, 1125
(II) NVIDIA(GPU-0):       H/V Polarity     : +/+
(WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0): The EDID for Philips FTV (DFP-1) contradicts itself: mode       <!---- HERE -->
(WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0):     "1920x1080" is specified in the EDID; however, the EDID's
(WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0):     valid VertRefresh range (48.000-62.000 Hz) would exclude
(WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0):     this mode's VertRefresh (24.0 Hz); ignoring VertRefresh
(WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0):     check for mode "1920x1080".
(II) NVIDIA(GPU-0):     Viewport                 1920x1080+415+22
(II) NVIDIA(GPU-0):       Horizontal Taps        0
(II) NVIDIA(GPU-0):       Vertical Taps          0
(II) NVIDIA(GPU-0):       Base SuperSample       x4
(II) NVIDIA(GPU-0):       Base Depth             32
(II) NVIDIA(GPU-0):       Distributed Rendering  1
(II) NVIDIA(GPU-0):       Overlay Depth          32
(II) NVIDIA(GPU-0):     Mode is valid.
Is that means that cannot use such kind of modes, although they are marked as valid.

3) Why I got 2 identical modes marked at the end of line with a "?"

4) How to achieve 23.976 playback using this method. My X does not report such kind of mode in xlog.txt

I'm running XBMC under Archlinux.
(This post was last modified: 2013-01-14 15:38 by selectany.)
find quote
uNiversal Offline
Out of Memory
Posts: 5,379
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 135
Location: Binary pulsar
Post: #161
You would probably need 50/60/24p/23.976p modelines only see my last link on sig for 23.976 and 24p modelines on crack i.e. closest match possible.

uNi
find quote
MrGibbage Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Feb 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #162
I have done a little digging, and I have seen that I don't have to generate an xorg.conf file. Supposedly, I can just edit one and save it in the right place, and all should be good. I was under the impression that I needed a specific xorg.conf file that was unique for my hardware.

I am trying to have my system set up such that if the computer reboots while my receiver/tv is turned off, X will still start at the correct resolution for my tv. What should I put in my xorg.conf to ensure X can boot without a monitor attached and turned on?

(2013-01-13 20:27)MrGibbage Wrote:  I am trying to make my xorg.conf file, but I am stuck. I have Ubuntu 12.10 and the latest xbmc (not xbmc-live)
I have xbmc start automatically and to auto login with my xbmc user
I click logout.
At the login screen I press ctrl-alt-F1
login
$sudo -s
# /etc/init.d/gdm stop
bash: /etc/init.d/gdm: no such file or directory
(oh, I think I use lightdm instead)
# service lightdm stop
lightdm stop/waiting
#X -configure
--snip--
Number of created screens does not match number of detected devices.
Configuration failed.
Server terminated with error (2). Closing log file.

I think I am using an intel video card. I just have an intel 1155 CPU with no external video card installed. I am not sure what ubuntu thinks it is, if that is important.
find quote
uNiversal Offline
Out of Memory
Posts: 5,379
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 135
Location: Binary pulsar
Post: #163
@MrGibbage

No idea about intel or how to create one for intel I suppose same tools can be used, idk or have interest in finding out.

but you need edid.bin see a WIP post on my wiki userpage http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=User:UNiversal

Again I cant help you on anything related to intel or adapting it for you.

uNi
find quote
kirktsao Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #164
Got it. I met this problem.
find quote
DaSingh Offline
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Aug 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #165
@uNiversal I wondering if you could help iv been trying to resolve an issue im having with my asrock 330ht for some reason I cant get it to display the gui at 60hz only 30.3hz I tried modifying the xorg.conf but then I could only select 1024x768 at 80hz I just cant get my head around how to resolve this iv not got any linux experience.

The asrock goes through my avr to my projecting using hdmi baluns. If I connect the asrock directly to the projector without the baluns it works fine.
find quote
Post Reply