REQ: Windows 7 Guide to SMB Shares.
Hello,

I would like to make a request. I have been using XBMC on my Xbox Classic for several years now and have never been able to properly setup SMB shares from my computer to the Xbox. I tinker around with it once in a awhile but I can never seem to get it to work. I now have Windows 7 Professional 64-bit installed on my computer and STILL can't get it to work.

I used to use CCXgui but it doesn't seem to work in Win 7 64-bit. I have fallen back to installing XBMC on my computer and enabling the UPnP Server, which works, but is not ideal.

Can someone in the know PLEASE write a definitive guide to setting up SMB video shares in Windows 7 (64-bit preferably) to stream to an Xbox with XBMC? Please make it as simple and n00b friendly as possible. Step-by-step instructions. Cover every angle you can like static IP vs DHCP (I'm using static on my network personally), and removing the Windows Live Assistant thing. I would be forever greatful to whomever can do this.

PLEASE and Thank you.
Introduction

As has been documented elsewhere, XBMC's scrapers and library work best when full access to video and audio files is provided to them via an SMB share. However, MS is making it more and more difficult to share using SMB in Windows. You have to turn off Homegroup and do all sorts of other messy things. The following is a guide to quickly and easily turn SMB sharing on in Windows 7.

Preparation