[AppleTV] Broadcom Crystal HD Decoder Apple TV step-by-step installation guide

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
interceptor121 Offline
Fan
Posts: 507
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #61
glad it worked not sure if that is actually the reason of your problems but try again
find quote
mng70 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #62
interceptor121 Wrote:glad it worked not sure if that is actually the reason of your problems but try again

You're right. The problem still exists Laugh

The google code looks a little complicated for me especially the kext enabler. The think is the card is loading ok when performed manually. Still, I'm sure a solution will come up at some point Big Grin
find quote
interceptor121 Offline
Fan
Posts: 507
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #63
The kext enable is the easier part. You just install software menu and from there nito
Once you have nito you can install kext enabler with the click of a button
I don't understand why everybody does things manually when the tools are already there
find quote
mng70 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #64
Unfortunately since upgrading to the latest ATV (through the software menu) and after installing Installer 3.2.1 it doesn't work. It appears on the ATV home page but when I click the remote to select an option nothing happens. All other menus work fine. Is there a simple way to get this software menu reinstalled or do I have to reinstall the ATV USB installer?

maybe I need a fresh install somehow
(This post was last modified: 2010-01-11 16:15 by mng70.)
find quote
purplechris Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: united kingdom
Post: #65
NineT9mustang Wrote:I paypal'd you $8 for this guide! I was completly confused on how to do everything, total noob myself... but your guide walked me thru every step and 10 out of 11 of my 1080p videos played flawlessly, i am completly shocked and in awe Smile Ive been waiting for someone to create a noob guide, and yours saved me hours and hours

Now... I would be willing to paypal you money if you went thru all the same effort and created a walk-thru on how to install XBMC-Linux on the AppleTV, as well as enabling NTFS support Smile I'll pay you $20 if you do this, as long as its in detail for noobs Smile

im not in it for the money, but thanks for the buy my a cup a coffe link on my link, ill have a crack at that guide for you shortly
find quote
purplechris Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: united kingdom
Post: #66
is there an issue with the questor builds site

http://www.sshcs.com/xbmc/Info.asp as this will effect the guideConfused

any work arounds if this is the case and ill add to the guide
find quote
mng70 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #67
mng70 Wrote:Unfortunately since upgrading to the latest ATV (through the software menu) and after installing Installer 3.2.1 it doesn't work. It appears on the ATV home page but when I click the remote to select an option nothing happens. All other menus work fine. Is there a simple way to get this software menu reinstalled or do I have to reinstall the ATV USB installer?

maybe I need a fresh install somehow

I'm performing a fresh restore on the ATV. So do I install NITO once completed and there is a KEXT loader there?
find quote
interceptor121 Offline
Fan
Posts: 507
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #68
There is no need to restore
The software menu on the patchstick is faulty
just issue those commands in ssh session
wget http://iscripts.googlecode.com/files/Sof...-1.0b1.run
chmod +x SoftwareMenu-1.0b1.run
sudo SoftwareMenu-1.0b1.run

This will make Softwaremenu work and from there you can install nito and xbmc launcher automatically

To Purplechris: putting a so long step by step guide requires a disclaimer that who is doing it knows at least some basic debugging techniques on unix or mac os x otherwise this is all a mess
find quote
mng70 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #69
interceptor121 Wrote:There is no need to restore
The software menu on the patchstick is faulty
just issue those commands in ssh session
wget http://iscripts.googlecode.com/files/Sof...-1.0b1.run
chmod +x SoftwareMenu-1.0b1.run
sudo SoftwareMenu-1.0b1.run

This will make Softwaremenu work and from there you can install nito and xbmc launcher automatically

To Purplechris: putting a so long step by step guide requires a disclaimer that who is doing it knows at least some basic debugging techniques on unix or mac os x otherwise this is all a mess

I'm getting the following error when performing this command

-bash-2.05b$ wget http://iscripts.googlecode.com/files...Menu-1.0b1.run
--14:56:06-- http://iscripts.googlecode.com/files...Menu-1.0b1.run
=> `files...Menu-1.0b1.run'
Resolving iscripts.googlecode.com... 74.125.77.82
Connecting to iscripts.googlecode.com|74.125.77.82|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 404 Not Found
14:56:06 ERROR 404: Not Found.
(This post was last modified: 2010-01-11 17:11 by mng70.)
find quote
davilla Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,390
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #70
mng70 Wrote:Can I confirm what the rc.local file should contain. Here is mine

/sbin/turbo_atv_enabler.bin
/sbin/kextload -v /System/Library/Extensions/BroadcomCrystalHD.kext

When I look at the properties (using WINSCP) they are

Location /rmt/Sratch/private/etc
Size 96b
Group wheel[0]
Owner frontrow [501]
Permissions Owner has RW, Group has R, Others have R
Octal 0644
No checksum

If anything needs changing can someone kindly explain how to change it please? Big Grin

owner is wrong which means you did not follow directions when install the kext. ssh in and do it correctly, forget winscp, ssh in and do it directly.


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
Bobby Blixberg Offline
Donor
Posts: 371
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #71
The http link makes no sense with url-tags activated Wink
In those cases it is useful to uncheck the "Automatically parse links in text" box:

wget http://iscripts.googlecode.com/files/Sof...-1.0b1.run
chmod +x SoftwareMenu-1.0b1.run
sudo SoftwareMenu-1.0b1.run

MIFcom Mini-ITX ASUS ION2 | 4GB RAM | 120 GB SSD | XBMCbuntu
Philips 42PFL8684
find quote
interceptor121 Offline
Fan
Posts: 507
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #72
I think he got the message anyway besides I see after that the issue is this fidgeting with WINSCP
Not a good idea you need to ssh to make sure you have the right ownership
rc.local is owned by root not frontrow now that I look better
find quote
mng70 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #73
Bobby Blixberg Wrote:The http link makes no sense with url-tags activated Wink
In those cases it is useful to uncheck the "Automatically parse links in text" box:

wget http://iscripts.googlecode.com/files/Sof...-1.0b1.run
chmod +x SoftwareMenu-1.0b1.run
sudo SoftwareMenu-1.0b1.run

Sorry about this but when I run the last sudo command I get the following

sudo: SoftwareMenu-1.0b1.run.2: command not found

The other two lines worked successfully
find quote
interceptor121 Offline
Fan
Posts: 507
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #74
What is that .2?
sudo SoftwareMenu1.0b1.run
or
./SoftwareMenu1.0b1.run
Command not found (if you have not done a typo) means that the file has not got execute permission which is what you did giving it +x
Try sudo chmod 755 SoftwareMenu1.0b1.run just in case
find quote
mng70 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #75
Yeah, everytime I ran the command it added another number at the end. It gave me the error everytime
find quote
Post Reply