I want to set up my XBMC PC to work with my Harmony One

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
PetriesLastWord Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I've found this tutorial:

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=39173

But it seems to be Xbox specific, and I'd love to get my harmony One set up in this manner, but with my PC running XBMC instead of an Xbox (no offense to old reliable, but I wants me some HD movies and such). Though the tutorial has given me some ideas, I remain stumped as to how I can get this same ease, functionality, and the visual appeal of this setup. Is there anything out there?
find quote
nokmond Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 139
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Its fairly straight forward mate. Have you got a IR receiver? I use http://www.computers4-u.co.uk/cyberlinki...p-103.html one of these.

Ignore your Harmony remote for now. You need to get XBMC working with the original remote (in this case the Cyberlink one). There's plenty of guides around for doing this via Eventghost.

Then on your Harmony setup software either choose whatever remote you have for eg, Cyberlink ......., and map the buttons to your H1 or you can just teach your H1 the buttons one by one.

Hope this helps.
find quote
jhsrennie Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 7,236
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 118
Location: Chester, UK
Post: #3
nokmond Wrote:Ignore your Harmony remote for now. You need to get XBMC working with the original remote (in this case the Cyberlink one). There's plenty of guides around for doing this via Eventghost.

Seconded. Universal remotes generally work by emulating some other dedicated remote controller. So buy a remote (you'll need to buy the IR receiver so you might as well buy the handset too) and get it working. Then configure the Harmony to emulate your remote.

See http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Usi..._with_XBMC for background info on using remotes with XBMC. I would buy an official MS remote on eBay as that's as close as you'll come to a "standard" remote.

JR
find quote
adsoto Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 133
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Spain
Post: #4
You may want to check this thread.

[WINDOWS] HOW-TO use Logitech Harmony Universal Remote Control without EventGhost

FYI I am running a XBMC HTPC with Logitech Harmony One remote and I got most of the ideas from that thread.

Even when I launched VLC as external player (dvdplayer :rolleyesSmile I can manage it from Harmony using the same technique.

XBMC on Win 7 Professional (32 bit)
Intel E7300
Gigabyte GA-E7AUM-DS2H board
Nvidia 9400 chipset
4GB RAM
Pioneer 436 XDE Plasma TV
Yamaha YSP-1000 Digital Sound Projector
find quote
SweetS2K Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
I picked up a generic SIIG Vista MCE Remote from my local MicroCenter. Under the Harmony One setup software, I added a device from the database called "Microsoft Windows Media Center". Everything works like charm. I re-mapped some of the buttons to my liking, but all the function on the remote was preserved. I'm missing a few commands accessible by the keyboard, but my remote didn't support those.

Wake on IR worked after I configured the BIOS on my REVO and configured XBMC to standby.

I'm running XBMC on a Ubuntu 9.10 OS. I've seen all the tutorials, and still can't figure out all the hoopla to configure the Harmony One. Maybe I should be knocking on wood...

Anyway, good luck!
find quote
Evin Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Vienna
Post: #6
PetriesLastWord Wrote:Is there a tutorial somewhere similar to this, but for setting up the Harmony One to work with a PC running XBMC with a USB IR sensor? This tutorial is the only thing I have come across, and doesn't quite seem to get the job done.

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=67350
Smile

At the moment I'm trieing to set up a Harmony with a USBMCE-Receiver and it works. Smile
find quote
Laerkai Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
SweetS2K Wrote:Wake on IR worked after I configured the BIOS on my REVO and configured XBMC to standby.

My Revo doesnt like to come out of sleep most of the time. What did you change your BIOS settings to? I already changed rc.local
find quote