[LIVE] XBMC for Linux Project HTPC HD Build reusing my old Xbox chassi case...
Background
I've been running XBMC on Xbox for a few years now, and we all know, it's a fantastic combination as long as you don't want to run HD content or high bitrate h.264...
this wasn't a problem for me til I got my HDTV.

So I waited for the perfect storm of Xbox appliance-like abilities and some spare cash to come along.

In february I bought an Asus P5N7A-VM 9300 IGP and a Q6600 to run as my main machine, until such a time that all the other parts fell into place.

well that time has come, and this is going to be my journey of stuffing the mATX board into the old Xbox case... just for a laugh ;)

first the answer to a few whys:
why not mini-itx like to zotac 9300 board?
the first I saw of that was after I bought the P5N7A-VM

surely an ION?
same as above...

both products were launced around the time i bought my hardware... and I didn't think ION's would actually have come to market so quickly :(

why not use a proper HTPC case?
size mainly... the decent small ones are very expensive, and the Xbox already has a place in my living room.

SO... ONWARDS! I'm sure most of you know the specs of this baby... HDMI, DVI, VGA, Display Port and ESATA on the back plane. Mmmmmm......
(sorry for the pics, phone... I'll use a real camera for the next batch)

Xbox Stripdown

So far I've dismantled the xbox to give me an idea of what I'm working with

Here's the system board, PSU, Hard disk, DVD-ROM, cooling fan and controller ports

system board on its own

xbox case parts - base at the top, lid, then front panel

controller ports up close

Asus P5N7A-VM with some temporary RAM and CPU (2.8 GHz Pentium D 820 B0 stepping - yeah, a hottie! 95W TDP)
I have an alternative CPU on offer to me - a 1.8 Celeron Conroe-L with just 35w TDP. NICE! should be powerful enough ;)
Asus next to a broken junk micro ATX board which i can manhandle without worry

the Asus is slightly smaller than most mATX boards