User experiences so far with the dx builds of xbmc - share them here..

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
paul Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,769
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 5
Location: Planet Earth
Post: #16
azido Wrote:thank you.. are you using a 2 display solution or just only tv attached?

i might get myself an nvidia card again. they're cheap these days.
I am only using my samsung TV at the moment but i do have a second monitor 20" HP but i found it a real pig to set up i will try the new build with it and see how it works,
The only problem i did have was i did not have the D3DX9_41.dll but i soon found that on the internet and all has been fine since, thanks to kricker for his fine buildsSmile

XBMC Frodo 12 - Windows 7 - Asrock Ion 330HT - Aeon Nox
find quote
nutski Offline
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Nov 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
Hey azido, at the weekend i'll find up my cables and test using my tv and another monitor as a secondary display, i should have a long enough vga cable and an hdmi cable so i can test both and report back for you, also swapping back graphics cards with my brother so i'll test it all again with an ATI 3870 X2 instead of the 8800 GTS
find quote
sergiocos Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 803
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 5
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Post: #18
1st display: monitor LCD LG wide
2nd display: LCD TV Samsung
video card: nVidia 8800 GT Leadtek
The TV is in another room, but thanks to 10m HDMI cable and 8m infrared cable I'm fan-noise-free and i can control my computer (xbmc) flawlessly.

I managed the displays using UltraMon (2 profiles, monitor/tv and when i hit ctrl+alt+1 i switch from one profile to another)

DX builds are way faster than -gl ones, smoother and nicer video playback, but i still use the extrernal player (MPc-HC + coreavc+reclock=pixel perfect Big Grin )

Regarding the resolution of the LCD TV, i use the nVidia resize tool to get the perfect-fit desktop (1202x670), and then save it as a profile in ultramon (1280x720 60hz seems to be cropped on my tv).

Latest 2 -dx builds seems broken, the taskbar won't go away on FS...
(This post was last modified: 2009-09-10 19:32 by sergiocos.)
find quote
althekiller Offline
Retired Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 5,002
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 12
Post: #19
sergiocos Wrote:but i still use the extrernal player (MPc-HC + coreavc+reclock=pixel perfect Big Grin )

I'm glad I wasn't drinking anything when I read that.
find quote
azido Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,880
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 1
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Post: #20
althekiller Wrote:I'm glad I wasn't drinking anything when I read that.

lol Laugh

cheers,azido :;):
find quote
azido Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,880
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 1
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Post: #21
nutski Wrote:Hey azido, at the weekend i'll find up my cables and test using my tv and another monitor as a secondary display, i should have a long enough vga cable and an hdmi cable so i can test both and report back for you, also swapping back graphics cards with my brother so i'll test it all again with an ATI 3870 X2 instead of the 8800 GTS

woohoo.. glad you spend that much attention for testing, thanks Smile dunno if it's worth that much action right now, but i'll surely won't stop you from doing that Tongue

cheers,azido :;):
find quote
azido Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,880
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 1
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Post: #22
paul Wrote:The only problem i did have was i did not have the D3DX9_41.dll but i soon found that on the internet and all has been fine since, thanks to kricker for his fine buildsSmile

yeah you get that on startup if you don't install dx 9.0c before. i wonder if anything more than this dll is needed for it to work, so one won't need to install the complete stuff. we'll see once it's running stable enough, though.

cheers,azido :;):
find quote
dpassent Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #23
u just need that dll in system32. prolly it's fine to put it just to xbmc dir. i put it to system32 and it worked
find quote
dj_gerbil Offline
Fan
Posts: 544
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 10
Location: Cambridgeshire
Post: #24
I put it in the XBMC folder and it worked there to. If i remember rightly that's the way windows works, it looks in the app folder first, then the system folder.

The new home for TVCatchup's XBMC plugin is in the Official TVCatchup Repository. Download it Here
If you're having trouble with any of the TVCatchup Plugins please visit here and submit your log to help us fix it.
find quote
CrashX Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,164
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #25
That is correct except that DLL is part of directx .. hence it should be in windows system 32 folder with all other directx files ..

The normal XBMC log IS NOT a debug log, to enable debug logging you must toggle it on under XBMC Settings - System or in advancedsettings.xml. Use XBMC Debug Log Addon to retrieve it.
find quote
ashlar Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,114
Joined: Mar 2006
Reputation: 27
Post: #26
althekiller Wrote:I'm glad I wasn't drinking anything when I read that.
Do I miss a joke? Confused
find quote
zoing Offline
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Austria
Post: #27
As I post in this thread http://www.xbmc.org/forum/showthread.php?t=38585&page=8 I have a problem with the XBOX IR and the new directx build.
Has there anything changed?
thanks
find quote
Derek Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Scotland
Post: #28
ashlar Wrote:Do I miss a joke? Confused

yeah you did, guy said the new DX XBMC is so good that he still uses an external player Big Grin
find quote
althekiller Offline
Retired Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 5,002
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 12
Post: #29
Actually I was laughing at his "math" equation for "pixel perfect" video. All of the addends contribute artifacts to the sum. Far from "pixel perfect."
find quote
nutski Offline
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Nov 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #30
azido Wrote:woohoo.. glad you spend that much attention for testing, thanks Smile dunno if it's worth that much action right now, but i'll surely won't stop you from doing that Tongue

Girlfriend is working most of the weekend so i'll get to play with xbmc on my main pc and media center for quite a while!

I've been getting a few crashes when playing videos but i'll update my drivers and try it on my server too, i know it still early in development but thats when i like to start playing Smile
find quote
Post Reply