[WINDOWS] HOW-TO create a XBMC based HTPC, a Step-By-Step Startup Guide for N00bs
Thumbs Up 
Creating an XBMC HTPC (Windows 7 Edition)
Step-By-Step Walkthough with Checklist

Includes:
  • Creating_An_XBMC_HTPC_W7.pdf
  • MediaCenter.vbs (startup script)
  • keymap.xml (for Vista Certified MCE Remote)
  • playercorefactory.xml (MPC-HC for MKV)

Topics:
  • Choosing a Nettop
  • Choosing a Remote Control
  • Choosing a NAS Server
  • Installation/Configuration of XBMC
  • Installation/Configuration of MCE Remote
  • Installation/Configuration of EventGhost
  • Automating HTPC login & XBMC Startup
  • HD Playback with DXVA/CUDA
  • Installation/Configuration of MPC-HC
  • Configuring Shared Folders

I'm no expert, this is just a brain-dump from start to finish of my recent XBMC endeavor. Feedback is welcome and appreciated. The Microsoft Word template is available at request for changes and additions.

I hope someone finds this useful. Smile

XBMC-Basic-Setup-Guide-W7.zip

Cheers
Thanks for this, I'm sure many new starters will find it helpful.
A very nice tutorial.

I only miss a information of switch on/off nettop via remote and the using of suspend.

Regards
Zippolighter Wrote:A very nice tutorial.

I only miss a information of switch on/off nettop via remote and the using of suspend.

Regards

If you're using the Windows MCE remote, then feel free to use my keymap.xml file (included in the package). Powering off the nettop is currently mapped to the TV Power button.

I'm not sure about suspend... I've never tried that. I always use the remote to power off the nettop when I'm done using it.
As a new user, Thank You..
drbent Wrote:As a new user, Thank You..

It's my pleasure, really.

If you work through the checklist and want to make changes just let me know and I'll update it. I tried to accurately capture everything exactly as I did it while I was researching/building out my HTPC.
AssChin79 Wrote:It's my pleasure, really.