Noob's Installation Help - XBMC on 9.10
Hey all,

I've searched the forums high and low for the answer to this, however, I came up empty. I believe that I've followed all of the XBMC instructions to the letter to install into the new 9.10 Karmic Koala build, and I have to admit I'm also a Linux newbie. I'm going to have to rely on your expertise here to point me in the right direction.

From the instruction page, here:

Quote:
  • From the Desktop, click System -> Administration -> Software Sources.
  • Click the "Third Party Sofware" tab.
  • Click "Add" for each of the following. For the Apt line type the following, substituting "jaunty" for your version:
  • Click "Close". If you see a GPG Error upon closing the window, not to worry. That will be handled in the next step
Now, as per the above, I changed "jaunty" to "karmic" for both lines, so they now read as such: Once complete, I did not receive the GPG error it mentioned, but I still continued on to the next stage.

Quote:
  • Click here to view the PGP key
  • Select the text from the beginning of the keyblock to the end (including those lines)
  • Copy that text to the clipboard (Edit -> Copy)
  • Open your text editor from Applications -> Text Editor.
  • Paste the key contents (Edit -> Paste)
  • Save the document in your home folder as xbmc-ppa.key
  • Reopen Software Sources, this time choosing the "Authentication" tab.
  • Click "Import Key File" and choose the newly created xbmc-ppa.key and press OK.
If you wish to import the key via terminal, use enter the following: sudo apt-key add xbmc-ppa.key
I did the above, and herein lies a question... I used the "gedit Text Editor" to save the following "xbmc-ppa.key" file:

Code:
[b]Public Key Server -- Get ``0x9f10e6ae9317790e ''[/b]

-----BEGIN PGP PUBLIC KEY BLOCK-----
Version: SKS 1.0.10

mI0ESdfoQQEEAOb9ejOtKM4LkuYYuq+5sH9F4Yvd8HHspaeZHZZvteJAHqjcyxdvBKNqadDz
wcNJ8gDPljv1L4hnd4bYbsiLfGX2qWxSGghrEGKm3cb9F3BhH0zm3/mWWDcNVV3jscaNTFeY