Unable to use LAN or WLAN
Sad 
Hello everyone, my first post

Yesterday I took delivery of a Acer REVO and successfully managed to install XBMC from a usb stick.

The problems I have are

i.)
When I plug in a LAN cable nothing happens.
ii.)
The WLAN appears disabled.

I must stress I am not a LINUX expert.

Please help if you can; its so frustrating, when I originally opened the box and set the thing up using the ACER REVO software I was able to get on line using wireless lan.

Thanking you all

SimonSad
welcome!

for wireless, this is my bible.
for ethernet, the comands you need are "ifconfig" and "dhclient" basically.
but "dmesg" should say something: compare the output before and after plugging in the cable. If it says nothing, you have a hardware problem or a bad cable/network.
the place where network configuration are stored is /etc/network/interfaces (although that file may be overwritten by some other app...)

This should suffice to get you started in the right direction & study for some time Big Grin
rickx Wrote:welcome!

for wireless, this is my bible.
for ethernet, the comands you need are "ifconfig" and "dhclient" basically.
but "dmesg" should say something: compare the output before and after plugging in the cable. If it says nothing, you have a hardware problem or a bad cable/network.
the place where network configuration are stored is /etc/network/interfaces (although that file may be overwritten by some other app...)

This should suffice to get you started in the right direction & study for some time Big Grin

Thank you very much for the warm welcome Rickx.

Problem i.) is solved, rather embarassingly :o too; I plugged the ethernet cable in before turning the box on and it found and the router assigned an ip address straight away, I am on line and now Big Grin.

One question, how do I get to a prompt to type in these commands? I guess I really need to read up on LInux basics eh?

Problem ii.) wireless, I will read the article and have a go.