"All Seasons" GUI options: top, bottom, off

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Maxoo Offline
Fan
Posts: 342
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 12
Location: Paris, France
Post: #16
NoPantsJim Wrote:a small setting in the options menu is easier than scrolling through XML every time.
You know it's just 3 lines in the advancedsettings.xml, right ?

Admin @ Passion-XBMC
(official french community)
find quote
NoPantsJim Offline
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
I'm aware; I've already done it on my own personal setup. I still think it would be easier. Now that there's a slim chance we could see XBMC devices someday thanks to the work of Sigma, it's probably a good idea to move options like this away from being exclusive to people who will go into the filesystem and edit XML by hand.
find quote
YodaEXE Offline
Fan
Posts: 453
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
mcborzu Wrote:Thats just removes the ".." or Go Back option

Huh, you're right. I apologize. I could have sworn that turned off All Seasons as well, but it appears that my XBMC install has the option set in advancedsettings.
find quote
migueld Offline
Fan
Posts: 361
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #19
I agree about an option for All Seasons. I would personally love to have it at the bottom of the listings instead of the top. Please bring this option back. I know it's all about simplicity but it's also about function and a balance between the two. What's better? a user being annoyed every day by having to click an extra step past "All Seasons" or an extra option in settings that may annoy/confuse a user that 1 day where he/she had to go to settings?

/rant Tongue
find quote
migueld Offline
Fan
Posts: 361
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #20
For those of you suggesting editing xml files please consider this: a vast majority of users DO NOT know about this setting and will NOT discover it if it's buried in XML. However, if it's in the GUI, this setting is discoverable and may prove invaluable for many who didn't even know it existed. I'm one of those people.

//rant Wink
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 25,688
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 169
Post: #21
I'll change XBMC so that it phones home whenever a setting is altered. It's the only way to know whether users actually use a given setting. Users that complain about a setting in the forum are very much a biased sample.

In all seriousness, perhaps the default option for it is incorrect and it should be off by default? I never find myself clicking on it, except by accident. The only case I can think of where it is of use is when you have only a few episodes each season (e.g. you've kept only your favourite episodes from a show.)

Cheers,
Jonathan

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
NoPantsJim Offline
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #22
jmarshall Wrote:In all seriousness, perhaps the default option for it is incorrect and it should be off by default? I never find myself clicking on it, except by accident. The only case I can think of where it is of use is when you have only a few episodes each season (e.g. you've kept only your favourite episodes from a show.)

Cheers,
Jonathan

I do think you're right here. I can't think of an example when "All Seasons" is really a useful selection.
find quote
gabbott Online
Team-XBMC Member
Posts: 1,545
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 27
Post: #23
I personally don't have a problem using the advancedsettings.xml for all my boxes but just had a thought that perhaps someone could code an add-on that allowed one to toggle or change some of the things in the advancedsettings file. That would bring some of these settings into the gui for those that don't like to dig. Of course you would need to find someone willing to create it or code it yourself if something like that is possible.
find quote
migueld Offline
Fan
Posts: 361
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #24
NoPantsJim Wrote:I do think you're right here. I can't think of an example when "All Seasons" is really a useful selection.

In my case I only use it for documentaries. There are documentary series that may be 20 seasons long, or contain hundreds of episodes. I have a couple of episodes of each season, so the only sensible way to browse these documentaries is by showing all seasons.
find quote
NoPantsJim Offline
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #25
Okay, that does make sense. Still, it would be nice to have as a simple menu option Smile
find quote
migueld Offline
Fan
Posts: 361
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #26
Going back to the root of the issue for me, here's another thought: if XBMC would remember path selections even after quitting, I would not care about All seasons and probably everyone else wouldn't care either (let me know if not).

The problem for me seems to be this: I have to traverse past All Seasons all the time which contributes to some of the annoyance. If XBMC would remember path selections, I would click TV Show and it would automatically select the last season I watched, and the last episode. No redundant traversing. No gripe with All seasons.

Maybe the setting we should be asking is "Remember watched seasons and episode paths even after XBMC quits" either make it default or an option would be fine with me. Thoughts?
find quote
NoPantsJim Offline
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #27
I think my original request would be easier to implement Tongue
find quote
isamu.dragon Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 960
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 4
Location: T.A.R.D.I.S.
Post: #28
If you've done the setting already in 1 setup, just carry a flash drive with the single created file and just paste it into them. I do that all the time.

I have .dds, Clean on Update, and Removal of "All Seasons". the same code works on all versions. (I Have an XBOX, Live Install, Windows 7 (64-bi), and Mac.)

XBMC Server/Client:
Database Type: MySQL
OS: WIN7 64-Bit/XBMCbuntu CPU: i7/Intel Atom (Dual Core)
GPU: Nvidia GeForce GTX 760/Nvidia GeForce GT 520M RAM: 16GB/2GB (512MB GPU)
XBMC Version: Gotham Nightlies/XBMCbuntu Gotham Nightlies Skin: Aeon Nox
find quote
sho Offline
Team-XBMC Member
Posts: 4,130
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 3
Post: #29
http://trac.xbmc.org/ticket/8535

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
booker88 Offline
Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 14
Post: #30
I must be blind. What setting in advancedsettings.xml will toggle off "all seasons" ??

I looked here and didn't see anything about "all seasons". http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Adv...ttings.xml


isamu.dragon Wrote:If you've done the setting already in 1 setup, just carry a flash drive with the single created file and just paste it into them. I do that all the time.

I have .dds, Clean on Update, and Removal of "All Seasons". the same code works on all versions. (I Have an XBOX, Live Install, Windows 7 (64-bi), and Mac.)
(This post was last modified: 2011-02-26 18:22 by booker88.)
find quote