Port XBMC for Linux to run on the ASUS O!Play (O'Play / OPlay) media player hardware?

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 2.5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
CrashX Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,164
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #16
Here is optware support for wdtv ... http://b-rad.cc/optware-for-wdtv ... It should work for asus as well I think ..

The normal XBMC log IS NOT a debug log, to enable debug logging you must toggle it on under XBMC Settings - System or in advancedsettings.xml. Use XBMC Debug Log Addon to retrieve it.
find quote
CrashX Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,164
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #17
Newegg has it for $99US with free hdmi cable ..

The normal XBMC log IS NOT a debug log, to enable debug logging you must toggle it on under XBMC Settings - System or in advancedsettings.xml. Use XBMC Debug Log Addon to retrieve it.
find quote
hijack204 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
CrashX Wrote:Here is optware support for wdtv ... http://b-rad.cc/optware-for-wdtv ... It should work for asus as well I think ..

Nah not that easy...

I'll have to play around.
find quote
CrashX Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,164
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #19
This is another media player that has the same chipset and memory as ASUS ... Shows how to hack it to support your own plugins ..

http://www.acryan.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=43&t=1442

The normal XBMC log IS NOT a debug log, to enable debug logging you must toggle it on under XBMC Settings - System or in advancedsettings.xml. Use XBMC Debug Log Addon to retrieve it.
find quote
Madwhack Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
Hey guys I've been watching this thread for a while. I just received my O!Play and I'm looking forward to see what you all think we can do with this device.

If you guys need any help with anything let me know but I must say compared to you guys I'm pretty tech incompetent. I only understand about 1 out of 5 posts in this thread Wink

I'm also looking for more resources or forums on the O!play. If anyone has anything feel free to share, google's bullion logic makes it quite hard to find much on the O!play (it was hard enough finding this thread!).

Cheers!
find quote
CrashX Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,164
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #21
Fry's Store has ASUS O!Play - TV HD Media Player for $89.99.

The normal XBMC log IS NOT a debug log, to enable debug logging you must toggle it on under XBMC Settings - System or in advancedsettings.xml. Use XBMC Debug Log Addon to retrieve it.
find quote
Koenradus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #22
Hi guys,

I just found this thread been looking for something like this for ages. I would like to offer any help I can give on getting XBMC working on O!Play. I'm a fairly advanced Linux user and owner of the O!Play so any testing questions can be submitted and I will try to answer as fast and complete as possible.

Observations so far (using ACRyan topic as guideline to confirm O!Play compatibility)
  • Filesystem is mounted read only, but the folder /usr/local/etc is mounted read-write and contains a rcS with gets executed on startup.
  • By adding stuff to this rcS you can get it to boot at startup. Even stuff you put on an external flash drive (have to utilize a sleep to allow for mounting)
  • Custom apps (I have FTP up and running for instance) can now be run from external flash drive on startup.

Ok, that's it for now. Any more you'd like me to test / share?
(This post was last modified: 2009-10-10 15:20 by Koenradus.)
find quote
hijack204 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #23
Koenradus Wrote:Hi guys,

I just found this thread been looking for something like this for ages. I would like to offer any help I can give on getting XBMC working on O!Play. I'm a fairly advanced Linux user and owner of the O!Play so any testing questions can be submitted and I will try to answer as fast and complete as possible.

Observations so far (using ACRyan topic as guideline to confirm O!Play compatibility)
  • Filesystem is mounted read only, but the folder /usr/local/etc is mounted read-write and contains a rcS with gets executed on startup.
  • By adding stuff to this rcS you can get it to boot at startup. Even stuff you put on an external flash drive (have to utilize a sleep to allow for mounting)
  • Custom apps (I have FTP up and running for instance) can now be run from external flash drive on startup.

Ok, that's it for now. Any more you'd like me to test / share?

Filesystem is mounted read only but I had no problems remounting

mount -n -o remount,rw /
find quote
Koenradus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
Very nice. But have you been able to run further commands? Say dpkg or use a newer version of BusyBox with more commands?
find quote
CrashX Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,164
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #25
Koenradus Wrote:Ok, that's it for now. Any more you'd like me to test / share?

Any luck in getting optware and openssh working ?

