[RELEASE] Project xbmc-addons-chinese (Chinese addons/support Dharma)

  Thread Rating:
  • 5 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
ChairMao Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #181
DaHao

Hey all, simple question which is becomign very infuriating hence despiting reading the entire trhead i cannot find out how to solve it.

New to XBMC
I have installed the Chinese Addons youku etc
I can watch my Chinese TV shows with subtitles and all is great.

BUT

I cannot see any of the titles in Chinese. Just boxes
So when i go to the Addons and see a nice long list of CNTV TuDou YouKu etc all i get is boxes, which makes it impossible to navigate.

I read some people say use the Arial font (I am with Chinese GBK Character Set) or even with a Chinese friendly simhei font the characters still wont display where required.
Aeon Nox Skin = (Box) instead of Character
Back Row Skin = .. instead of Character

Hope this is clear and i would appreciate any help

********************** Solved**************
0323 GMT 呵呵
(This post was last modified: 2012-02-02 05:23 by ChairMao.)
find quote
cmeng Offline
Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Singapore
Post: #182
ChairMao Wrote:DaHao

Hey all, simple question which is becomign very infuriating hence despiting reading the entire trhead i cannot find out how to solve it.

New to XBMC
I have installed the Chinese Addons youku etc
I can watch my Chinese TV shows with subtitles and all is great.

BUT

I cannot see any of the titles in Chinese. Just boxes
So when i go to the Addons and see a nice long list of CNTV TuDou YouKu etc all i get is boxes, which makes it impossible to navigate.

I read some people say use the Arial font (I am with Chinese GBK Character Set) or even with a Chinese friendly simhei font the characters still wont display where required.
Aeon Nox Skin = (Box) instead of Character
Back Row Skin = .. instead of Character

Hope this is clear and i would appreciate any help

********************** Solved**************
0323 GMT 呵呵

You need a TrueType Font that supports Chinese unicode. Under Windows 7, navigate to Windows|Fonts, pick a unicode ttf font that can display chinese characters. e.g.KaiTiRegular, copy the font file.

Then go to xbmc installed directory and navigate to (under Windows 7):
C:\Program Files (x86)\XBMC\media\Fonts

paste your copy font file into this directory. Rename the current arial.ttf to something else e.g. arial_eng.ttf. Then rename the newly copied file to arial.ttf.

Launch xbmc and navigate to
System | Appearance | Skin

change the Fonts selection to 'Arial based'. You should then able to see the chinese font display properly.
find quote
ChairMao Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #183
cmeng Wrote:you need a truetype font that supports chinese unicode. Under windows 7, navigate to windows|fonts, pick a unicode ttf font that can display chinese characters. E.g.kaitiregular, copy the font file.

Then go to xbmc installed directory and navigate to (under windows 7):
C:\program files (x86)\xbmc\media\fonts

paste your copy font file into this directory. Rename the current arial.ttf to something else e.g. Arial_eng.ttf. Then rename the newly copied file to arial.ttf.

Launch xbmc and navigate to
system | appearance | skin

change the fonts selection to 'arial based'. You should then able to see the chinese font display properly.

谢了啊
find quote
ImmoNL Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #184
Hi

I am trying to get shooter.cn to work as I promised my wife the chinese subs would work Smile

I put the download I found on this form in the resources folders, edited the gui.py, added the service in the xml-file.
XBMC can see it, I can enable it.
When searching a subtitle I see the logo, but it skips right away to the next source.

Checking the log file it seems it's not even trying to search on shooter.cn.

I pasted a part of my logfile here

http://pastebin.com/zVrvZuUu

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Just new to xbmc, bought my atv2 4 days ago..
find quote
taxigps Offline
Team-XBMC Python Developer
Posts: 437
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #185
ImmoNL Wrote:Hi

I am trying to get shooter.cn to work as I promised my wife the chinese subs would work Smile

I put the download I found on this form in the resources folders, edited the gui.py, added the service in the xml-file.
XBMC can see it, I can enable it.
When searching a subtitle I see the logo, but it skips right away to the next source.

Checking the log file it seems it's not even trying to search on shooter.cn.

I pasted a part of my logfile here

http://pastebin.com/zVrvZuUu

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Just new to xbmc, bought my atv2 4 days ago..

