[AppleTV] Broadcom Crystal HD Decoder Apple TV step-by-step installation guide

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
purplechris Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: united kingdom
Thumbs Up  [AppleTV] Broadcom Crystal HD Decoder Apple TV step-by-step installation guide
Post: #1
After following the procedures and getting everything working, even as a noob in modding the apple tv, i thought a full guide, will images for both software and hardware installation would be helpful to the community, and i would like to give something back.

So here is my start to finished hardware then software installation guide for the broadcom on the atv. i really hope this helps someone.

http://www.blogythefox.co.uk/2010/01/09/...tallation/

Full credit obviously needs to go to Davilla, XBMC Team, Turbo Team, Matt for the guide i used and have adapted, the original writer and photographer of the hardware installation and of course you for using this guide.

i hope this helps, any comments or feedback would be great.
find quote
ridderdk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Great guide, thanks
But, please put another background on the page, almost impossible to read....
find quote
xpo_dk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Thanks a lot for this!
One question that really answers itself - but if I don't see the Crystal card in Video setting it's not installed the right way or it's not working, right?
find quote
Raider Offline
Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
exactly what i was looking for... thanks man...
when my card arrives, I'll be using this guide for sure...
find quote
yzeyze Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Thanks for the guide, just running through it now....
Typo on Step 7 number 5 - one too many 'lib' in there....
e.g. line reads....
5. Enter in to putty: chmod 755 /usr/lib/libcrystalhd.dylib
should be
5. Enter in to putty: chmod 755 /usr/lib/crystalhd.dylib

had me confused for a bit.
find quote
yzeyze Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Step 8 is not working here....
Trying to work out why, in my Launcher - Downloads I currently have
XBMC 9.11 Application
XBMC 9.04.1 Application
Boxee alpha 0.9.14.6... Application
Launcher 3.2.1 Launcher

Going in and out of Launcher Settings had no effect on Downloads list
Rebooting ATV had no effect on Downloads list
find quote
yzeyze Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Appears the XBMCAdditionalDownloadPlist part is the failing.
" defaults read com.teamxbmc.xbmclauncher XBMCAdditionalDownloadPlist
2010-01-10 10:40:08.889 defaults[208]
The domain/default pair of (com.teamxbmc.xbmclauncher, XBMCAdditionalDownloadPlist) does not exist"

I did the
"defaults write com.teamxbmc.xbmclauncher XBMCAdditionalDownloadPlistURLs -array http://www.sshcs.com/xbmc/Info.asp"
part manually, and it now appears....

Still waiting on my BC card, just getting everything ready software wise for when it arrives, so can't check past Step 8 I'm afraid.
find quote
steve1977 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,970
Joined: Dec 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
I managed to have the download link show up. However, after downloading (and showing "download complete"), I still have the old "final Camelot" release and not the nightly. Any idea?

Server: Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel Core i5 3.4 GHz | 12 GB DDR3 | 256 GB SSD, 40 TB (1 x 4 TB, 6 x 3TB, 9 x 2 TB)
HTPC 1: Apple Mac Mini (mid-2011) | Intel Core i5 2.5 GHz | 4GB DDR3 | 500 GB
HTPC 2: Apple Mac Mini (mid-2007) | Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0 GHz | 4 GB DDR2 | 16 GB SSD
find quote
hfctech465 Offline
Donor
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Thanks yzeyze its been driving me crazy for about 4 hours, you mentioned you updated it manually how do you do that ??

Thanks
find quote
steve1977 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,970
Joined: Dec 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
*edit*

Server: Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel Core i5 3.4 GHz | 12 GB DDR3 | 256 GB SSD, 40 TB (1 x 4 TB, 6 x 3TB, 9 x 2 TB)
HTPC 1: Apple Mac Mini (mid-2011) | Intel Core i5 2.5 GHz | 4GB DDR3 | 500 GB
HTPC 2: Apple Mac Mini (mid-2007) | Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0 GHz | 4 GB DDR2 | 16 GB SSD
(This post was last modified: 2010-01-10 10:23 by steve1977.)
find quote
illiac4 Offline
Fan
Posts: 531
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 3
Post: #11
STEP 7 when it says
# Enter in to putty: chmod 755 /usr/lib/crystalhd.dylib

It returns:
chmod: /usr/lib/crystalhd.dylib: No such file or directory


Confused?
find quote
hfctech465 Offline
Donor
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
try
Enter in to putty: chmod 755 /usr/lib/libcrystalhd.dylib
find quote
yzeyze Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
hfctech465 Wrote:Thanks yzeyze its been driving me crazy for about 4 hours, you mentioned you updated it manually how do you do that ??

Thanks

Just use the last part of the instruction in PuTTy.

defaults write com.teamxbmc.xbmclauncher XBMCAdditionalDownloadPlistURLs -array http://www.sshcs.com/xbmc/Info.asp
find quote
yzeyze Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
illiac4 Wrote:STEP 7 when it says
# Enter in to putty: chmod 755 /usr/lib/crystalhd.dylib

It returns:
chmod: /usr/lib/crystalhd.dylib: No such file or directory


Confused?

If you mean part 5 of step 7, and you are using copy and paste (like I was), then the instruction on the webpage has one too many 'libs' in it.
(see my post on page 1)
find quote
xpo_dk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
yzeyze Wrote:If you mean part 5 of step 7, and you are using copy and paste (like I was), then the instruction on the webpage has one too many 'libs' in it.
(see my post on page 1)

I also get the error and I've tried with your suggestion for the real line.
Anyone got any ideas?

Also, the three files you copy to the directory is that to the tmp dir or the crystalhd dir?
find quote
Post Reply