Is there any way to view Song names differently?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
qaxl Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Firstly of all i would like to congratulate you for making the most beautiful theme for xbmc,

i just have this slight issue with the way song names are displayed,
The album name hogs all the space and finding songs can become troublesome if the album has a long name,
i was wondering if the naming pattern could be changed so the the title is displayed first and then the album or artist,

or maybe even only view the title name here

[Image: screenshot003.jpg]

Any help at all would be nice !!
find quote
Niamhy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
I was going to ask much the same thing. Having the album title there is redundant, as we know what album it is 1) we clicked on it (unless on shuffle) and 2) there is a whopping great picture!

would be much better to have

01 - Nightrain
02 - Mr Brownstone
03 - It's So Easy

etc

is that a skin issue or an XBMC issue?
find quote
joebrady Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,649
Joined: Apr 2007
Reputation: 6
Location: Floyds Knobs, IN
Post: #3
Under Settings>Music>Files

Enable Tag Reading
Enabling tag reading will read the tag-information written in every song. This will slow down read time of large directories (particularly over a network), but will give, if properly named, a better description of your music files. If you wish to have the tag information without having to wait for them to load each time, you can “Scan” your songs from My Music:Songs. This will read the tags of all songs in this directory (and it's subdirectories) and add the information to the database (stored in the “albums” folder). Next time you go into that directory, XBMC will first look for the tag information in the database, which should speed up the directory loading.

Track Naming Template
Controls the way that the names of songs are displayed in the UI. In order to function properly, ID3 tags need to be enabled. For a list of options that can be used, see Tags Available for Audio Files

http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=Music_Settings
find quote
Niamhy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
awsome. Does this work for m4a/aac files too?
find quote
joebrady Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,649
Joined: Apr 2007
Reputation: 6
Location: Floyds Knobs, IN
Post: #5
http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=Preparing_your_Music
find quote
qaxl Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Thanks alot for your excellent reply,
but i am still missing something
all my songs are properly tagged and i have set the track naming template as follows

[Image: screenshot005.jpg]

yet i still see the songs like this when i open any album

[Image: screenshot007.jpg]

HOWEVER!!!!
Once i press spacebar and enter the playlist view ......
i see tracks named like this

[Image: screenshot006.jpg]

i figure i am just missing a very small trick to get the songs named properly without entering the playlist
find quote
joebrady Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,649
Joined: Apr 2007
Reputation: 6
Location: Floyds Knobs, IN
Post: #7
Are you using file mode?
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,319
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 161
Post: #8
on the hidden left menu, set sort method to 'track'.

as a sidenote, you may want to change the 'track naming template right' to %D

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
qaxl Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Sort method to track & everything works like a charm now !!!!

Thank u everybody who helped

and yes Niamhy i really like that picture too
find quote
MatteSweden Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Hmm how do i find the hidden left menu?? Seems my problem with non-present numbers in tha audio section might go away if i find that menu.. I have xbmc 10 under win xp
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,319
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 161
Post: #11
just press 'left'.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
MatteSweden Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Hoho, seems i was using xbmc 9 Tongue Now with 10 installed everything works out of the box.. GREAT!!!!!
find quote
Kietunes Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Just stumbled across this as it was also driving me crazy!

Setting sort to 'Track' did the trick!
find quote