Service Shooter for script.xbmc.subtitle is in testing now. I have fixed some bug these days. Amet will upgrade it in official few days later. Please wait.
find quote
ImmoNL Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #186
taxigps Wrote:Service Shooter for script.xbmc.subtitle is in testing now. I have fixed some bug these days. Amet will upgrade it in official few days later. Please wait.

That's great to hear.
Thanks!
find quote
taxigps Offline
Team-XBMC Python Developer
Posts: 437
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #187
Added weather.weatherchina - weather message from http://www.weather.com.cn
find quote
qubilist Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #188
Is there any way to get live HK channels added to the Chinese plugin? If I could get all of this working for my in laws in a easy to use format that would be great.

There is a nice thread in Slickdeals on the TVpad which has some of the same things like XBMC. Sohu, PPS, etc. However this gets HK television for Cantonese speaking shows.

http://slickdeals.net/f/3855948-199-TVPa...nthly-fees

In the wiki on Slickdeal thread there is a way to get these channels using Sopcast, then a special html file that works in IE. Then you click a link and it opens the channels. Then you need to use VLC to expand it to a 16:9 screen. This is fine for me but for older parents all of this is too much of a hassle.

Is there a way to get these more automated so when they use XBMC with remote they can just click on it?
find quote
cmeng Offline
Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Singapore
Post: #189
qubilist Wrote:Is there any way to get live HK channels added to the Chinese plugin? If I could get all of this working for my in laws in a easy to use format that would be great.

There is a nice thread in Slickdeals on the TVpad which has some of the same things like XBMC. Sohu, PPS, etc. However this gets HK television for Cantonese speaking shows.

http://slickdeals.net/f/3855948-199-TVPa...nthly-fees

In the wiki on Slickdeal thread there is a way to get these channels using Sopcast, then a special html file that works in IE. Then you click a link and it opens the channels. Then you need to use VLC to expand it to a 16:9 screen. This is fine for me but for older parents all of this is too much of a hassle.

Is there a way to get these more automated so when they use XBMC with remote they can just click on it?

You may try the link below. May be you can add in your stream into its db file.
http://code.google.com/p/divingmules-rep...p&can=2&q=
find quote
Rasors Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #190
Does anyone if there is an update to the sugoideas addon? It's the main one I use, and would be great if someone had an update.
find quote
seemore Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Thumbs Up  Add-on requirements
Post: #191
taxigps Wrote:new code in path http://xbmc-addons-chinese.googlecode.co...s/eden_src


Add-on requirements http://www.greatdvb.com/software/tvpad-M121-soft.html thank you
find quote
cmeng Offline
Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Singapore
Post: #192
Hi,

I have created a patch to allow Chinese text input for Youtube plugin search on XBMC EDEN, for those are interested:

Following the link below to download the "script.module.parsedom.zip" http://code.google.com/p/xbmc-addons-chi...tail?id=13

To install: Launch XBMC EDEN, navigate to System=>Settings=>Add-ons=>Install from zip file

Browse to and select the downloaded file i.e. script.module.parsedom.zip

Note: You also need to install both the following from the link below:

1. repository.googlecode.xbmc-addons-chinese-eden.zip &
2. script.module.keyboard.chinese-1.1.1-eden.zip

http://code.google.com/p/xbmc-addons-chi...loads/list
find quote
ImmoNL Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #193
Any news on shooter.cn as a subtitle provider?

Thanks
find quote
wago Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #194
Hi,
I'm new to this and i have searched the forum and web but couldn't find an answer.
I have a ATV2 , xbmc, and chinese add-on installed but all i get are squares. How do i get it to display chinese?

Thank you in advance for your help!

This forum rocks!!!
find quote
cmeng Offline
Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Singapore
Post: #195
wago Wrote:Hi,
I'm new to this and i have searched the forum and web but couldn't find an answer.
I have a ATV2 , xbmc, and chinese add-on installed but all i get are squares. How do i get it to display chinese?

Thank you in advance for your help!

This forum rocks!!!
=======================
Please refe to the following link. I believe it should be similar for ATV2

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBM...ecific_FAQ
19. XBMC displays Chinese Text as unrecognized squares
find quote
Post Reply