Hacking the Boxee Box to run XBMC?

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 4 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
davilla Offline
Retired-Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,508
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #16
Pvt_Ryan Wrote:http://www.engadget.com/2010/09/13/boxee...re-orders/

Does that mean VDPAU won't work? (I was thinking of getting one and sticking XBMC on it)

VDPAU never worked on tegra2.


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
PANiCnz Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
If anything this would be a good thing for XBMC, the new Intel processor is X86 so should run Ubuntu assuming you can write to the storage media. For HD it would likely require drivers for the HD decoder but that would be a lot simplier than porting XBMC to run on Tegra.
find quote
Pvt_Ryan Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 239
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
Mis-read the article, I thought they were talking about the GPU, rereading it's the CPU.. DoH!..

I wonder is the chipset the ION or something else...

MC1 (SD & HD): Asus A8N SLI, AMD x2 4600+, 2GB DDR 400 Cosair, Palit Nvidia 9400GT 1GB (Passive), ARTIC 500W PSU, Lian Li PC-C32B, Samsung 250GB SATA
MC2 (SD&HD): RaspberryPi
MC3 (SD&HD): RaspberryPi
NAS1: HP Prolient Microserver N40L 2Gb Ram, 250Gb OS Disk, 1x2TB HDD ext4, 5.25" to 3.5" disk drive added to ODD Slot for OS disk

Blog: http://ninet.org
find quote
PANiCnz Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
Pvt_Ryan Wrote:Mis-read the article, I thought they were talking about the GPU, rereading it's the CPU.. DoH!..

I wonder is the chipset the ION or something else...
Might want to read it again, both Tegra and the Intel are SoC's thus the graphics, cpu and hd decoder are intergrated into a single package.
find quote
Pvt_Ryan Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 239
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
Ahh, I haven't really been keeping up-to-date with this stuff. Big Grin

So back to the original question, Does anyone know if GPU decoding will work on this system?

I just want to be fairly confident that if I buy it, assuming I can install XBMCLive, I can run XBMC and playback 1080p movies.

MC1 (SD & HD): Asus A8N SLI, AMD x2 4600+, 2GB DDR 400 Cosair, Palit Nvidia 9400GT 1GB (Passive), ARTIC 500W PSU, Lian Li PC-C32B, Samsung 250GB SATA
MC2 (SD&HD): RaspberryPi
MC3 (SD&HD): RaspberryPi
NAS1: HP Prolient Microserver N40L 2Gb Ram, 250Gb OS Disk, 1x2TB HDD ext4, 5.25" to 3.5" disk drive added to ODD Slot for OS disk

Blog: http://ninet.org
find quote
prae5 Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator
Posts: 2,064
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 34
Location: Cambridge, UK
Post: #21
tegra2 is an ARM based architecture, and there has been some work to support xbmc on this platform.

I haven't looked at the CE4100 properly, however its my understanding its a soc based on the atom platform. I'm not sure how open it is either, so can't really comment on access to its hardware decoders.
find quote
puulima Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 212
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #22
Probably old news to the Dev's here...but I was just looking at an article on Engadget noting the switch. Sounds like it would be easier now? My wife likes the simple interface in Boxee, just not crazy about the rigid aspects. Here's the article: http://i.engadget.com/2010/09/13/boxee-b...re-orders/
find quote
thanamesjames Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #23
Yeah, I'm definitely interested in this. The box looks great... It's 200 dollars, and has a badass remote. I'm really excited to see xbmc running on it. I'm holding out for the boxee box as my htpc for sure.
find quote
natethomas Offline
Team Kodi Community Manager
Posts: 3,714
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 63
Location: Kansas
Post: #24
Often, unless under contractual obligation, any nice coding tricks the Boxee guys come up with can be ported back to XBMC and vice versa. Not sure how or if that's the case here.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
ChocoboX Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #25
poofyhairguy Wrote:Its just you. An ION Box + XBMC Live gives a person perfect 1080p playback for less than $300, while taking about 30 minutes to install....

First, thanks for the info. But where can i find the ION box? and do you know if it will be able to play h.264 1080 3D video smoothly?
find quote
saratoga Offline
Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #26
Pvt_Ryan Wrote:So back to the original question, Does anyone know if GPU decoding will work on this system?

Its a DSP decoder separate from the GPU iirc. I think the GPU is just the usual Intel junk.


Pvt_Ryan Wrote:I just want to be fairly confident that if I buy it, assuming I can install XBMCLive, I can run XBMC and playback 1080p movies.

Probably not for a while at least. Windows might work though if theres a DXVA driver for it.
find quote
Playos Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #27
It's not THE Ion box... it's an Ion box... ION is a integrated graphics system from Nvidia for nettops/books (like nForce for desktops)... Zotac and Acer Revo are very good buys... anything with an Atom n450 or newer can handle 1080p and should run Xbox Live without issue.
find quote
jastevenson Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Big Grin  $30 off Boxee box: good deal?
Post: #28
Preordering a Boxee here is $30 bucks off. Worth pre-ordering, or will there be better deals at launch?
(This post was last modified: 2010-09-15 05:19 by pike.)
find quote
mcborzu Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,381
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 15
Location: dsf
Post: #29
Maybe you'll get some X-Mas deals at like 179-189 but I doubt it'll go below 199 for awhile...

[Image: widget]

Check out The Carmichael - A Skin For XBMC

Check out Night - A Skin For XBMC

Check out Unfinished - A Skin For XBMC
find quote
ion_man Offline
Fan
Posts: 366
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #30
ChocoboX Wrote:First, thanks for the info. But where can i find the ION box? and do you know if it will be able to play h.264 1080 3D video smoothly?

Have a look here for an overview of available ION boxes and mobos:
http://www.linuxtech.net/features/nvidia...rview.html
find quote
Post Reply