Ripping DVD Movies to Computer
I am new to XBMC as well as media centers in general. Yesterday I downloaded XBMC and everything went fine and I wanted to begin adding DVD movies to my hard drive so that I could scan them into my movie library in XBMC. I am having trouble figuring out how to copy these movies onto my hard drive. I downloaded a couple of free programs that people had recommended to use (DVD Shrink, Handbrake, etc. ) but I am not really having any luck getting them to copy my dvd correctly. I set up a folder for it to copy the DVD to and when it was done, there were several .vob and ".ifo" (I think) files, but I couldn't really do anything with them. Any information would be appreciated
if you just want a copy of the dvd data then the vob's are the mpeg-2 video streams (ifo's are usually menu information)
consider ripping dvd's into iso's like so:
Code:
lsdvd && dd if=/dev/sr0 of=/moo-vee.iso

if you want to encode them into xvid's/ mkv's/ x264's, ... then you have to convert the dvd. consider mencoder which you would have to install thru apt-get (that means you have to ssh into your xbmc box or open a virtual terminal (ctrl-alt-f2) and use xbmc as username and pass)
I appreciate your reply. A lot of that is foreign language to me. Am I going to need to use one of those ripping software or are you telling me that I am able to do it without one of those ? When you gave that code, where is that used at ? Meaning, where would I enter that code into ?
BentleyJones Wrote:I appreciate your reply. A lot of that is foreign language to me. Am I going to need to use one of those ripping software or are you telling me that I am able to do it without one of those ? When you gave that code, where is that used at ? Meaning, where would I enter that code into ?

That's Linux code. I assume you're on windows. Forgot the post above.