[Appletv] Audio Device Detection Bug

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
interceptor121 Offline
Fan
Posts: 507
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 1
Sad  [Appletv] Audio Device Detection Bug
Post: #1
MAC OS 10.4
Platform AppleTv 3.01
Launcher version 3.21
Install Method Launcher
XBMC 9.11 SVN Revision 26558

File information
Container MKV
Mediainfo Output:
Audio
ID : 2
Format : AAC
Format/Info : Advanced Audio Codec
Format version : Version 4
Format profile : LC
Format settings, SBR : No
Codec ID : A_AAC
Duration : 2h 6mn
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Rear: L R, LFE
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Language : English

XBMC Log

Hardware
AppleTv with CrystalHD (the problem occurs with and without the card installed)
KEF instant theather kit570w

When I play files with AAC audio the play incorrectly in XBMC, the system seem to detect the wrong number of channels (4 as opposed to 6 in this case) so that the center and the subwoofer do not produce any sound

If I play the same files in Boxee or Nito (though in this case they would skip many frames) the receiver is correctly detected and the whole channels play

The same file plays fine with XBMC 9.04 and previous versions

Please help as this is really bugging me and rendering 50% of my assets unwatchable on XBMC
find quote
interceptor121 Offline
Fan
Posts: 507
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #2
There seems to be an issue with all files that have spectral band replication in XBMC for apple tv
find quote
interceptor121 Offline
Fan
Posts: 507
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #3
I found a workaround extracting the tracks, converting AAC to AC3 and remuxing
With the new MKV (H264+AC3) Xbmc correctly decodes the audio
With the AAC I tried to remux in m4v and I get the error audio undertermined
find quote
interceptor121 Offline
Fan
Posts: 507
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #4
What do I have to do to submit official a bug?
find quote
davilla Offline
Retired-Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,479
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #5
interceptor121 Wrote:What do I have to do to submit official a bug?

make a trac ticket, describe the problem, include a sample to reproduce the problem and bonus points for a patch that fixes the problem.


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
interceptor121 Offline
Fan
Posts: 507
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #6
Done

I found a workaround demuxing, converting the AAC to AC3 and then remuxing but it is tedious
find quote
interceptor121 Offline
Fan
Posts: 507
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #7
I submitted the trac ticket http://trac.xbmc.org/ticket/8465

I would like to know if other people have the same issue with the sample file
find quote