1080p Possible With This Hardware?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Zer0x123 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hey guys sorry to post another 'Is this set up good enough' thread im sure theres enough of these floating around. Yes i searched and atempted to do my own research but im not a video buff and things like transcoding along with the workings of XBMC itself lead me to post this.

Ive got everything set up and im running some pretty decent quality videos but handeling h264 and higher end resolutions has the audio getting way ahead of the video as it plays or just dropping frames period, and this is with an external video player set to handle things which apparently gives me GPU Acceleration.

So, bottom line, is it even possible?

Windows XP 32
Anthlon x64 4200+
nVidia 6600 GT
3GB Ram
find quote
outleradam Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,722
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 20
Location: Louisiana
Post: #2
according to this:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VDPAU

no.

Use mythicalLibrarian to make a library out of your MythTV files. Leave the recording to MythTV and use XBMC as your library.
Installation and Instructions:http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=MythicalLibrarian
Technical Support:http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=65644
[Image: newsig-1.png]
[url=http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?tid=1081892][/url]
find quote
Zer0x123 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Thanks for the feedback. Looks like ill need an 8600 GT at the very minimum and im pretty sure my CPU isnt up to par. So much for making sure of my old shit.
find quote
nokmond Online
Senior Member
Posts: 139
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
I would try using CoreAVC and see if that works. I've played 1080p stuff on rigs similar to yours using it. I can even get some 1080p stuff to play ok on my Samsung NC270 laptop using Core.
find quote
neil.j1983 Offline
Donor
Posts: 589
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 28
Post: #5
i have almost the same (less ram, but an nvidia 7950gt).

and the answer is - almost.

Up almost works (direct bluray rip ~20gb), the ironman 2 trailer gets a bit wobbly partway through, but in general its not horrific.
find quote
outleradam Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,722
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 20
Location: Louisiana
Post: #6
That would be a no. Skipping frames defeats the purpose of a HD video. it is the equivalant of saying you almost see a hooter on encrypted skinimax. Or saying your car can almost do a 10 seccond quarter mile on a drag strip. At that point it is better to go to 1080I and remove the double data effect of 1080p. Hardware is either capable or not. Loosing data means it is not fast enough. I'm sure my 2003 laptop could almost play it too

Use mythicalLibrarian to make a library out of your MythTV files. Leave the recording to MythTV and use XBMC as your library.
Installation and Instructions:http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=MythicalLibrarian
Technical Support:http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=65644
[Image: newsig-1.png]
[url=http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?tid=1081892][/url]
find quote