Won't load past splash screen
I'm BRAND new to getting this to work... I just softmoded my original XBOX today and installed the latest stable release of XBMC ... then everything worked dandy and I wanted to try the newest version so I deleted the old one from the dashboard drive (which I'm guessing is where i screwed something up) and FTPed the new one into that drive.

Now I restarted my XBOX and it loads the BIOS screen then flashes XBMC extremely quick and goes to black. I can't FTP into the XBOX anymore with the same settings that I had used before. I don't think the XBOX is connecting to the network at all like it was before. How can I save my XBOX?

Thanks for your help - I couldn't find any threads with this specific problem, but if there are and you can link me I would appreciate it. Thanks so much!
If you keep the right stick clicked when you boot up xbmc, it'll give you an option to delete your userdata. Try doing that, first, and seeing if it fixes it. If not, make a DVD with unleashx on it, and you can use that to rescue your xbox.
Do you mean the right joy stick thing... just hold it down when I start the XBOX?

If that doesn't work... where do I get the stuff to make a DVD for unleashx?
You might be better off holding white + Y as XBMC starts. That should give you FTP access so you can repeat the upgrade procedure.

As a general rule, attempting to update XBMC while running it is doomed to failure.
XBMC Manual - BlackBolt - SVN Guide - Skin SVN - Wide Icon SVN - ROM Shortcut Generator
You're just jealous 'cause the voices only talk to me :P
Thanks, Bomb -
how do you connect to it to update it then? I can't access it while its off...

I will let you guys know what happens later tonight. Thanks for the input.
While XBMC is running "normally", certain files are "locked" and can't be changed (even when using the recovery console). Your system cannot boot "normally", so the recovery console will likely work.