Custom Tags in NFO file
I'm new to this stuff but I'm trying to learn with the idea that one day I might create my own skin so please be gentle...

I have what is probably a very basic question regarding tagging in the NFO file. I would like to create some custom tags which I can then access in the Includes_MediaFlags.xml file, I had thought this would be fairly simple but I think I am missing a vital piece of info.

Take the following example:

Code:
<control type="image" id="81">
    <include>Furniture_ShowcaseMediaFlagsVars</include>
    <texture>flags/20thcenturyfox.png</texture>
    <visible>substring(listitem.studio,Fox)</visible>
</control>

Here we are listening for a substring of "Fox" and setting the flag/20thcenturyfox.png What if I wanted to listen to a different tag in my NFO file (i.e. <yoda></yoda>) for the substring, I thought it would be as easy as the following.

Code:
    <visible>substring(listitem.yoda,Fox)</visible>
</control>

However, this doesn't work so I now assume that there is another file somewhere that defines the tags source in the NFO file that are used here but I don't seem to be able to find them.

Could someone please point me in the right direction or tell me that this is not possible, needs a code mod etc... been tearing my hair out for a while!

Cheers
Jason
omega750 Wrote:I'm new to this stuff but I'm trying to learn with the idea that one day I might create my own skin so please be gentle...

I have what is probably a very basic question regarding tagging in the NFO file. I would like to create some custom tags which I can then access in the Includes_MediaFlags.xml file, I had thought this would be fairly simple but I think I am missing a vital piece of info.

Take the following example:

Code:
    <visible>substring(listitem.studio,Fox)</visible>
</control>