[AppleTV] Broadcom Crystal HD stuttering playback on Apple TV?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
coolspot18 Offline
Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #31
davilla Wrote:So bottom line, chill. we know all about the issues and are working on them. Remember, I don't work 24/7 on XBMC, I have a real job and that takes priority.

So true - no real job = no XBMC after hours support Big Grin

Thanks for the hard work ... I really don't know how you guys do it.
find quote
curlyjs Offline
Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #32
I also have stuttering playing H264 720p file. Davilla, do you want the logs or you already have enough info to work with?

Also, did someone tried killa sample?
find quote
TeknoJnky Offline
Fan
Posts: 424
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #33
curlyjs Wrote:Also, did someone tried killa sample?

search the forum for killa crystalhd and you will find several threads and posts with information about killa sample.
find quote
grey Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 236
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Chisinau, Moldova
Post: #34
running latest svn, and just watched a 1080p. it was amazing!!!

movie data Wrote:Calitatea HDTV: BDRip 1080p
Video: 1920х1080, 23,976 fps, AVC MPEG-4 (x264) ~8806 kbps
find quote
oezkan12 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #35
grey Wrote:running latest svn, and just watched a 1080p. it was amazing!!!

hey Grey,

how did you do that?

Today I installed my atv with the latest build, but i still can not change the screen resolution more than 720p ...?

And 720p movies are not working 100%, sometimes the picture hang for a second....

Could you tell me your secretConfused?
find quote
nerpissad Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: amsterdam, netherlands
Post: #36
I'm also running the latest svn and I just checked B.O.B.'s big break, which has an average bitrate of 19 mbit/s.
playback already is so much better than little over a week ago and I'm sure it will improve even more!

I just made a small donation to davilla to express my gratitude.
find quote
drewjacks0n Offline
Member
Posts: 62
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #37
latest svn is playing 1080p content very well. it still has problems keeping up with the high bitrate stuff, but its getting a heck of a lot better Smile

NOW: AppleTV+CrystalHD PREVIOUS: HTPC and XBOX (both loudly running XBMC)
find quote
grey Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 236
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Chisinau, Moldova
Post: #38
to make things clear. xbmc displays 720p, but the movie i was running was 1080p. and almost no shutters. it was truly amazing, because with the previous svn release i got shutters.
find quote
Thomss Offline
Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #39
This sounds like it's getting better and better! I'll have to get myself a card for my Appletv. Big Grin
find quote
oezkan12 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #40
grey Wrote:to make things clear. xbmc displays 720p, but the movie i was running was 1080p. and almost no shutters. it was truly amazing, because with the previous svn release i got shutters.


okay, let me test, also.

I want to check if my 1080p movies are really running with 1920*1080 resolution or if they are scaled down to 720p (1280*720), like the xbmc resolution.
movies in 720p shutters every 10/15 minutes (sometimes 20min.) anyway, but i hope this would be fixed soon Big Grin

My problem is that i'm not able to get the information about the screen resolution during the playback (the information where i see the display resolution, cpu utilisation, audio codec, etc..) like on my xbox..
the button should be the menu button from the apple remote, but nothing happens when i press it for few seconds..

any idea how i can get to that information screen during the playback?

oe
find quote
davilla Offline
Retired-Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,478
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #41
oezkan12 Wrote:okay, let me test, also.

I want to check if my 1080p movies are really running with 1920*1080 resolution or if they are scaled down to 720p (1280*720), like the xbmc resolution.
movies in 720p shutters every 10/15 minutes (sometimes 20min.) anyway, but i hope this would be fixed soon Big Grin

My problem is that i'm not able to get the information about the screen resolution during the playback (the information where i see the display resolution, cpu utilisation, audio codec, etc..) like on my xbox..
the button should be the menu button from the apple remote, but nothing happens when i press it for few seconds..

any idea how i can get to that information screen during the playback?

oe

xbmc.log will tell you this info.


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
oezkan12 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #42
davilla Wrote:xbmc.log will tell you this info.

this means this feature from xbmc is not able on the atv?
find quote
davilla Offline
Retired-Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,478
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #43
oezkan12 Wrote:this means this feature from xbmc is not able on the atv?

Your question is vague, please rephrase it Smile


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
grey Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 236
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Chisinau, Moldova
Post: #44
have a question:

if i update to a current svn build and the playback becomes choppy, can i downgrade to a build which was working satifsactory?
find quote
Bobby Blixberg Offline
Donor
Posts: 379
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #45
Yes, you can - here is how.

MIFcom Mini-ITX ASUS ION2 | 4GB RAM | 120 GB SSD | XBMCbuntu
Philips 42PFL8684
find quote
Post Reply