The normal XBMC log IS NOT a debug log, to enable debug logging you must toggle it on under XBMC Settings - System or in advancedsettings.xml. Use XBMC Debug Log Addon to retrieve it.
find quote
chrsb Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #26
Long time reader, first time posting.
Since most of these new media players are all based off of the same Realtek-based player, the new CinemaTube would maybe be able to be flashed if the Ausus O!play can be?
This model accepts plug-ins according to the manual-
http://www.brite-view.com/cinematube.php
find quote
hijack204 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #27
chrsb Wrote:Long time reader, first time posting.
Since most of these new media players are all based off of the same Realtek-based player, the new CinemaTube would maybe be able to be flashed if the Ausus O!play can be?
This model accepts plug-ins according to the manual-
http://www.brite-view.com/cinematube.php

That looks exactly like the o!play interface except the torrent application and upnp
find quote
pmcd Offline
Fan
Posts: 333
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #28
Koenradus Wrote:Hi guys,

I just found this thread been looking for something like this for ages. I would like to offer any help I can give on getting XBMC working on O!Play. I'm a fairly advanced Linux user and owner of the O!Play so any testing questions can be submitted and I will try to answer as fast and complete as possible.

Observations so far (using ACRyan topic as guideline to confirm O!Play compatibility)
  • Filesystem is mounted read only, but the folder /usr/local/etc is mounted read-write and contains a rcS with gets executed on startup.
  • By adding stuff to this rcS you can get it to boot at startup. Even stuff you put on an external flash drive (have to utilize a sleep to allow for mounting)
  • Custom apps (I have FTP up and running for instance) can now be run from external flash drive on startup.

Ok, that's it for now. Any more you'd like me to test / share?


I just got an O!Play and the only thing I want is to have ftp (server that is) running so I can move stuff back and forth to a hard drive connected to it. I don't mind formatting the hard drive to whatever will work.

Would you please detail how to get an ftp server working on this? Sorry, but my Linux abilities are not up to that (:

XBMC on it would of course be wonderful, but for now ftp will have to do for me Smile

Thank's,

philip
find quote
Koenradus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #29
If you follow the instructions in this post you should be OK. Pretty straightforward and the same files work on my O!Play: http://www.acryan.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=5637#p5637
find quote
Koenradus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #30
CrashX Wrote:Looks like you are getting 45 MBytes/s on your network ( I presume you are testing from a network drive )

How easy was it to get into linux shell ?
Have you tried installing optware packages ?

Again, thanks for the tests ..

Okay, optware up and running:
Telnet in, first remount /:
Code:
mount / -o remount,rw

Then install bootstrap. ipkg-cl is extrated by someone on another forum from the xtreamer firmware
Code:
mkdir /opt
mkdir /opt/tmp
mkdir /opt/tmp/ipkg

cd /opt/tmp

wget http://www.kovari.priv.hu/download/ipkg-cl.tgz
tar -xvf ipkg-cl.tgz
mv /opt/tmp/ipkg-cl /usr/local/bin/
rm ipkg-cl.tgz

wget http://ipkg.nslu2-linux.org/feeds/optware/oleg/cross/stable/uclibc-opt_0.9.28-13_mipsel.ipk
ipkg-cl install uclibc-opt_0.9.28-13_mipsel.ipk

wget http://ipkg.nslu2-linux.org/feeds/optware/oleg/cross/stable/ipkg-opt_0.99.163-10_mipsel.ipk
ipkg-cl install ipkg-opt_0.99.163-10_mipsel.ipk

rm *.ipk

/opt/bin/ipkg update

Ok that's it. Now, any package can be installed like: "/opt/bin/ipkg install mc"
Furthermore to make some room for the packages, and since i'm not chinese Laugh, remove those big (total +/- 30MB) fonts:

Code:
cd /usr/local/bin/Resource/
cp arial.ttf CHI.ttf
cp arial.ttf JPN.ttf
cp arial.ttf cwheib.ttf
cp arial.ttf cwyen.ttf

Before 92.5/203.6 MB free (55% used), after 126.6/203.6 free (38% used), thats better!
That's it for now. So to answer CrashX's question: Optware is working...
find quote
Post Reply