Getting / Making Art For Your Music / Media Library (Your Tips, Tricks & Methods)
Probably like a lot of other people here, soon after I started using Library Mode in XBMC, I became kind of obsessed with making it as nice looking as possible. For media, this means getting the art and metadata all into shape. For movies and TV shows this has become a relatively painless task since there's half a dozen different dedicated programs that will download and generate the XBMC-specific files for your TV shows and movies. (I use Ember Media Manager and love it)

But what about music? For a variety of reasons, music is still a lot trickier than it used to be. I'm going to attempt to collate all the stuff I have learned to a single thread to make it easier for other people who may be just getting started with this stuff. I've been collecting music for about 10 years and have amassed about 200GB of it in digital formats.

Sooo, first of all, the laziest methods possible:

1-Let XBMC Do It For You!
If you're not a big perfectionist and you want to get stuff working quickly & easily, at this point there are services set up to allow XBMC to get the art for you. You need at a bare minimum, music files with tags correctly identifying the artist and album names. This info, plus even mostly-correct song titles will allow XBMC to probably download and use an artist thumbnail, an artist fanart background picture, and album cover art as well.

XBMC can and will download art from htbackdrops.com (which has per-artist thumbnails and fanart backdrops), discogs.com (some artist thumbnail-type stuff and most album cover art), and last.fm (usually at least one decent artist thumbnail and most album cover art). You basically just need to go into Music, highlight the folder where your music files are, bring up the context menu and choose "Scan Item To Library". You may need to check your Settings (Settings > Music > Library) to ensure XBMC downloads everything you want it to.