resume from windows stays in picture

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
kees667 Offline
Fan
Posts: 713
Joined: Oct 2004
Reputation: 6
Post: #1
If I select a movie I havent finished before XBMC will ask me if I want to start over from beginning or resume from e.g. 5:16.

If I select resume, this window will dissapear, playback will start, and then the screen will reappear again. I can then click resume again which will cause the window to dissapear, and it will not make it resume again (video playback is unaffected).

mediastream v1.00 skin on may '09 stable xbmc
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,181
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 176
Post: #2
You're running Linux and are using LIRC. It's a remote problem that only appears to effect LIRC - it's sending two click messages, which you'll see from the log.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
kees667 Offline
Fan
Posts: 713
Joined: Oct 2004
Reputation: 6
Post: #3
Thanks. I'll take your word on that. Is there any way around this, or just something to live with?

jmarshall Wrote:You're running Linux and are using LIRC. It's a remote problem that only appears to effect LIRC - it's sending two click messages, which you'll see from the log.
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,181
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 176
Post: #4
The way around it is for someone with developer knowledge to reproduce this and then fix it.

This bug has been in existence for at least 6 months, likely much longer than that. Clearly none of the linux-based developers either have the problem or don't consider it something that's a priority. Perhaps you could help by checking on the trac ticket and specifying exactly how you reproduce this, what hardware, software (LIRC version) you use, and what configuration of that software you use. Make it easy for a developer to reproduce (if necessary by helping supply hardware) and I'm sure someone will take the time to get it fixed.

Cheers,
Jonathan

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
vajonam Offline
Donor
Posts: 353
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Toronto, Canada
Post: #5
I had this problem when I was using a Universal Remote (Harmony) instead of the Remote that came with the receiver.

I have since switched from using the RealMagic Remote control, to a XBOX DVD Dongle modded to a USB. The Logitech harmony works well with this and doesn't send multiple events.

Also you will notice when using a "irw" you will see atleast 4 events get passed to XBMC so likely its going do a couple of things extra!
find quote
kees667 Offline
Fan
Posts: 713
Joined: Oct 2004
Reputation: 6
Post: #6
I'l look it up, thanks.

jmarshall Wrote:The way around it is for someone with developer knowledge to reproduce this and then fix it.

This bug has been in existence for at least 6 months, likely much longer than that. Clearly none of the linux-based developers either have the problem or don't consider it something that's a priority. Perhaps you could help by checking on the trac ticket and specifying exactly how you reproduce this, what hardware, software (LIRC version) you use, and what configuration of that software you use. Make it easy for a developer to reproduce (if necessary by helping supply hardware) and I'm sure someone will take the time to get it fixed.

Cheers,
Jonathan
find quote
olympia Offline
Team-XBMC Member
Posts: 2,495
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 32
Post: #7
Here is the ticket for a reference:
http://trac.xbmc.org/ticket/6440
find quote
kees667 Offline
Fan
Posts: 713
Joined: Oct 2004
Reputation: 6
Post: #8
How do I see my lirc version, I just installed it last week, but dont know how to check the version?
find quote
olympia Offline
Team-XBMC Member
Posts: 2,495
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 32
Post: #9
Check if this helps:

http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=399...stcount=22
find quote
kees667 Offline
Fan
Posts: 713
Joined: Oct 2004
Reputation: 6
Post: #10
Rather late response but the instructions in your link worked! Good to know for anyone stumbling across this topic.
find quote