Getting started advice....
Hi all,

First post and want a bit of general guidance on the direction to head with xbmc. My background is with NMTs - have a PCH A110 and a C200 and pretty au fait with all that...a few kick off questions for xbmc...

1) The Acer Revo seems a good little unit to get started with, will this play anything i can throw at it - BD iso files and BDMV folders at the top end? What spec do i need to guarantee these play smoothly?

Any other solutions in the same cost bracket? Better/worse?

2) PCH skins/jukeboxes are all static html at the moment - from what little ive read xbmc appears to be dynamic and all scanning done from the Revo itself for example - plus 'live' editing of movie info etc? Is this accurate.

3) Can anyone explain the merits of Windows versus Linux for the purposes of xbmc on a device such as the Revo - im fairly good with windows OSs but not really familiar with Linux...I know Linux is generally a less hungry OS but is this going to be a mare to set up with no linux experience?

4) Is there much effort to get xbmc up with say AEON skin for a noob - want to understand the size of the task - not interested in web services, torrent clients of anything like that...I want a network share to my movies and nice pretty skin Smile

5) Are there many pre-requisite programs e.g. java runtime that must be installed for xbmc to run properly? Dont need a list, just an idea, lots or a couple?

Thanks in advance for your help

S
The Acer Revo's are nice little machines but make sure you go for a dual core if you want to play with eye candy. Aeon with all bells and whistles is pretty demanding. I set one up for a friend last summer with XBMC Live and haven't had to look at it since.