[Request] DialogProgress.xml to show progress of movie loading

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Ilia Offline
Fan
Posts: 317
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Sad  [Request] DialogProgress.xml to show progress of movie loading
Post: #1
From the debug output I see that Alaska (and other skins) load a dialog box of some sort. I want to ask if it is possible to have this dialog visible to see the progress of the movie loading.
This might not be a issue for many but as you can see from the times in may take 20 secs (more on the appletv) to start playing the movie, in the mean time there is no indication if the movie is starting or not.
My system is;
- AppleTV 3.0.1 or Mac OS 10.6.2
- Camelot Beta 2

PHP Code:
17:59:47 T:2957225984 M:315326464    INFOLoading skin fileDialogProgress.xml
17
:59:47 T:2957225984 M:315297792   DEBUGLoad DialogProgress.xml7.49ms
17
:59:47 T:2957225984 M:315297792   DEBUGDialogProgress::StartModal called
17
:59:47 T:2957225984 M:315297792   DEBUG: ------ Window Init (DialogProgress.xml) ------
17:59:47 T:2957225984 M:315297792   DEBUGAlloc resources0.03ms (0.00 ms skin load)
17:59:57 T:2955096064 M:314462208   DEBUGThread 2955096064 terminating (autodelete)
17:59:57 T:2955628544 M:314511360   DEBUGThread 2955628544 terminating (autodelete)
18:00:03 T:2956693504 M:314175488   DEBUGThread 2956693504 terminating (autodelete)
18:00:10 T:2956161024 M:314290176   DEBUGThread 2956161024 terminating (autodelete)
18:00:15 T:2957758464 M:314241024   DEBUGCacheSubtitlesDone (time29961 ms)
18:00:15 T:2957758464 M:314241024   DEBUGCacheSubtitlesEND (total time30423 ms)
18:00:15 T:2957758464 M:314241024    INFOCDVDFactorySubtitle::GetSubtitlessearching subtitles done
18
:00:15 T:2957758464 M:314241024  NOTICECreating Demuxer
18
:00:15 T:2957758464 M:314232832   DEBUGOpen probing detected format [avi
find quote
chareos Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Italy
Post: #2
+1

Also useful on pcs busy on other tasks
find quote
Hitcher Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 10,818
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 101
Location: Eastleigh, UK
Post: #3
That'll be DialogBusy.xml but I think I read that it was disabled on all platforms except Xbox.

Ask in the Skin Development forum.
find quote
Ilia Offline
Fan
Posts: 317
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
submitted see what they say, thanks Hitcher
find quote
Evanrich Offline
Fan
Posts: 491
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Post: #5
holy crap....it takes you 20 seconds to start playing a movie? jeezus. my atom does it instantaneously.

Board: Zotac ION-A-U Case: M350 Mini ITX Memory: 4GB Patriot PC6400 OS: XBMC on OpenELEC.tv build 6936 on a Corsair 32GB SSD Media Storage: W2K8 running on 14TB RAID 5 on an Asrock board w/ AMD Athlon X2 250 and PERC 6/I controller w/ 8 Samsung HD204UI Green drives Time to interface from power switch: 22.4 seconds.
find quote
garyi Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,196
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
So does my ATV to be fair. Where pauses occur is when the NAS Droboshare has to spin up the disks. Sadly XBMC seems very impatient, the disks take about 7 seconds to spin up but by then XBMC has given up asking me if I want to delete the reference.
find quote
Ilia Offline
Fan
Posts: 317
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
same here,
I noticed that if I have a lot of files in one folder such as 700 for example it takes longer to start a movie than if I have 50-100 files.
find quote
hikaricore Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,515
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Tuesday
Post: #8
Why would you have 700 files in one directory?
Sounds like someone needs to reorganize their collection a bit or upgrade their hardware. ^_^
find quote
turbinez Offline
Fan
Posts: 327
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
i have my media stored on a desktop mac to my appletv, and it takes about 5-10 seconds to start any movie or tv shows over 802.11g network.
find quote
Ilia Offline
Fan
Posts: 317
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
i always had movies (avis) under one dir, and yes I know I should have in under
movie-dir/movie.avi, all I am asking before spending hours and hours reorganising my movies is if I can have a dialog box popup to see the progress of loading it.
find quote
hikaricore Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,515
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Tuesday
Post: #11
Just saying it's probably easier to do it now as opposed to when you have 1000 files later on. ;p
find quote
Ilia Offline
Fan
Posts: 317
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
yes, but that not what I am after, am sure there is lag in starting a movie regardless how u organise ur movies.. In that regards this DialogProgress would be required.
find quote
hikaricore Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,515
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Tuesday
Post: #13
I have no lag starting movies at all, that is incorrect.
It all depends on your hardware and the source the media is coming from.
find quote
JDizzy Offline
Fan
Posts: 376
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 1
Location: Californication
Post: #14
hikaricore Wrote:It all depends on your hardware and the source the media is coming from.

I'll agree to that!
I have several 1TB drives and they go to sleep when idle... it does take time for them to wake up. I also don't really have any directory structure for my movies, other than MOVIES/filenname.avi and with 400 movies + fanart + thumb + nfo file per drive, that's 1600 files per directory.
I do experience a little lag (5-8 seconds) when loading a movie, but where I experience it most is when I click on the Home Movie icon and have to wait for XBMC to load the directories/database. Are you saying if I was to break up my directories into say, 4 sub directories with 100 movies each (400 files) that I would see a considerable difference?
I am running an ATV with a wired network and don't mind the lag...I just know it's there and that the movie is loading.
Rolleyes
(This post was last modified: 2009-12-15 06:45 by JDizzy.)
find quote
Ilia Offline
Fan
Posts: 317
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
@JDizzy breaking up the movies into folders does decrease the lag. Try it, place a movie into a different dir and add it to the source, scan and it should load the movie instantly.

@hikaricore obviously in my situation it does require such a dialog, all I am asking if there is someone that was able to workout a solution for such a problem. You will have ppl streaming movies over wireless with multitude of hardware.
find quote
Post Reply