Lowest spec 1080p capable computer using PCI version of NVIDIA 8400GS or similar?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
_mage_ Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Thumbs Up  Lowest spec 1080p capable computer using PCI version of NVIDIA 8400GS or similar?
Post: #1
Hi Everyone.

I just got a PCI version of the nvidia 8400 GS. In the interests of science, I decided to see how it would go in an old p3 I had lying around.

Damn me if it didn't work. 1080P movies ran flawlessly with 40% cpu utilization.

The end result:
Pentium 3 - 933mz
nvidia 8400 GS
512mb of ram
2gb flash disk to boot off
Network server with 2.8tb of stuff
Awesomeness

Who can go lower?
find quote
Dignam Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: USA
Post: #2
I just pulled my old computer out of my closet and got XBMC running on it and it runs 1080p flawlessly as well. It is AMD 3200+, 1 gig ram, BFG 7950GT OC, Windows 7.

XBMC System:
Windows 7, E8400, 2GB Ram, 8800GTS, 12.3 “Frodo”, Aeon Nox 4.1.9

Gaming Rig:
Windows 7, i72600k, 8GB Ram, Radeon HD 6950 2 GB, 128GB SSD.
(This post was last modified: 2009-11-09 23:58 by Dignam.)
find quote
Goga777 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 217
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
sempron 2800 + PCI Geforce 8400 from Sparkle - OK
find quote
gkornato Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Vancouver, BC
Post: #4
AMD Geode NX 1500 processor (1 GHz)
512 MB Ram
eVGA PCI Geforce 8400 GS
Works perfect
find quote
RKMFlorida Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Cheap old Dell (3.2Ghz) + New NVIDIA 210 (this 210 really rocks, and as I mentioned in an earlier thread, it's very cool-running and only $39 at NewEgg)
find quote
ion_man Offline
Fan
Posts: 366
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
I tried a Sparkle Nvidia 8400GS PCI in an old dual Pentium 233MMX (yes dual Pentium 1 at 233MHz! Big Grin Tyan Tomcat IV mobo ) but sadly the BIOS seems to not recognize the graphics card as I get no picture. Sad
find quote
Johnnyfive Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 4
Location: Strasbourg, France
Post: #7
RKMFlorida Wrote:Cheap old Dell (3.2Ghz) + New NVIDIA 210 (this 210 really rocks, and as I mentioned in an earlier thread, it's very cool-running and only $39 at NewEgg)

Which model is suitable? I've been looking at at GX280 SFF but wasn't sure if the included PSU would be enough.
find quote
pettergulbra Offline
Fan
Posts: 501
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Do you think this will hold?

Pentium 4, 3,2 GHz
1GB RAM
PowerColor Radeon HD 3650 512MB DDR2 (AGP)


Petter

1st: HP Chrome Box, 2nd: PI, both connected to my MySQL server...
TV: Samsung UE55F8005STXXE - Receiver: Yamaha RX-V767.

To everyone that helps me and other, BIG THANKS from ALL of US, to ALL of YOU!!
find quote
watzen Offline
Fan
Posts: 457
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 10
Location: Sweden
Post: #9
not unless you plan to use the dsplayer when/if that works out well. (since ati-cards dont't have HW-acclr decoding on linux)

  • Livingroom - C2D E8400, P5N7A-VM on a Samsung 46" LE46M86 FullHD via HDMI
  • Kitchen - ASRock 330 HT Displayed on a Samsung Lapfit 22" dual touch screen LD220Z
  • Bedroom - LG Laptop on a 32" tv
find quote
pettergulbra Offline
Fan
Posts: 501
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
watzen: not unless you plan to use the dsplayer when/if that works out well. (since ati-cards dont't have HW-acclr decoding on linux)


Don`t understand what you meen?
I was thinking of running Windows and MP Classic. Have heard that this player can use the GPU instead of the CPU on video decoding.
Use it as external player in XBMC.

Is this totaly wrong?

1st: HP Chrome Box, 2nd: PI, both connected to my MySQL server...
TV: Samsung UE55F8005STXXE - Receiver: Yamaha RX-V767.

To everyone that helps me and other, BIG THANKS from ALL of US, to ALL of YOU!!
find quote
RKMFlorida Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
@Petter - just trust us. You can go with the ATI (and a model that isn't particularly strong enough) and be stuck having to use the external app and the new problems along with that, or you can got with an NVIDIA, spent $40 on a new card, and it'll be easy-breezy.

I wish I had the 12+ hours of my life back, that I lost trying to get lesser video cards working.

@JohnnyFive - No, forget those power-hogging chips. Just buy the NVIDIA GeForce 210, which is brand new and designed for HTPC's. It's performance is like that of a much more power-hungry card, yet MUCH less heat/power required. I run it on a cheap little 150watt power supply (or something to that effect) that came with the old Dell. It's about the cheapest power you can get, and it runs fine.

There is not additional power-connection required. Better yet, at this price, how can you go wrong? If you're not sure, check one of the benchmark sites, like TomsHardware, etc -- you'll see this thing compared to the much more expensive cards, and it's amazing how well it does, relative to the size/price/heat.
find quote
Johnnyfive Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 4
Location: Strasbourg, France
Post: #12
RKMFlorida Wrote:@JohnnyFive - No, forget those power-hogging chips. Just buy the NVIDIA GeForce 210, which is brand new and designed for HTPC's. It's performance is like that of a much more power-hungry card, yet MUCH less heat/power required. I run it on a cheap little 150watt power supply (or something to that effect) that came with the old Dell. It's about the cheapest power you can get, and it runs fine.

Oh I see. I didn't know that the GeForce 210 was more power efficient. Thanks a lot!
find quote
BlueCop Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,433
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 73
Post: #13
what about an old dual pentium pro 200mhz box in my closet. Think it will work? =P

I have an apple ][e somewhere... if only it had a pci slot!

Lets race to the bottom!
find quote
RKMFlorida Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Well, in summary...

I'd be willing to say that ANY CPU compatible with a motherboard that offers PCI x16, will 1080p under Linux, as long as you have one of these recent GeForce cards.
find quote
pettergulbra Offline
Fan
Posts: 501
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
Ok, Nvidia is the thing.
But I do not have PCI Express, I just have the AGP port on this old PC.
What card is to use then?

1st: HP Chrome Box, 2nd: PI, both connected to my MySQL server...
TV: Samsung UE55F8005STXXE - Receiver: Yamaha RX-V767.

To everyone that helps me and other, BIG THANKS from ALL of US, to ALL of YOU!!
find quote
Post Reply